Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

JaJa's Bizarre Transformer

by reckhou - Jam Entry

JaJa's Bizarre Transformer is a 2D bullet hell shooter. The major difference is, player's bullets will bounce when they hit walls. So shoot with caution!

Switch different forms to fight against different types of enemies. Always use your Supreme Shield with Ultimate Mouth Cannon Form(TM) to clear battlefield and save your a**!

We'd like to thank for everyone's support to our game JaJa's Bizzare Transformer. Your kind comments encouraged us to continue development and we've built a post-jam version, including several major updates. If you've already played our game, it's a good chance to give it another try to see some new stuff! If you have not played, then what are you waiting for? Just try it :)

Major updates in post-jam version including:

A Brand New "Flee" Option!
New Game Modes!

Arcade Mode: 10 Lives, Infinite Continues.
Hardcore Mode: 5 Lives, NO Continue, Score X 10.
Roguelike Mode: 1 Live, NO Continue, Score X 50 + Survival Time Bonus.

Score Board!
Full Controller Support!
Balance Fix Including:

Aim angle from 45 to 60 degrees(the major issue many people mentioned).
Final boss nerf, HP decreased by 10%, fire rate decreased by 33%.
3rd boss buff, HP increased by 20%.
Bug fix: Players can continue to play even they are already dead.
...
And lots of minor bug fixed!

Final game contains:

3 game modes
20 waves of enemy
3 player forms
4 different bosses
5 types of minions
Also: Supreme Shield with Ultimate Mouth Cannon(TM)

Tutorial:

Keyboard Control:

Movement: WSAD
Aim: Mouse
Shoot: Left Mouse Button
Pause:ESC
Switch Form: Q
Supreme Shield With Ultimate Mouth Cannon: E

Joystick Control:

Movement: Left Stick or Cross Button
Aim: Right Stick
Shoot: RT
Pause:START
Switch Form: LT
Supreme Shield With Ultimate Mouth Cannon: Button X

Red Bullet Can Hurt You.

Your Bullets Will Bounce When They Hit Something They Can't Penetrate.

So, DO NOT Keep Shooting.

Q: Switch Form

Some Enemy Only Take Damage From Bullets Shoot From Specific Form, Try Different Forms In Game!

E: Supreme Shield With Ultimate Mouth Cannon.

Supreme Shield Can Consume Bullets, The More You Consume, The Longer Ultimate Mouth Cannon Can Last.

Credits:

GAME DESIGN & PROGRAMMING & ANIMATION

SHUAIYING HOU

GRAPHIC DESIGN & ANIMATION

ZHONGLI YIN

BGM: RAINBOW DRAGON EYES - CREATURES OV DECEPTION

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#17Humor(Jam)4.19
#43Fun(Jam)3.98
#57Audio(Jam)3.96
#66Overall(Jam)3.96
#81Graphics(Jam)4.31
#153Mood(Jam)3.69
#465Theme(Jam)3.44
#512Innovation(Jam)3.10

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:56am

Pretty cool concept.
And great reference.

luvShape says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:06am

I had a great time playing the game! Amazing and hilarious character design! Good job, looking forward to seeing more from you!

vapgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:39am

Tha best.

Wisedawn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:46am

Well, I am speechless. In a good way.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:58am

Interesting idea with the bouncing bullets - you kind of end up creating your own bullet hell if you're not careful.

Also, LOL.

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:59am

I don't know what I just played but I loved it.

afruth says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:38am

Twisted idea, love the implementation.

Gyfis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:41am

Great characters and overall graphics, well thought behaving of bullets... I enjoyed this a lot! Well done and thanks!

