Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

There Are Monsters (Vive)

by kvanderlaag - Jam Entry

THIS DEMO REQUIRES AN HTC VIVE TO PLAY

This is an entry for Ludum Dare 35. The theme is 'shapeshift'.

The game is, loosely, a tower defense style game. The first thirty seconds are used to place towers using the grip buttons on the Vive controller. Towers are placed below the controller as indicated by the line and target. During the attack phase, enemies will spawn and attempt to reach your town's gate. Towers will attack them.

Enemies are disguised shapeshifters, either vampires, werewolves, or aliens. Different tower types do more or less damage depending on the type of enemy. The player has three spells which will reveal (and do damage to) enemies, allowing the player to adjust their towers' damage types to match.

Credits:
Programming: Evan Nickerson & Keegan van der Laag
Art: Kaly Dumesnil
Sound: Keegan van der Laag

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#257Humor(Jam)3.07
#483Fun(Jam)3.20
#611Mood(Jam)3.00
#642Innovation(Jam)2.94
#654Graphics(Jam)3.13
#697Overall(Jam)3.06
#881Theme(Jam)2.81
#1808Coolness32%

Comments

mard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:42pm

Looks kinda similar to that tower defense game from Valve's The Lab. Too bad I dont have a vive. Would love to play this game :)

Mekuri says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:00pm

Looks fun.. No Vive though. I do hope some people have, so you can get some ratings for your game.

Good luck!

teamross says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:46pm

Seems quite good! I'll save it to try with a friend's HTC Vive.

unit684 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Just tried it out on my vive and it's really fun! I love the idea of tower defense in vr and this works really well. The art is really nice and it's fun to play. I'd definitely buy something like this if it was a bit more fleshed out. I think 3d models for the enemies would improve it. Also, it's a bit annoying having to hold your thumb down on the touchpad to cast a spell, I'd prefer if the icon and spell aiming stayed there during the attack phase.

Osaft says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:00pm

No Vive here sorry

hitchh1k3r says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:31pm

I can only find a download for the .exe, and when run it, I get: "There should be 'ThereAreMonsters_Data' folder next to the executable" Am I missing a download link somewhere (The sketchfab link didn't seem to have any downloads)? I will check back in a couple days, I'd like to play this before voting is over ^_^

hitchh1k3r says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:39pm

The graphics and level generation in this were pretty cool. I really liked that the grip buttons were used to place towers... it made me feel like a giant picking up and moving them. It was a unique idea, and tower defense are a pretty fun game type.

The five tower limit seemed to limit the games growth though, after each wave it was more of the same, just a bit harder. I also wasn't sure about the central mechanic of trying to detect what the mobs were, it was a unique/innovative idea, but made the whole tower defense thing feel more tedious than fun.

I ran into a bug where the spells stopped working after I lost and tried to play again, but given that you made so much content some small issues are expected. In all, good work, I enjoyed playing this, and it had a lot of neat VR mechanics.

TTLabs says ...
May 11, 2016 @ 12:35am

Lots of fun. A few things. I wish I had another, non-directional or non-visual indicator of how much time in each round was left. Maybe a countdown sound or some sort of sun rising and setting (a day for setup). And another would be the difficulty of fine control of the touch pad (I think this is more of an HTC/Valve issue than your issue).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]