Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shifter

by Blobby101 - Compo Entry

Shifter is a twist on the old flash game Missile Game 3D, now with shape shifting! Guide the shape through the tunnel, shifting between your 3 forms to fit through different gaps.

Plays best with a gamepad, or second-best with arrowkeys. Some keyboards can't have S and control held at the same time so WASD may not be the best option.

WASD, arrows or Left Stick to move
Shift and Control or LB and RB to shift.

Pretty pleased with this one! It's my first compo entry in a long time, so the extra limited time was a bit of a shock! Apologies for the repetitive music too, there's a mute button in the menu.

Edit: Fixed a bug that made highscores go down if you scored less on a subsequent run.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#205Audio3.29
#320Theme3.58
#390Graphics3.21
#417Fun3.21
#517Overall3.16
#882Innovation2.22
#1754Coolness33%

Comments

iossif says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:57pm

i had troubles with the keyboard controls. they felt a bit slow sometimes. also the perspective sometimes was more of a burden than any help.

other than that i enjoyed the game!

MalyTimi says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:24pm

sooo fun game and so little coments, im surprised. Very good idea with the indicator where you going to hit the wall. I'm really enjoyed this one :)

Studiosaurus says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Holy crap that's hard got to level 3 and the hole seemed literally the exact same size as the sphere, and I had about half a second to adjust. Would help a little if the indicator was a little more visible before about 5m away from the wall :D I liked the challenge though, and the viusals. It's just a little impossible.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:43am

Control choices aren't prefect (ctrl + arrows is a hotkey on some OSs). Nice idea but I'm not sure the perspective helped

Blobby101 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:06pm

Thanks everyone! Keyboard controls aren't great, I know - it plays much better with a controller if you've got one.
I'm interested to hear what perspective would be better though. I experimented a fair bit with it, and I found that it was often harder with the camera closer to the back of the shape because the shape would get between you and the hole.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:53pm

A tough game but really well made and fun. Visuals and sound are good, a nice entry.

CasualCat says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:32pm

The controls didn't feel precise/responsive enough for the how much precision was needed. Good use of pretty shaders and effects but it could still use some polish. And for mac users control combined with arrows made weird things happen. But of course I wouldn't count that because if you use a PC how would you know? (I'm tired of this mac btw). The idea was good and it was fun but if the controls and graphics were a bit more polished up that would make a huge difference. But still, great submission!

smoreley says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 1:52am

Using ctrl and shift I don't think were the best options that could of been mapped to. I don't know what button combination I did but while I was playing the web version just closed out. Beyond that, nice execution.

Yetikatt says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 12:02pm

Nicely polished game and good fun, the preview of where you were on the upcoming block was a nice touch. Good job :)

gurkenlabs says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 1:41pm

quite entertaining! the music got annoying very quickly, though.

Phaix says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:51pm

The Controls could be worked on, but in general a nice game.

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:19pm

I liked it, but Mouse controls would be more precise. Other than that, everything was great :)

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:27am

This was a very fun game! It took me a little while to get used to the rectangle holes, but once I got used to it, the game had a very nice flow to it! I loved that there was controller support, and the music was awesome. Great job!

Green Soda says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:30am

nice entry... :) this game is well-polished... of all the games i played with the similar mechanic, this is the best :D

TheCain says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Very tough, but thank you for adding the shadow on the walls.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]