Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Revamp

by tayl1r - Compo Entry

Traverse through a hostile environment by shapeshifting into badly drawn bats, wolves and gargoyles.

Having trouble? Know that the bat shapeshift can be extended until you run out of blood by holding the button. This is of vital importance but, unfortunately, is not required to do the bat tutorial.

I added a HTML5 version but the level brick textures are a little messed up.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#36Theme4.19
#65Mood3.77
#89Graphics3.97
#93Overall3.78
#172Fun3.57
#297Audio3.07
#327Innovation3.35

Comments

cgriff says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:12pm

That's really cool, but just so damn hard! I did actually want to get a lot further than I did, though.

seitnerk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:07pm

watched the walkthrough, nice little game with a great retro style! :)

egos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:24pm

Very well polished ! Great job
too hard with keyboard

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:25pm

Rock hard but good challenge! :D SO grateful for the walkthrough video! One thing I found odd was the power bar UNDER the character instead of above? under made it harder to judge where I was going to land and also made it feel like thr ground was lower than it was. After a while it became an optical illusion that looked like all platforms had a "railing" on them :) Love the art style though. Lovely work.

Asturk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:32pm

What can i say?? This is really a very cool and well done platform game! I loved super meat boy some time back and the mechanic and challenge this game shows really get me want to play more! I just think you should make the transformation skill with "x" a little more precise, because sometimes it takes a while to activate again, lefting me die several times, but still this game is very well done and one of the best i played here until now!

Goutye says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:54pm

After speeding more than 100 hours on SuperMeatBoy, I was pretty sure that I was now able to face any kind of really hard platformer. However, this one took me to the next level. Pretty hard, had to master new mechanics. I really liked that. Painful but great! Thanks for this.

Studiosaurus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:02pm

I thought "how hard can this really be?" and I realised that it's not so hard but the checkpoints are just so few and far betweem that redoing obstacles that you done 100 times every time you die makes things tedious.

I just want to clarify that I think this is an amazing entry, and right up my street in terms of difficulty of pulling of the moves, but re-doing a long gauntlet every time I die kind of killed the fun. Great game though :)

tayl1r says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:08pm

I'm glad it's finding its audience!

dvdking says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:12pm

well done mechanics
it was a bit hard to identify obstacles visualy

dunin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:38pm

What a cool die and rety game!
I dropped at the third level otherwise it take me all the day...
The three mecanics are smart, the graphics are awesome.
Very good job!

TLansdale says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Too easy.

(I kid, I can't get past the second level. Good entry, 2hard4me though)

David Cookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:07am

The game is really good! And really hard ahaha
Too bad there's no music though, but I can make you a little chip/retro loop if you're interested!

donvermo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:50am

Nice game, reminded me a lot of a DarkSouls / Castlevania crossover

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:34am

This is hardly a mistake! The beginning is a bit tough as the place is littered with spikes (that second jump in the first level). A few more checkpoints in the first level wouldn't go amiss either.

Now, the two one-room challenges in the second level are great. You really need to master the controls and abilities to get through those. Hungry for more (blood)!

recursor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:21am

First level, no problem but the second level...oh man. It is quite frustrating but very well done (like Super Meatboy). The penalty for death is minimal and encourages the player to keep trying. The shape shifting mechanic works nicely and it's fun to perform. Nicely done.

Chaoclypse says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:31am

Excellent job. While the idea of shapeshifting giving you different powers is not original, this was an astounding example of it being done well. The levels are also made in such a way that it almost feels like a puzzle that you solve with not just your brain, but quick reflexes. Super fun to play, and while it is difficult, that is also part of its charm. Awesome job!

Hempuli says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:17pm

Very interesting and I love the graphics! The gameplay was also solid, but I felt that the collision detection made things more frustrating that necessary at times; there were multiple situations where I estimated my jump based on the visible edges of the player sprite only to realize that their hitbox is actually a full tile, causing several accidental deaths-by-spikes. Still, very solid and pretty!

lonewookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:30pm

I love everything about this game, except the bat shapeshifting. I feel like it would be better if you can control the actual flight a little bit more, but other than than I loved this!

