Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Triple Shift

by Jimbly - Compo Entry

Shift shapes to match colors.

That's about all there is to it! Each of 3 levels slightly increases the variation and difficulty. Constant high-score list updating as you play, compete with other Ludum Darers! Should take only a few minutes to get to the final level.

Development notes:
This is my third Ludum Dare, and had fun as always! This one happens to fall right as I am recovering from jet lag upon arriving in Europe for my 2.5-month long nomadic wanderings as I try to balance independent game development and traveling. To top it off, right before the Ludum Dare began my first commercial independent game, Splody, was Greenlit on Steam! Needless to say I've not spent a lot of time concentrating on this entry, but I'm happy with what I made (even if small in scope) and enjoyed playing with a bunch of various puzzle game mechanics to land on this. Such small tweaks to mechanics can completely change the feel of a puzzle game! Anyway, hope you enjoy it!

Like my last LudumDare entry, this one is also built in HTML5/WebGL using a hacked up version of Turbulenz. Mostly works on mobile, just not text entry for the high score name.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#340Fun3.31
#381Innovation3.23
#445Theme3.39
#489Overall3.19
#549Humor1.97
#604Audio2.02
#618Mood2.69
#689Graphics2.59
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

Djapz30 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:13am

Neat game!

I thought that it was glitched because the shapes wouldn't move, but I didn't noticed at first with the 1 grid distance movement XD

Lovely and keep the awesome work!

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Good job. I like your user interface ^^

paragonpawns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:50am

It isn't often that a game jam game is so addicting! Good job!

dustyroom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:46pm

When you drag the shapes out of screen, you can't drop the shapes due to mouse being out of focus. Perhaps hide the cursor when the shapes are being carried?

curtamyth says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Very unique and addicting puzzle game! Very satisfying chain reactions :)

tanjent says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Who-ho, #5 score :) Let's see how well it stands toward the end of the voting. I think you have a good embryo to a solid puzzler here: quite relaxing to play and just needs some AAA/F2P polish and it could be a good mobile game. What I think is its main drawback is the mental overload of moving more than one row/column when dragging. I find it hard to strategise when the entire field shifts too much and the predictability goes down. Many times I was just dragging randomly and hoping for 4+ match. The drag entire field could be a good IAP-powerup or something similar.

Larzan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:18pm

I didn't expect it to be that captivating, well done.
I like the combination of form + color, it takes a while to get used to. Nice!

zwrawr says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:11am

Great take on match 3 , the score board makes it super addicting , current No. 5 !

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:53am

This is an awesome twist on a match-3 game. Love the cascades, so satisfying. Some graphics cleanup and a little more sound, this is really addicting!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:27pm

Nice twist on the match-3 mechanic. The addition of a leaderboard is very welcome. Maybe some of the colors (yellow and green) are a little similar for colorblind people, but that's a minor nitpick. Very enjoyable!

luquio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:07am

great idea of just moving the shapes! my score is the anonymusone

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:00am

Finally! something new in good old match3 which I love to death. Keep on working, please! This game needs some fancy animations and prakles, but overall it is pretty decent.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:12am

I really enjoy it, good work!

Mixer says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:49am

Nice mechanic! It's visually very similar to my game (although much more polished :D). Feel's very bejewled-ey, fun.

Klaas says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:18pm

Nice twist on the match 3. Having a fail condition - like reaching X points in Y number of moves would add some challenge.

ORECROS says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:19pm

very polished and awesome! super fun

maartene says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Man, I thought I'd have seen anything there is about match three puzzles. But this twist really makes it quite different. Especially as the typical strategies don't work here.

Anyway cool game!

lightsoda says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:54am

I find it harder to see possible moves, but it's an interesting take on a match game.

webadev says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:50pm

Yeah nice game and concept ! Not really in the theme shapeshift, but that's ok, game is cool :) With scores etc
You should work on it again :) Can be really addictive with more features !
Didn't note the sounds cause i can't get it where i am.

Jimbly says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:13pm

webadev: Not in the theme? You're literally *shifting* shapes around... Shift means "to move" not necessarily "to change". Thanks for playing though =)

wboqm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:09am

Interesting take on a common game. The pick-up noise could use some tweaking though...

schw3de says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:13pm

A good game, I liked the puzzle! This could be a nice game for causal player (Android and OS X). Keep up the good work!

kik0729 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:06pm

It's a good game, It really has a lot of potential

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:14pm

A great game which reinvent a classic match3. It could be improved by other features. Well done ++

neontropics says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Nice spin on the game!

Only issue is IMO the same as most matching games - for me I always end up getting the bigger combos by random instead of by being clever, but I don't know if this is because I haven't played enough yet or not.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]