Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Void Walker

by Ethan Allwood - Compo Entry

STORY/DESCRIPTION
You are the void walker. You have been stuck in the void for centuries. Your task is to escape the void, but to do so you will need 15 special crystals. These crystals have a special power. Every time you collect one, it shapeshifts the environment around you, causing it to be more difficult each crystal you collect. There is one other difficulty. There are void creatures and guns set up around he void, defending the crystals. If you can survive and collect all the crystals, a door will open up to earth for you to escape.

CONTROLS
WAD - movement left right and jump
S - shield/crystal mode
[space] - throw a slowing orb

CHALLENGE
If you can beat the full game post your final time. It will show this in the last room.

Developer best time: 128.18

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#96Mood3.66
#112Overall3.74
#137Audio3.46
#142Fun3.62
#171Theme3.81
#210Graphics3.60
#251Innovation3.48
#387Humor2.42

Comments

TechXSoftware says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:09am

Good game

rosden shadow says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:36am

nice game good job!

ConorOD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:40am

Looks nice, and controls are responsive. Fun and innovative design too - I really enjoyed this. One issue though - sometimes I couldn't see far enough to judge jumps or spot incoming bullets or enemies.

Crown Games says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:42am

Great game!

JohnGalt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:42am

Interesting concept!

nicotuason says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:49am

Oooh smooth framerate and animations! The pacing of this game is really good. New challenges get introduced at the right time and I never got bored.

Falling into the gap gets a little frustrating though. Most of the time you can't see that the gap is beneath you. It's a good thing falling doesn't take away your health.

I like all the shades of blue you used. Blue is great.

nickavv says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:53am

This is awesome, and pretty tough. I made it to level 10. I also found an easter egg which gave me a nice hat, which is great and I appreciate that :)

egos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:13am

Well realized
Good job

XAND says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:32am

Very good, had a couple of weird collision issues, but other than that I saw no issues.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:32pm

Got to level 6 on my second try.

Interesting take on the theme. Was looking forward to some level shapeshifting, glad I found one!

The aesthetics are really nice. The soundtrack is a little out of place though.

Overall, good game =)

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Having the level mutate the further you progress is really clever. I love the graphics on the title and game over screen, although I wish it remained that consistent during gameplay.

Gameplay is also pretty solid. Great job!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:09am

Clever level design. The difficulty curve is pretty good.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:11am

Great design and progression, expertly executed. Not much to add aside wanting to have offensive and defensive controls while airborne.

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:11am

Nice game, I like the music and graphics!

Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:15pm

I love this game. Great idea with changing surroundings. And I like the graphics and funny tips like "Don't fall in". Great job!

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:52pm

This was a good little game. I enjoyed the art and music, which were cute and oldschool. The gameplay was classic, but I liked the take on shapeshift, as each time you touched the crystals the level changed. It was so simple, but elegant. The controls were tight for the most part, although i feel like the 'combat' was a little akward. Other than that, solid game!

May 8, 2016 @ 12:25am

Neat game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/tTBSC0cP_38

Ellian says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:50am

This is a fairly good game!
The idea of changing the shape of the level instead of the character is rare, so this is a pretty smart idea. Cool job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]