Gtron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:54pm

Very visually appealing and nice sounds. I think the difficulty spikes a little too quickly though, and though the fact that the bat flies in a sine pattern looks cool, I think it makes controlling yourself as a bat harder than it needs to be.

ethankennerly says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:59am

When I passed the first level I felt enthralled by the iconic graphics and color palette, puns, sharp sounds and tight controls and level design. If you continue to design this for an uncoordinated player like me, when I got to the second level and died several times on the first tier, I felt discouraged and saw no novel reward on the screen to pull me.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:44am

Amazing platform game very polished, but it's too hard. Reminds me castlevania by its aesthetic. Well done ++

plaguespark says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:17am

Very smooth!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:45pm

Very well done entry, nice and polished. Congrats!

bytegrove says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:55pm

It's a pretty hard game, but the idea is really nice! Cool abilitites! I found the colour scheme a little hard on the eyes while playing, it works better in screenshot form though, as it is a very stylistic and pretty game still.
Nice work on the level design!

marmpa says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:44pm

Really nice game. It is a bit hard but i really liked the level design. It made me remeber of mario for some reason :)

Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:19pm

I really like it, well done!

Ptolo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:18pm

Cool unique colour palette. Thanks for the youtube playthrough link too :)

pyokoanarogue says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:38pm

A masterful pain in the butt! 10/10 would die again !

APantaloni says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:58pm

This game can be extremely unforgiving, that's for sure :) I love the idea and it's well executed, the controls feel good and the graphics, while simple, fit the mood. I've not been able to complete it yet, but I will be back ;)

blob says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:23am

Amazing palette and controls. Super fun to play. I think you were too hard on yourself in your blog post, the tutorial did a fine job for me. The issue was level design after the tutorial: not enough checkpoint for this kind of game. A super meat boy style game works when you can take break from a level and come back later: your game has no saves so you have to do it in one go which gets frustrating when everything is hard.
The other issue was that it was too much based on enemy timing. I gave up on the last puzzle because I was tired of waiting for the bats to line up everytime. Couldnt just run into it and have fun.
Last thing that would have helped is a motivating music but hey, in two days you got a bug free game with awesome art and tight controls. :p
PS: my game also has spikey blobs, yey ( and its also too difficult).

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:23pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Blobo says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:30am

No time for a proper ending?! bu- but that last level was so hard.

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Not bad, I really like what you were going for here however I could never get to the door on the first level. I kept running into the spikes, but otherwise I enjoyed it

Alphish says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Yuss, I'm a vampire with #1 bragging rights!

I'm not really a fan of platformers, and platforming with shapeshifting protagonist gaining different abilities isn't really all that innovative. However, the abilities are rather varied and the execution is solid enough that I rather enjoyed the game (though I'd have preferred if you were a bit more generous with checkpoints, especially in the last level). No music and a tiny bit of audio, but it's pretty forgivable, especially for Compo. Graphics work quite well for that game.

Overall, pretty good job. ^^

LeReveur says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:49pm

Nice and challenging die & retry, I didn't make it to the end, but it's because I'm bad at these kind of game. Well done !

Ironhead says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:57pm

Great game! Difficult but fun, I downloaded the windows version so I could come back to it and try to beat it later since I got stuck on a part. It made me want to play more. Great mechanics and level design.

okoto says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:13pm

I liked it, very well polished , the game design could be a bit better .

randomhuman says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:20pm

Way too hard for me! Really great art and animation though.

TheCain says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 1:00am

Ridiculously difficult. Pretty good.
If this were a full game, a gentler difficulty slope would be nice, because most of the game as it is now requires a mastery of the controls.
But good game nevertheless.

medidog says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:31pm

This is one hardcore platformer. I really loved the mechanics. I could not finish the game since the last parts are damn so hard but see the end from walkthrough. Overall, really nice achievement for 48 hours!

Reiv says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:53am

I love the style but the colors make it hard to identify certain stuff... The mechanics are really fun and smooth! Overall is a great game!!

Tatos says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:49am

Very well done! Great job!

uheartbeast says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:12pm

This one is great! Well done.

PinkIndian says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:04am

Awesome compo entry. The controls are really polished and overall the gameplay feels great. I really liked the 4 colour palette. Although sometimes furiating, i liked the extra challenge that the bat-forms wavy movement gave. Great game!

Gamepopper says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 12:40pm

Very challenging, really like the tutorial and the simplistic pixel art style! Great work!

Weeping Rupee says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:28pm

The controls make this very hard. I'd be way into it if it had some controller support. Love the pixel art and the choice of colors you used.

managore says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:48pm

I love the style you came up with and the movement options you have, even though the game is way too hard for me! I can't believe how easy you make it look in the youtube walkthrough, hahaha.

GodsBoss says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Can't get past the first enemy. How do I that? Do I have to touch him the split second I can be a wolf (1 frame or so)?

tayl1r says ...
May 11, 2016 @ 8:11pm

The first enemy through the door? When you land from the drop you won't have enough blood bar to immediately turn into a wolf, so you'll need to jump over him until it recharges.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]