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:45am

I had a lot of fun playing this, great job!

serp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:45am

That was pretty damn awesome. I couldn't stop grinning.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:46am

Soundtrack didn't seem to fit gameplay. Dying/hitting sfx overlapped a lot and got loud. Gameplay got unbeatably hard by the end. Sometimes controls would stop working and couldn't switch shapes. Fun gameplay overall, good feel. Art potentially offensive in it's nature, watch that.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:46am

I feel like I'm missing some reference, but despite that this was an excellent game. It took me a while to figure out that my bullets were bouncing, but after that I really had to focus on accuracy, which was a strange change from normal bullet hell. I also liked that you could shoot a bunch of deliberate misses, use the shield/megalaser, and reabsorb them for massive damage. Overall a great game, and I loved the character and enemy design.

usonchen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:09am

Full of energy after play! Just ignore all the factors, the whole game is very fun! Good job!

marod says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:56am

So funny and ridiculous bizarre, nice game!

monaarc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:13am

AWESOOOOOOOOME ! The reference, the graphics, the music, the challenge are very good and the boucing bullet hell is thebest part of it :D

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:22am

Very nice old school arcade feeling, love the scanlines and image noise effect. A bullet hell shump with great quirky humour!

siryakko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:38am

OMG what a game! The look and feel are awesome, the music as well. Digging it and quite jealous of it :)

MrMegawatts says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:40am

Good game! Escpecially sound

Teke says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:42am

Nice work

mar3k says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:45am

Really nice game! Good job

Robber says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:46am

freaky good, got style!!

thomz12 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:46am

Super fun game! Graphics are amazing, well done!

gillenew says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:49am

hahaha great game!
Extreme shmup bullet hell literally

I confess that when I died, I was willing to play again, I think that something very good for a game, well done :)

Wan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:54am

Awesome game, the graphics in particular are an epic win :)

Plus you just made me discover this strange Rainbow Dragon Eyes thing, of which the track you picked is indeed CC-licensed, nice find!

If I had to nitpick something, the allowed angles for shooting feel a bit arbitrary, and caused me some frustration when aiming. Opening it to [-90;90] could have helped?

Wan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:55am

(NB. I didn't rate your Audio since the music wasn't made during the jam)

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:56am

Excellent Work! Not sure why you opted in for voting on Audio, though.

PelvicThruust says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:02pm

Damn, this is funny. Had a great Time plying. The only negative thing i can find is, that it's over too soon XD
And shoot direction is hard to see with all the colors and stuff.

reckhou says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:20pm

@Wan I've tried to set aim angle to 90 degrees but it will make bullet bounce directly towards you in a small area, and it will be very hard for players to dodge, so a limitation is needed.

Thanks for mention the audio, I will remove it from voting.

ocarson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:28pm

Good game all around, if only I could oraoraora, or stop time.

Terrabalt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:36pm

I don't know what the hell i just played
but i loved it

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Great game. Graphics, music, gameplay, everything. I loved it till the end. The only thing I can suggest is maybe relax the shooting angle limits a bit? It is too restrictive and it felt like the controls were weird until I realized about the restriction.

panurge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:49pm

I have to admit that I have no idea what the reference other players have mentioned is, but I certainly enjoyed this a lot! Great art style, awesome gameplay, fantastic overall mood and feel. My favourite entry so far!

Kalm004 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:54pm

Really cool game, have a good laugh with it

Drkr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Really solid fun and crazy, everything works well together. The enemies are also pretty... menacing ;)

yoel1234 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:20pm

that was fun and also very funny when the tight pants men slide trough the screen,and the music also fits the bullet hell, i love bullet hell.
was fun and easy to play and get into,i liked the end animation too.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:40pm

Clever mechanic idea. I love the art and the audio. Main character strongly reminds me to Old Spice ads

David Cookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:39pm

I didn't understand at first that our bullets bounce back, creating one of the maddest manic shooter I've ever played xD The design and title are hilarous, and the music is catchy but doesn't really fit the game imo.
Other than that, it's a very good entry! :D

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:49pm

Much fun !

Populous90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Great graphics but mechanically weak:D
It was Painfully fun and enjoyable!:D Thanks for the great work!

thiagowaw says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:10pm

Good artstyle and idea !

LeoM says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:43pm

Very nice<
The graphisms are hilarious and the music loop keep us in the game.
Thanks for the free unlimited continues, that's a good idea for the tests :p

Nesferjo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Oh my god, this is crazy!

fafastudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Probably the best game i tried so far, very nice !

