Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Star Shift Journey

by Asturk - Compo Entry

(OBS: In the web version, is recommended you play it with the full screen resolution. Also, windows version is running a little better too!)
Be prepared for this space-wide adventure, with the help of your new aircraft “the StarShifter” (still prototype edition, please don’t bother!)
Use the firepower and the ability to shapeshift your new ship to survive the longer as possible against the diferents shapes and colors of enemies, aiming for a better score!

Controls:
A and D or arrow keys to move left and right!
Mouse movement to control aim
Left Mouse button to shoot
Right Mouse button to change shape and color of your ship and its projectiles into 3 diferent variations.

You can only defeat enemies ships by shooting projectiles of same color at them.
Oh, and be careful with the deadly lasers across, you also can only trespass through them by shifting the aircraft to similar color of the laser as well.
You only start with 5 lives. Good Luck out there, traveler!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#137Audio3.46
#205Theme3.76
#401Mood3.00
#412Fun3.22
#416Overall3.27
#481Humor2.17
#549Graphics2.84
#603Innovation2.89

Comments

treegemmer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:43am

Not loading for me. I seem to be having trouble with itch.io though.

Allov says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:01am

Audio was really nice, it was all so soothing even though I was wrecking ennemies!

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:01am

The audio seems to be a really high quality. :P

CasualCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:37pm

I like the idea you had going. But I think the execution could be better. The spawning should have more form to it. Like maybe waves so you can kind of know what to expect. Maybe the enemies could move in a more predictable manner that makes way for a challenge as gives more time for the player to interact with them. Right now they just kind of fly-by and there seem to be now punishment for it. Maybe add variation to the projectiles shot by different colors. But I like the look of the game, and the audio was good. It wasn't bad, pretty good game.

TLansdale says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Hints of Ikaruga! Good game. Quite challenging as it required quick switches, but very easy to get into. Well done!

Jungle says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Very nice! Theme 5/5! You can get out of the screen and lasers dont hit you. :D Keep the project on! Congrats!

bigpan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Amazing game! Gameplay is very fluid, and of course, the game is fun! My advice is to check for WEBGL build optimizations, because the loading is quite slow =)

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:51am

that was pretty fun, has a lot of potential. I feel like this is one of those games i would have liked to see if you spend a week developing it

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:21pm

Great!!!! nice job....

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:36pm

very nice game, those laser bars going through the screen are nice to make the player think quick. The soundtrack gives a nice atmosphere too. When the game started, I thought my ship would move around the circle ring that is on the background, maybe modifying it would be nice to not lead the players to misinterpretation ^^. I liked it pretty much, I'm a huge fan of space shooters and space games. Keep up the good work.
#RafaOliveira #PDJAcademy

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:48pm

I like the idea and where your going with it.

quill18 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Excellent hectic fun -- made it to level 5 before getting obliterated.

Sanka-X says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:02pm

We share the same vison I like it! Its realy a very nice game, neat sounds. The lvl 5 seams to be my limit :D

arhpositive says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:54pm

A good entry overall. Has some amount of polish and a nice difficulty curve. It's not too hard or too easy, just right. Good work!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Sound was very well done, and the concept is good. Controls are pretty solid.

I had a little trouble figuring out or remembering how many shots each enemy type would take to kill. Maybe a life bar or something would help there.

Folztarg says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:51am

I really like the gameplay, the audio matches perfectly with the design, it could be other keys to change the shape more faster, but i love it.

kaovhmf says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:51am

Dude, what a nice idea for a game! The gameplay just felt awesomely chalanging! Going outside the screen is kind of a cheat be it makes the game pretty easy lol. I guess it would be better if the enemies moved twards the player of downward at least. Most of the time I would just let them go away with no penalty.

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:38pm

This was actually quite a fun little space shooter game. Theme was well implemented and the simplistic old-school style shooter was quick to learn. Didn't encounter any bugs either.

tayl1r says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:28pm

Nice! Although I seem to be able to go off the side of the screen infinitely, which also avoids the laser beams!

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

APantaloni says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Nice game, the controls work well and it's fun to play. I especially liked the deadly lasers. Minor nitpick: not really colorblind friendly.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:25pm

This is awesome. The colored lasers a brilliant feature, as they force you to think on multiple levels at once. Having them appear in multiple orientations and even with multiple lasers at once is really smart. Great work!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:51am

Nice graphics and sound! Mechanics were cool too! Great entry!

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:31am

This is really cool, and i see the difference when the colors match = success. I should have done that :C

csanyk says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:54am

Aim, fire, dodge, change shape. That's a lot to do. I felt like aiming would have been better if it wasn't mouse-based, so I could do everything with keyboard. Changing shape/color felt a bit forced, somehow, like I didn't have enough time to react when a different colored ship appeared, by the time I changed color it had already gone. I guess I just suck :) But I think there should be some defensive advantage to changing shape, not just match color to hit same-colored enemy, but maybe if you turn the right color you can absorb shots and get energy from them, like in Ikaruga.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]