Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Space Shifter

by superjai - Jam Entry

SPACE SHIFTER!

Fight mechanical enemies and collect scrap to level up and shift into new forms. Each form grows in power and gains a new ability.

Controls:
------------
WASD - Movement
J - Turret
K - Homing Missiles (requires lvl 2)
L - Vortex (requires lvl 3)
Space - Bomb

P - Pause / View Controls


Made in Canvas/HTML5 by Jeremy Weeks (@jeremyrweeks) and Francisco Velazquez (@kikin81) in 72 hours for Ludum Dare 35.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#58Fun(Jam)3.90
#275Graphics(Jam)3.81
#302Mood(Jam)3.41
#355Overall(Jam)3.43
#887Theme(Jam)2.80
#940Innovation(Jam)2.50
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:31pm

nice game prety gud
play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

Skipi says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:44am

It's a bit too easy, since I can just hold all three keys down and keep firing. Other than that really fun! I really liked the ship graphics.

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:50am

Fun game, the types of enemies looked great and the shooting felt fluid. The controls were a bit odd at first since I had assumed they were based off your current direction but became very natural after a minute or two. On my laptop at least the frame rate died shortly after I reached the final form. All in all, a very solid shooter.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:56am

Woah that got intense! Really fun game! By then end I was just wrecking everything so I had to stop.

Would have loved some brighter explosions and autofiring weapons. The weapons don't drain energy so there's no reason not to be firing all your weapons all the time.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:01am

Nothing ground breaking here, but this is a solid top down space shooter. Its actually nice to hardly have to aim so I can focus on dodging-- I just wish the enemies would output a liiiitle more damage. Even at their worst it feels too light for a bullet hell. Maybe thats what you were going for, I dunno.

The UI was practical and the progression was solid and fun. Reminds me a tiny bit of a great game called enemy mind where you can swap ships with any enemy ship.

Strike says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:00am

Even if it seems too easy, it's a fun game. I really like the music.

MrBoxBox says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:00am

Pretty good. I liked the graphics. This was maybe a bit too easy tough. There wasn't the player had to do other than move around and hold down all the firing buttons. Maybe there should have been more harder enemies.

KodingNights says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:07am

Cool to fly around and shoot stuff.

Vantaug says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:59am

If I came to a full stop, the spaceship wouldn't move again and all I could do was rotate. Good music and graphics though.

djfariel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:48am

I disliked the controls, but they were usable. I actually had fun playing this entry. That's rare, lol. Great entry!

personalurban says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:13pm

The move controls took some getting used to, actually I never got used to them, I hated them, but, the actual game was great, nice polished graphics and simple gameplay mechanics well executed. Good job.

11Schotter says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:38pm

A pretty nice space shooter, is fun to play!
I think the theme could fit better and you could improve the controls, feel somehow "wrong"

Dreschler says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Very intersting game, keep goin'!

Cosrnos says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:55pm

It was really easy and I felt like some type of scoring system was missing, otherwise it didn't feel like there was much of an objective once you got to level 3.

That being said I'm always a fan of mass damage/mob games like this. It's easy to find a zen.

LeReveur says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:16pm

It's somewhat easy, but I would crash all these enemies for hours, as music and animation are so great ! :)

shane1090 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:21pm

Nice game! Controls felt weird at first but after a while they felt really good. Would have been good to have a score counter to see how well I was doing. Thought the spaceship designs were very good though and the overall art style was well put together.

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:02pm

cool graph and camera effect

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]