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Thanks for the nightmares. 10/10

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Simply hilarious. The scanlines/warped-tv effect really add to the visuals.

luquio says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:56am

this is madness, not sure why it reminds me of sparta :P

oxysoft says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:27am

LMFAO

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:01am

Could add more bizarre poses. :D

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:46am

Oh wow, what did I just play? haha fun game actually! I like how you're "bullets" ricochet back at you and can hurt you. Good work!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:46am

Intense... Bizarre... Stayed for the end... great job, congrats!

mrStrings says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:11am

Ok... what just happened?
Really weird entry, in a great sense! I do however found some problems mechanically, as mentioned above: the movement felt a bit constrained, and more freedom would be really welcome.

Hey, if you wish to play my entry, it's in my teammate's account. You can check WolfBit here:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=87729

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:06am

Personally haven't seen that bouncing bullet mechanic before, lots of potential to expand on the gameplay.

Adipson says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:17am

jaja is furious lol

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:13am

Too bad it's not azerty friendly :( please use Unity's input system next time, it allows us to rebind controls (or better, use both A/Q and Z/W for inputs !). Awesome graphics / audio anyway :)

DuckTieTeam says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:40pm

Great game, lots of action, amazing graphics, especially liked the way character fills the screen when you change form. Score would be nice to have, would increase replayability of the game thousand times) Also, it has no ESC menu, so you can't pause the game. When you die, you simply can continue gaming, which I feel isn't right, being myself lover of oldschool games. You may wanna limit continues.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:28pm

I've beaten the game without knowing that I can switch forms... And then I read the tutorial...

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:26pm

非常好,我玩得很开心!恭喜你们。

reckhou says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:31pm

@DuckTieTeam Thanks for your review! To be honest, I didn't allow players to continue at first place, then I realized it might make most people give up at wave 10-15, as a jam game or demo it will make people frustrate. And I agree with you that it won't have unlimited continues in a shipped arcade game :)

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:32pm

hilarious ! and fun to play, great design, love the boucing bullet concept. Sometimes the game becomes reaaaly chaotic :D

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:50pm

Really high quality STG, amazing graphics and audio!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:25pm

woa hahahaha

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Nice game!! So good

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:27pm

Guys! You're crazy?
What drugs are you eating there?
!!!
Awesome!

panicq says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Funny art :p

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:22pm

Great game! I really liked the music and the fun style of the game! The old CRT style visual was amazing as well! Good thing I had infinite lives, or it would have been nearly impossible for me! Awesome!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:07am

This was incredible. The music was great, the graphics were amazing, the gameplay was SUPER FUN. Also, I'm a JJBA fan, so the name is also fantastic and led me to expect great things before I even started playing - the game itself definitely did not disappoint.

Just amazing. Definitely one of my favorites so far, thank you for sharing.

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:51am

Awesome, loved the idea of the mechanics of not shooting, could make an amazing strategizable top down shooter

Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:52am

Wow, fantastic entry! I adored the art style. I was a little disappointed I didn't have a full 180 degrees of aiming, so that threw off my gameplay a bit. All in all, great work!

Strike says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:56am

I agree with everybody, this game is awesome. Just some minor comments here. I would have loved to have an aiming pointer graphics in game instead on relying on my system mouse cursor. At first I didn't register it as part of the game. I think this is mostly because I have the feeling that we are not free to aim at any part of the screen. So the mouse position and aiming seems disconnected most of the time and added lots of confusion to me. Same as the character not being able to move anywhere on the screen, but this one is not a big deal at all. Thanks a lot for having infinite continues ;)

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:44am

MY GOSH this game is amazing. Reaally funny, loving that graphics and all the visual effects. There's a litle exploit, though, when you die if presses Q and transform yo can keep playing without a life-bar. Howewer, great job!!

Fuchter says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:22pm

It reminded me about my time in vietnam, holy shit those Chinks were everywhere shooting at everything. I still wake up at nights with this flashbacks and your game just made me confront with my biggest fear. Thank you gentlemen, and remember the goverment is trying to poison us with chem trails.

meownsk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:43pm

This is epic!

meownsk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:48pm

a fun game! allusion to jo jo pleased!

