Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SHAPEshiftSHIFTshape

by aberdeenphoenix - Compo Entry

This is an infinite-runner-style game. Shift your shape to gain points from gates and defend from enemies!

Pay careful attention and PRACTICE on the intro screen!

Hint: Get the color right first, then the shape.

Shift changes shape category (which is color coded)
Z changes shape within shape category

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#137Theme3.87
#387Overall3.30
#410Fun3.23
#438Audio2.76
#601Mood2.72
#696Graphics2.57

Comments

grayhaze says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:06pm

Really challenging, but rewarding when you get the shapes and colours right. A simple concept well executed. Good work! :)

seanarooni says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:07pm

cool game, very difficult, but fun once i got the hang of it!

Pusty says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:11pm

This was fun! Kinda hard for me tho'. only got to 98 points.

tanis says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Absolutely captivating gameplay. Simple core mechanic that works really well. It takes some time to master it. Great work. I feel this would work really well on mobile platforms with a touch screen.

Rscar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:39pm

Took me a few minutes to really grasp the controls, but I am pleased to report a score of 224. Really difficult, really enjoyed it!

mukult says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:27pm

Nice game!! Difficult though for a beginner!

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Interesting game! We just played it on our game and showed it to our fans too! :)

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:46pm

102 points. It's really hard. XD
I feel like the particles coming from the square do not belong there. I recommend replacing them with larger particles in any post versions.

Bonoshman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:47am

I enjoyed it! Difficulty when first starting is pretty high, but rewarding once I mastered it!

Baknik says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:48am

It's bit bit awkward switching from thinking about the shape you need for a door (match) and the shape you need for an enemy (opposite). Also a bit unfair when an enemy is right behind a door and there's not enough time to react! Interesting idea though.

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:32am

A bit confusing! but really fun! :D

Mordokay says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:33am

Nice game. At first was hard but then it becomes easy. I bit similar to mine actually :). +1

XtremePrime says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:35am

Nice game! I really like the concept, but the whole pyramid scheme seems just a tad bit overly complicated and the enemies put themselves in front of the games, which makes it almost impossible to shift.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:43am

The game's good, but that shape shifting mechanic against the enemies is really difficult to take a hold on.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:23am

Interesting gameplay. Maybe too hard for me. The controls are smooth. Really addictive. It could be funny on mobile device. Well done ++

s0wbear says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:41am

It's a little awkward to play with a QWERTZ keyboard :/
But the concept is good and executed well!

Jukepoks1 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Easy controls. :D though bit confusing at first to learn how they work. good idea!

Swynfel says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:23pm

Cool !

When I first saw the shift&Z switching triangle, I felt like I was going to die.

It turned out okay ! I had awesome one digit-scores in my first tries, but once I got used to it, it felt great.

Interesting idea. And it was actually very addicting (I got a score of 939. Not very related, I just wanted to brag). A little frustrating sometimes (often) when a door and a enemy come at the same time, but the player can live with it (good job making a door fail not instant death).

Having to be in the opposite of an enemy to beat him is a good idea. Makes your brain melt in the first few minutes).

There was audio and particle effects : Cool !

A little repetitive after a few try, and the game play is limited... But I played your game anyway, strange...

Good job !

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:53am

Cool concept. Nice music and the controls felt good. Well Done!

LinealGames says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:45pm

Found it to be very difficult because there was to many shapes to shape shift into

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:52am

Challenging game, love the audio.

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:54am

Challenging, but still great gameplay! Continue improving :)

Imperial Unit says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:10am

I enjoyed it. The clear visuals and tight controls made memorizing all the different shapes and their positions within the triangle very easy.

May 7, 2016 @ 11:10pm

A bit difficult for me but I appreciate a thoughtful design.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]