Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

RollingBall

by ottohak - Compo Entry

My Entry RollingBall is a ball game where you have to roll as far as possible. This is my fist LD game and I think I could made it much better.

I streamed most of the development and had a lot of fun!

Android Version is experimental, please rate the PC Version.

I had no chance to test the Linux and Mac builds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#313Fun3.35
#830Overall2.71
#925Theme1.88
#1808Coolness32%

Comments

ottohak says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 3:07pm

x64 Builds for Win, Mac, Linux: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/4chdq4liv4nrzrm/AACfQh-PF_dcIkUjKNpayGpNa?dl=0

StarStorm295 says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 3:41pm

I love it! This can definitely be expanded upon! I can see it as a pretty infuriating, yet popular mobile game. Great work!

Blobo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:49pm

The camera almost gave me motion sickness. othe than that, it was pretty solid. I got 916 points.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Pretty fun and addicting game!

treegemmer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:03am

Takes me back to flappy bird...

docteurSid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:46am

Good idea but need many improvments

02fc.exe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:52am

Speed growths too fast, but fun overall

fatsopanda says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:05am

A nice and an expandable idea definitely. You always want to try more.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:08am

Great idea, but I find it a bit too difficult to play. As your first LD-game it is great. Well done.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:47pm

I see "shape" but no "shift."

Not a bad game once I figured out how to play well enough to stay in there for a minute without dying. Once I (finally!) got past 500 I catapulted all the way to my current high score: 1117. Take THAT, Blobo!

So: nice job, but I don't see how it fit the theme.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:09pm

First congrats on your first LD game.

The speed ramps up too quickly. You should start the player out slower gradually make it start moving faster.

There should be more feedback when the player dies. It seems like touching the edge of the ground kills you. If this is not the case then let the player fall of the edge for 2-3 seconds before respawning them.

Those are my 2 bits of advice for you. You have a nice game here. I hope to see you back next LD!

gnerkus says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:18am

I had fun playing this. I do have a few issues:

- The ball's colours were a bit distracting
- The speed was a little too high. You could start out slow then accelerate the further the player goes.

Przekop says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:25am

It was getting too fast too quickly. Good first try though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]