Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SPEEDSHIFTERS

by pixelgriffin - Compo Entry

SPEEDSHIFTERS is a procedural speed-based platformer that utilizes suction to increase your odds of survival. Suck up creatures to gain their abilities to help you progress!

Make sure the giant death machine doesn't catch you!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Controls:
Arrow Keys - Move
Z - Vacuum
S - Screenshot
F10 - Fullscreen

*Wall jumping is a thing*

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Features:
*Procedural generation of levels!
*Soundtrack!
*Unlockable character!
*3 animals to vacuum!
*Scoring system!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Created in 48 Hours Using:
*Game Maker
*GraphicsGale
*FL Studio
*Audacity
*SFXR

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#24Audio4.03
#62Fun3.87
#96Humor3.40
#109Mood3.61
#129Overall3.71
#145Graphics3.79
#247Innovation3.49
#483Theme3.33

Comments

NPC23 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:45pm

That was crazy addicting. I wish there was more reason to collect coins than to get a better star rating, but it was still a ton of fun trying to get 5 stars.

pixelgriffin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:51am

Thank you for the kind words, NPC. I should have thought more on the coins, I agree. :)

Beard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:18am

Gameplay reminded me of Super Meat Boy. The gameplay is extremely difficult, but fitting for the style. sound was top rate.

pixelgriffin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:35am

I'm glad you liked the sound! It was my lowest category last time and I spent a little extra time on it this time around. :)

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:36am

I realy like random level generation, its cool!

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:19am

Shapeshifting by sucking up things around you is a really cool idea. The game is very addictive and I wouldn't stop playing until I beat the game.

shohs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:37am

Nice job, pretty polished overall and fun to play. I liked that there were several different costume pieces for each animal. Very hard though, I could only beat it on casual. The vacuum seemed kind of hit-or-miss whether it'd actually work, unfortunately. Otherwise, good game!

chocobyte says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:01am

It's a nice little game, also very good music! To be honest I quitted fast because it was too hard to do for me. It would be more fair to shift the camera in the characters moving direction to help the player seeing things. I fell way too often :D

PulsorHD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:03am

Really good game, I really see potential in it, you should work on it and fix some of the bugs. Well there was one bug that annoyed me, but it wasn't game breaking, sometimes when I suck something, it goes trough me and just flies away. The music was fun and fast paced the same goes for game play, I failed to beat it, but it was fun.

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:12am

Awesome!!

crucknuk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:19am

Pretty cool game, congratulations !

The game feel is very nice, and the power growing feeling is very well done.

It may be a bit difficult, by that fit the genre I guess (or maybe I'm just bad ^^)

If I could give a piece of advice : we can't see very far when we run, maybe the character should stay in the center or the screen...

Anyway, very cool and fun game :) Good job !

pixelgriffin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:03am

I had intended to have the camera focus on the player, I guess I never really noticed how off-center he was! The vacuum should now be more reliable as well.

redcubegames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Got stuck in the corner of a wall one time. But the other 999 times I loved the hell out of it :D Nice one. Addicting tunes as well.

stalker1586 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:35pm

It's too difficult for me.

SamH says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:41pm

I’m a Super Meat Boy speedrunner and I really liked this. Thanks. Please polish it and release it!

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:59am

Wow, that was one of the most *fun* games made this ludum dare, and the fact that was made for the compo is really impressive. The platforming is very tight, the concept is really solid, and it has awesome and funny pixel art. 5 Stars overall :)

Gametery says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Audio and Art was great! It is fun to play and the procedural generation is adding extra difficulty into the
gameplay since you can't memorize the level design. I liked also that there were positive and negative effects
giving by the animals. Would have been nice to give them some extra visuals, since it was hard to pin point them
in the green gras with the giving time pressure/running speed. Overall nicely done!

pixelgriffin says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:56am

I agree, they blend in a bit too well. I will keep that in mind! Thanks!

kumoi says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Addicting, nice soundtrack, I enjoy wall jumping, the springboard is a little broken when you launch into a wall.

Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Good and fun game !
Go vote mine ! :)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90478

NuberuGames says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:22pm

Fun to play and very brutal! The first times I lasted like 20 seconds at best.
Good job!

candlesan says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:37am

Fun to vaccuum stuff up!

rburema says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:20am

Having a configurable key-map (in the options) is a nice touch, even if there is only one key to map ;-)

(Also... procedural generation in a smooth running and very fun game that is a /compo/ entry... then to have time enough left over to add an actual unlockable? Wow.)

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:37am

Great game! Art work and sounds are very nice! Really fun having your shape shifted by the animals sucking, kind a like Kirby!
Though I didn't see much the point of having the turtle, so I would just suck which animal I wanted and then stopped. Also there are a lot of leaps of faith, and since the camera doesn't follow you quickly I can't see what's under me, which sometimes led to my death..
Oh there was one time that I jumped from a high place and landed on the corner of the ground and got stuck there, though I don't know if I can reproduce it xp
And it took me a long time to realize that there is double jump, maybe put it on instruction?

Anyways, great entry!

Jajo says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:58am

The gameplay is insane and intense. Graphics are awesome. I gave you 5 for most things, but innovation deserved a 6!

pixelgriffin says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:31pm

Thank you for the kind words everyone, I will look into fixing this stuck in a corner bug.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]