Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Give me Six

by SpiritJZL - Compo Entry

Hello there! I am SpiritJZL:)

Welcome to my 3rd LD. I have to say every time the theme is not fit to my preparation...but finally got it done, a six-in-a-row game. You may be familiar with five-in-a-row, but five is far too easy for my game, so I raised to 6

here is the instruction of my work:
1.This is a six-in-a-row game,who makes a row of six block with same color wins. All 4 direction count(↑↓,←→,↖↘,↙↗)
2.This is a 2-player game due to its very type, but 1 person play 2 roles is also kind of fun
3.Players will take turns to click the spheres around the map, then the sphere will change its color,1 in red, 1 in blue
4.The color of every block depends on 4 sphere of its corner,
if red>blue , show red,
if red<blue , show blue,
if red=blue , show yellow(yellow won't affect game resault)
5.Again,who makes a row of six block with same color wins.

You can find the instruction in game too, finally I have to say UE4 is not suitable for small games like this, for the file size is too large(105Mb uncompressed).What's in it?
15Mb for the game content I created,37Mb for the engine file, 38Mb for the system setup file, and 80Mb for the PhysX!!!!(luckily I found 70Mb of PhysX is pdb and deleted them)

That's all, in Chinese '6' could mean "good at". So, How 6 could you be in my game?
Source project is packed in the 7z file,you may need UE4.11.1 to open it

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#292Innovation3.40
#412Fun3.22
#476Overall3.20
#563Humor1.91
#700Mood2.51
#749Graphics2.49
#869Theme2.46

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:08am

I expected a much more basic game, but the way I capture four squares at once, and how overlapping squares become neutral was really original and made for a nice game dynamic. Nice work!

SgtBursk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:14am

Thanks for the post-mortem on UE4. I like the color choice and ease of use. Also...http://imgur.com/35VXqTj

Geti says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:26am

concept was fun. The graphics (mostly text presentation) could have been nicer/more readable but its understandable for ld :) congrats on finishing

Would have loved to not download the source along with the game because I'm on AU internet ;)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:28am

Nice! This should be some kind of board game.

pixelgriffin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:31am

Reminds me of a game I used to play with my mom in restaurants haha. Me and my girlfriend had fun playing!

SpiritJZL says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:36am

Hi Geti, Actually the source is less than 2Mb, while the rest 100Mb is needed to run the game...

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:24am

Nice game

Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:02am

My fiancee kicked my butt every game. The rules are cleverer than they first appear. Well done!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:32am

Giving a try on UE4 for such game. Great!! The concept is good but could have been more towards the theme. But I like the game overall

SpiritJZL says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:22am

Hi mayank, Think about the shape of pattern shifts when color changes, that is how I deal with the theme:)

WASD says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:23am

I really like the ruleset, cool idea!

paquinn says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:42am

I thought this would be very similar to connect 4 but the way cells change each other adds a neat twist that leads to a lot more strategy.

abuzreq says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:27am

The game mechanics is really interesting , has some similarities with GO .
Hmmm for some reason I chose after playing normally for a couple of times to try and color all the dots without any one winning .
I did it , but I weren't told it's a draw :P
(A more interesting challenge would have been to color all the board in yellow :) )
Nice game for sure , I liked the symmetrical patterns that results too.

humble_ray says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:40pm

fun, I like it!

Pixelaborate says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:22am

Really struck me as one of those built in windows games for some reason - that's a compliment :P fun little game.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:05pm

I honestly didn't expect much but it's definitely a very interesting mechanic, I like it a lot! Obviously, you could improve the visuals. You could also play around with some more rules, but the simple rules also work really well. Great work!

I would also appreciate it if you have time to check out our game as well!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Simple and fun game. Well done.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:38am

Very cool concept! The idea is neat and it works flawlessly. It feels like the player who starts has a very noticeable advantage, though, because you can change four squares every turn instead of just one.

Marc F. says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:12pm

Neat game design, solid entry!

El Cabaro says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 12:52am

Really creative game. Reminds me of reversi/connect 4.

Louspirit says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:31am

Mecanics perfectly done. Couldnt you have make it more beautiful since you use Unreal ? An ambiant music can be nice too.

goffmog says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 12:16pm

Very cool mechanics, as always I give high ratings to anyone making up an original puzzle mechanic for Ludum Dare.

methylenblub says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Really nice game! Pretty interesting concept

LudumAnthony says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:30am

Fun game, really nice mechanics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]