Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries


by Dread_Lord369 - Jam Entry

You play as a simple sword-wielding citizen, plagued by odd creatures warping into your perfect solitude. As you kill the invaders, your rage builds, and ultimately (by pressing 'SPACE') you somehow shift the matter in your body to become something bigger and better. You become an unstoppable behemoth of a being. That is, of course, until you calm down.

- Top down hack'n'slash gameplay
- Wave-based enemy system (4 waves total, followed by an endless wave for your survival hunger)
- Rage-fueled shapeshifting

- WASD to move
- Falling off the edge of the island will cause certain death. The same goes for the fog pits across the island as well
- Mouse to look
- Left click to attack
- Fill rage meter (green bar) by killing enemies (tougher enemies fill your rage quicker)
- When rage meter is full, press SPACE to shapeshift into a 'Giant'
- When in rage mode, rage meter will slowly deplete before shifting back to human form
- When in rage mode, you take no damage, and you can one-shot everything
- Enemy spawn rate also increases while in rage mode
- Press ESCAPE at any time to return the the main menu

I hope everyone gets a chance to give this a go, I only had less than 24 out of the 72 hours to actually work on it, and I came into this hoping to have at least a prototype, if not a 'complete' game, so I'm pretty happy with how far it came in that short time.

I ended up using free audio assets and finished off a terrain generator that I was working on previously in order to get a nice terrain to play on. Coder art is the main art of choice here as I didn't have time to do the modeling, etc.

Enjoy everybody!

- Fixed a bug that prevented wave 3 and onwards from actually spawning any enemies.

- Release.

Downloads and Links




AnaGF says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:19pm

Cool game, if graphics were better it would be great, but I understand you could not because of time. Good work.
However, there are two things about builds:

-For WebGL you need to upload the zip folder to a website that lets you a player, like Gamejolt or, otherwise it looks like an downloadable build.

-Unity WebPlayer looks like an download too, you have to upload just the .unity3d file to a web, (like the two I told you before)

Dread_Lord369 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:15am

Thanks for the feedback. I'm planning on polishing it off after the voting period ends, just to add to my portfolio, but I'll update it then as well.

I'll definitely fix up the web links after work today.

I'm glad you liked the game (:

Fumiko says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:41am

Super fun game. Played it a couple of times and had a good time with it. The sword is really satisfying to use and in my opinion outshines the ragehammers completely ( I got my ass handed to me while enraged. :D) + It's kinda surprising how similar our concepts are and yet different the games turned out. Also choice in music and the graphics are QUITE solid. Good work!

stormouse says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:44am

Good game! It's fun!
I love the dragging light of the sword?bat?bar?
I just can't figure out why using hammer is a better shape than sword?bat?bar? Nevermind.
I enjoyed this a lot.

Dread_Lord369 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:35am

Thanks for the feedback guys!

In regards to rage mode, it's best use is as a panic button when you get swarmed as you become invincible for the duration, and one-shot the enemies, allowing for a nice buff in score generation, as well as a way to clear the horde.

In terms of the shape of the hammer, it was simply a choice based on the fact that you shapeshift into a 'giant', which would use a heftier weapon set. In retrospect, I should have made the hammers a fair bit larger, and maybe swapped the shape out with a mace/club of some kind.

I think I'm gonna push out a few updates in the near future to have a more polished game for my portfolio, in which I will actually be modelling and animating the characters, and attempting to implement the terrain generation into the game itself to allow for a different map each time you play.

vethan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:28am

I liked this, I really enjoyed the gameplay although polish problemsss

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:36am

The game is a dun hack and slash. At first I felt overwhelmed, but once you get the hang of it, it's not so tough. The character could have a colored side or face to help me know which may its facing. Like others I felt the rage mode was less fun than using the sword. I would have also made the rage mode more visually striking such as adding a red glow at the edge of the screens and music change.

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:38am

The game is a fun hack and slash. At first I felt overwhelmed, but once you get the hang of it, it's not so tough. The character could have a colored side or face to help me know which may its facing. Like others I felt the rage mode was less fun than using the sword. I would have also made the rage mode more visually striking such as adding a red glow at the edge of the screens and music change.

zzapp says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:12am

Neat game, the sounds are really great and its quite satisfying bashing things with the sword. Rage mode was a little underwhelming in general though. One bug I ran into was that there are a few mountains that you can fall through if you try to walk into them which can be frustrating.
Overall its a really great effort and a fun little hacknslash game

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Very meritable entry!.

The sound/killing effects are really nice.

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]