Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shifter

by swiddledee - Jam Entry

Rotate your character to match the shapes and stack up fat points!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#501Innovation(Jam)3.11
#662Audio(Jam)2.31
#776Theme(Jam)3.00
#959Fun(Jam)2.56
#1032Overall(Jam)2.67
#1061Graphics(Jam)2.06
#1712Coolness35%

Comments

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:31pm

cool game, good idea and use of theme

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:32pm

play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:07am

Cool idea, but a bit random. You just have a very short time to fit the shape and turning is quite slow.
I would have preferred something like:
* I turn and have to confirm that I turned it to the correct position
* I use the mouse and have to keep it into the correct position for maybe half a second.
Nice work. Keep on going!

swiddledee says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:58am

Zerkruemler, I appreciate that! Yeah, it plays better on mobile, so anything to make it feel better on Web would be awesome!

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:14am

Good base Idea, but I is too easy to just hold down a button. Maybe add a submit key and a little more time.

tsedate says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:23am

Fun to play, but at times it seemed unfair. If I started moving the wrong direction, I pretty much lost the round. Great job though!

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:40am

Wow-- the time limits make it really hard! :)

AngerFork says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:52am

Not too bad. Took me a little while to figure out why I was getting marked as incorrect when it seemed like I was doing the right thing.

Insederec says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:04am

Wow, this is really very hard.

morrilet says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:30am

Some of those shapes were really hard to get a read on. It was enjoyable, even though it was so hard.

Reiv says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:59am

Was really hard because of the time limit. Rotating was too slow for me. Using the mouse would have created a different experience. Overall interesting concept!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]