Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Duck

by Szabin - Jam Entry

A stupid little game I made in a couple hours. It's not meant to win anything, but it was perfect for learning Unity! :D

Use the arrow keys to shape/move the cube to make it fit through the approaching walls.

Also, sorry for the Web Player embed, HTML5 compile keeps failing. :/

Tools used:
* Unity (5.3)
* Visual Studio Community
* Inkscape
* Bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#236Fun(Jam)3.48
#271Theme(Jam)3.68
#560Humor(Jam)2.40
#664Audio(Jam)2.30
#687Overall(Jam)3.08
#849Mood(Jam)2.65
#882Graphics(Jam)2.70
#931Innovation(Jam)2.52
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

xclementx says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:09pm

It's maybe a bit too hard ?

1qgl says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:38pm

Very fun simple game.

Monklet80 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:20pm

Very basic, but it runs well and is both tricky and fun.

Just Tom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Very satisfying to hear the pace get faster.
The red is a little clashy with the blue and yellow but it's visible and readable!
Simple but I love elegant design, this is great.

BitDare says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:16am

Fun, simple game

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Simple but fun!

leffe108 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Simple but fun game. Some music would have lifted it further.

antglynn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:13pm

Simple yet fun, good job!

Aree Vanier says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:18pm

Really fun, but it lags right before you go through the wall, could it be the collision detection or the wall creation code?

fenwick says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:12am

Simple and fun, as others have said. Some music really could have made it more exciting. Still fun though.

tomlum says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:53am

A wonderfully challenging game, but rewardingly so. Nothing more satisfying than nailing a combo of rapid shape changes. A really satisfying challenge combining both the directionality and the shape change at the same time. Also the animation was really clean.

kalth.streil says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Simply fun, nice design. Having some music (even if not yours - not evaluable) would make it better :) - Very good job!

Mordokay says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:33pm

A simple game that is fun to play. +1

Szabin says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Sorry for being away for so long!
I can't believe the amount of kindness my game's receiving!
You guys rock! Your games rock too!
If I decide to continue working on this, I'll make sure to add music and more elements to it!
(And a better score sound, it's a bit way too low pitch / Flappy Bird-esque)

Thank you all!!

Ardy says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Very simple but that's very good. It's a very clear game. It's fun for a few tries. Nice job!

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:28am

Fun and simple game. keep up ;)
try our game plz:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

bradur says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:51am

Wow this took a while for me to learn but it was quite fun once I got the hang of it. Well done!

Przekop says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Very basic, but i like it. It didn't suffer from inaccuracy of steering like in other endless runners here.

Ludipe says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 11:06pm

Nice game, simple but polished and pretty fun. Well done! :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]