SemiColon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:28pm

Craziest game I ever played. Amazing graphics, very funny game. The gameplay could be a bit more interesting, but the insanity of it all makes it worth it!

jerryzhao says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:37pm

好欢乐,短时间内设计的很完整,完成度好高,膜拜!

Roland M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:36pm

DUDE!I love this game is hilarious and is pretty fun!

andyman404 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Great job! I loved the sheer level of wackiness of the graphics, music, and design. Fun game!

Venneque says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:45am

A lot to say about this game !
Without blowing it out of proportion, the lack of a decent way to pause or quit the game is frustrating.
I find the game a bit hard to play ... but lets stop being negative :) The graphics are fucking awesome. (btw, I think I'm in love with Jaja :d) The gameplay totally sticks with the theme. There is content. Despite what I've read on some comments, the music fits. I may say, with a certain je ne sais quoi to add to this game, it would be worth selling it on Steam !

tobia88 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:56am

目前LD玩到最好玩的游戏,游戏性和完成度相当之高,相当有玩街机STG的感觉,厉害

Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:46pm

Hilarious game about crazy man that is shooting bullets from his big mouth and kills strange things on small arena. Bizarre art and nice old TV screen effect included.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:53pm

... What?

Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Ahaha, this was fun, great idea. the switching could have been a little clearer and it didn't stop me playing when I died but otherwise, super cool!

TeamKuru says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Very funny game! Danmaku patterns are cools for a game jam game.
I had just a small problem to visualize character's hitbox.

JuDelCo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:25pm

What a caothic game with nice shaders.

Thanks you implemented that "5" button, i died several times xD

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:27pm

haha!!! I love the old school TV look and feel!!! Excellent game!

reckhou says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Hello guys, we've made a post-jam version, surely it's better! Please try it!

norseware says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Love the art! And screen shaders. Nice touch! My only main complaint is that the controls were "lifeless". No recoil. shake, drag, slide, nothing. It just felt very bland. But everything else, on point! Nice work :)

PaulJs says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:34pm

Great game !

Lullaby says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:18pm

That's one of an internet breaker :D
My five stars to Humor! Nice entry which I enjoyed a lot (only played the Windows one, not the Post Jam).

Well played

Aaranos says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:23pm

The graphics are over the top as is the gameplay. I typically don't like random games like this but this is an exception.

chriiis88 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Certainly one of the strangest LD entries I've ever played. And it was fantastic and great fun. Well done guys!

psychonull says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:58pm

lol awesome!

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:02am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

blob says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Did you make the screen shader for the jam or used something done? ( I noticed there's a "trial version" at the lower right)

radmars says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:54am

Awesome! I love the bouncing bullets mechanic. Felt really good to play, although on controller I couldn't stop transforming and movement on keyboard was a bit laggy. Would have liked to see some more variation in the enemies, or some way to make the bouncing bullets work more in your favor. Still a ton of fun. Great work!

solkar says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:51am

Very funny style. I only missed some more weird sound fx in line with the artwork and the music.

reckhou says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:03am

@blob that "trial version" mark was made by Unity Personal edition.

derr says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:57am

That was the manliest thing I have done all my life. Great entry. :)

Xanjos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:45pm

Loved the retro CRT effects plus this is a great take on a bullet hell game (Really liked the idea of your own bullets actually hurting if you're not careful although you can sort of use that to your advantage by spraying a bunch of bullets then switch immediately to Supreme Shield mode to absorb them back). Also, any reference to Jojo's Bizarre Adventure is a huge plus in my book :D

May 7, 2016 @ 5:19am

Such a well done, polished entry. Loved everything about it, the style, music and gameplay. Liked how if you kept shooting you'd increase your own difficulty.

Weeping Rupee says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:51pm

This game is just stupid silly fun and I like it alot. Very smart to include arcade, rogue-like, and hardcore mode to add some depth to the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]