Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapescape

by AlexLamarche - Compo Entry

Shapescape is a simple game to test your reflexes.

How To play:
-Match the shapes together in one minute.
-You gain points by getting correct shapes.
-You lose points by getting incorrect shapes.
-More instructions in game...

Post your high scores in the comments.

For better quality, download the windows version... Sorry other users :(

Oh and there's a typo................................. eeeeeeeeee

Sorry for bad quality. Unity made the web graphics all dopey.

One question for you all: Would this be a cool mobile game?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#460Audio2.72
#632Fun2.88
#731Mood2.40
#856Overall2.62
#874Graphics1.98
#888Theme2.33

Comments

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:02pm

maybe try to include something more. For example changing shapes, maybe switching element while selecting or i don't know. You have a good basis to construct on it. (Sorry for my english)keep it on!

ragnta says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:15pm

nice game, but sometimes I got a shape, that didn't match for nothing

AlexLamarche says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:30pm

@ragnta yea, sometimes the shapes are completely white or its just really hard to see. ;-;

AnaGF says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Nice game, reminds me to IQ tests.
I think it would work as a mobile, changing the controls to taps would almost do it.

Brice says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:42pm

Took me a good 90 seconds to understand how to play. Not sure how this would work on mobile.

panurge says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:06pm

A neat little concept, presented in a very clean and polished way. I felt it needed some further twist to the gameplay to keep me engaged past a couple of tries, but it was a fun and strangely calming experience. :)

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:49am

Great brain exercise game! Needs more to it though. Some of the shapes are in fact the ones to be matched, but for some reason are wrong. Good stuff either way

miwuc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:31am

Simple but quite fun to play. The colors and also the black borders make it a bit more challenging than it may seem.

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:02pm

Interesting concept for the theme. Simple and, as with a lot of these types of games, quite addictive.

I liked the "tricks" of 3D shapes in there once in a while, that was well done for added challenge.

Simple, does the job, seems finished for the time it had and fun (though more addictive really). Kudos.

luckyy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:43pm

This is probably one of the most fun games i've played so far!
It's super addicting and would probably be a good mobile game.

CasualCat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:44pm

simple and pretty fun, but I think it could be a little more polished and maybe add a few more challenges.

Kelpow says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:08pm

It's a lot of fun, fairly simple, but cool. It felt like a neat little reaction test.

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:56pm

My highscore was 11200. I think this would be an alright game for mobile if all you had to do was touch the correct shape.

freeloader says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:47pm

It's very simple and fun. Good job with the UI sounds.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:20pm

very strange! at first I felt almost offended by the rules, but it turned out to be not that easy :) and I liked the tune, very hypnotising.

martymon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:47pm

This could easily be a mobile game. I would remove the directional controls and just make it point and click.

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:06am

Very practical! This could be easily made into a mobile game, maybe with a catchy bgm :D

jdselsor says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:09am

That was a lot of fun. I really the fast paced checking games. The only thing that I would like to see different is the the time. I think the game would be much more fast paced if you had it as a time limit for each shape. But other than that it was a lot of fun.

TheCain says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:49pm

Nice and simple puzzle game.
It would have worked to also allow Mouse controls in the game, but perhaps that was a design choice.
My high score was 19000

bradur says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 9:34am

Interesting, yet simple game. The sounds and music fit well with the aesthetics of the game.

Pilly says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:11pm

I liked it! Calming, as another reviewer said. I couldn't see the countdown timer (not sure if I was supposed to), but I kinda liked that.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]