Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Great Leap

by Louspirit - Jam Entry

Welcome to our video game entry for Ludum Dare #35!

This video game has been made with Unreal Engine 4 and 3DS MAX Studio 2015 (our first try with these tool).

The Great Leap is a first person runner where you will have to deal with the shifting shapes that are between you and the Hell.

Will you manage to reach hell and become a daemon ?

Controls : ZQSD/WASD/Arrows to move
LShift to run
Espace to jump
Escape to quit

Presented by:
Louspirit : Game programmer / sound maker
Popo3744: Art designer / Game designer
Clemzd : Game Programmer / Music maker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#477Mood(Jam)3.18
#502Humor(Jam)2.52
#520Audio(Jam)2.88
#737Graphics(Jam)3.02
#751Overall(Jam)3.00
#870Fun(Jam)2.69
#945Innovation(Jam)2.49
#1012Theme(Jam)2.51

Comments

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:30pm

AWEsome game man loved the idea and use of theme, i wanted to see a first person runner in Ludum dare 35 and i got one and its amazing!

play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:39pm

WSAD didint work, tried with the arrow keys, hard, but hey, good attempt.

Louspirit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:26pm

@Arvydas sorry, it is working now that I re uploaded the game

dringy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:40pm

(Running on a high end laptop) noticed significant input lag and slow down the longer the level went on. I do like your idea of a first person platformer even if it makes it difficult. Well done.

karln says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Would have liked less of a delay in getting back into the game after dying.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Good entry! First person platforming like this is always difficult without having a sense of where your feet are.

bigbuggames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Good Job, buy might be too much hardcore for me xD

Funske says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:14pm

I really liked the game. It looked amazing and the music was really cool. Really difficult, but nice work.

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:18pm

Great mood and pretty challenging! I died far too many times :P

Keep up the good work! :)

KappaIX says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:27pm

Well done, jumping on the devil tail at the end is really finicky though!

unit684 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:30pm

Pretty fun platformer with some nice music and sfx. I'd like some checkpoints but maybe that's just me being greedy :P

duskpn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:27pm

Good game! Needs some checkpoints, though. Legs wouldn't hurt either.
Nice graphics and specially sound too, the whole thing had a pretty good mood.

apalade says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:31pm

Really atmospheric. I liked the abstract art and the ambiental music. Agree with the others that the delay after dying should be shorter.

marmpa says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:30pm

Wow this is really cool. A first person shooter? That's amazing! Nice game

datadazer says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:56pm

Really cool game! The level was a bit challenging. It felt very easy to either overshoot or undershoot a jump. Besides that I liked the different obstacles you had to overcome.

The theme was fun and I liked the voice calling for the "next one" like role call. I almost wish there at least was a checkpoint half way so you don't have to start from scratch each time.

Overall it was fun first person platforming! Good job!

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:28am

Nice entry and great audio!

I like the atmosphere in the game, but I don't think the game go well with shapeshifting in my opinion.

NuberuGames says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:47pm

Nice idea, but the gameplay didnt worked so well for me, wasnt able to get to the end :(
Good work!

Joror says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Interesting setting & game :)
While not too difficult, the game have a few 'flow' hickups that can be remedied: a long reset time on failure and a first cross that takes forever to turn.

Jacob Peltola says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:54pm

Unique theme but the controls were a bit awkward for me.. Could turn into something really cool though good job!

retrograze says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:40am

Couldn't run it, though it looked really good. Quite sad it didn't work. Something about how I didn't have the right permissions? Then it would just delete my application icon. Weird.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:19am

Respawn time, as others have pointed out, could be faster. But that's small stuff for a Ludum Dare. Overall, especially for your first venture with these tools, this is great!

medidog says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:26am

Realistic hell experience, with all the endless waiting :) Really though, could the pace of the cross turning be a little faster? Or maybe it is my laptop? But still, really nice graphics and mood!

Bobsleigh says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:03am

Fun game! I liked the music and sounds. The platforming aspects takes a bit of time to get used to, but was fine.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:32pm

Great game! You should maybe work on the difficulty curve a little bit. It is quite difficult at the beginning.

thebrainfuse says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:19pm

Oh man this game is frustrating. Good work if that's what you were aiming for. Feet might be nice for a sense of where you're landing. Also some of the platforms you can just run to instead of jumping not sure if that was intentional.

jdmazz says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 12:35pm

Excellent atmosphere. You guys seems like pros! Unreal is a bit overkill (huge download) for this and the first cross you have to jump on is annoying. You have to wait too long for it. Make it move faster. The game has great potential, just poor level design.

Aaranos says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:30pm

Not Web. The game looks nice but the movement could use some refining. The jump didn't feel very reliable as sometimes it short jumped. The hit box was similarly hard to pinpoint. I liked the respawn animation.

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:18am

Fun game! I do like runners. I do kind of wish that death was a little more forgiving, but still it was fun! Great job. :)

radmars says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Great vibe! Controls could maybe use some tweaking, the combination of slow movespeed, high jump and lack of air control just felt weird to me. The fact that the difficulty was pretty tough at first didn't help in getting used to this. Still, great mood & atmosphere, and this would be pretty fun with some tweaks. Nice work.

h2n0 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:24am

Unable to rate as the game is massive, 406Mb compressed. I'll have to remove some stuff before I can play it

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]