Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shpaceshifpt

by crucknuk - Jam Entry

Hello !

The general Lisper orders you to destroy the death star. Use your shpaceshifpt to fulfill your mission!

Your shpaceshifpt has the capacity to change its shape to get through obstacles. Use it wisely to go as far as you can!

CONTROLS:
On keyboard:
Movement - WASD
Changing shape - U/I or Top/Bottom Arrow
Rotation - IJKL or Left/Right Arrow

On controller:
Movement - Left stick
Changing shape - L1/R1 button
Rotation - XYAB

Have fun, and submit your high score in the comments ! :)

Team:
Jeremy G.-R.
Kevin L.
Julien O.
Gabriel C.

Musics:
Jens KiilStofte - A new Dawn
Aaron Spencer - Urban evasion

Tips:
- This game is quite hard if you play with a keyboard. In this case, it might be easier if you play with arrow keys to change shape/rotation.
- Your shadow is projected on walls in front of you, it helps a lot to see if you'll get through holes or not!

Post-Jam:
- Enhance player movement so you can focuse more one switching shape/rotation
- Shield/booster has a durability bar instead of a timer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#186Theme(Jam)3.80
#234Audio(Jam)3.45
#417Fun(Jam)3.28
#423Innovation(Jam)3.20
#447Humor(Jam)2.63
#448Overall(Jam)3.33
#502Graphics(Jam)3.40
#571Mood(Jam)3.07

Comments

Inateno says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:06am

the ship was forced to goes up without any controls, quite hard to play with that, sorry

crucknuk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:11am

This problem might come from your controller with your joystick that is not on neutral position when pluged-in. We have not face this problem here

varuns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:54am

Pretty polished visual compared to my game, the controls mar the experience though :)

kostasvs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:19am

Really really hard to get used to the controls (i don't have a joypad), and it's understandable, since it's a complex game! Color coding is handy but still not enough time to look and reshape AND rotate the ship. Overall great idea and design, with some work towards user-friendliness this could be a very neat game.

TeamSoulmyst says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:28am

It is really hard to see if the ship will fit through a hole, espetially with the navigation being really bouncy, even with the colour of shapes and colour of holes being matched. If it comes out allright, and no big movements are needed, it is pretty fun, if not, then it gets fustrating.
There is a white wall graphic style that really hurts the eye, the others are good.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:14pm

The idea is not bad. A bit cliched maybe, but it fits the theme. The presentation is ok, although one of the rooms is super bright ("Hurts my eyes" bright). So far so good.

The controls are a nightmare though. Finding the right shape, rotating and properly lining up the ship are all fiddly, which adds up to a royal mess.

Here's one way to fix the issue:

- Constrain the movement of the ship to the same grid that the randomized walls use.

- The IJKL keys should change the shape rather than the rotation.

- Rotation is handled with U & O then or you could just remove it altogether.

- Experiment with the grid size. 3x3 grids might translate to snappier gameplay. With a smaller grid the ship can be accelerated to much higher speed as well.

- The invincibility powerup should not be time based but rather have an armor value. Say, it breaks immediately after three walls. At the moment it sometimes stops right before a wall, resulting in an unavoidable collision.

Keep at it.

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:25pm

This is great! Love the general's lisp. Needs a bit more grid snapping though. Sometimes you hit a wall because you're offset by this much. This has not affected my opinion though. Great game!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:11pm

Very nice game, you have managed to create so much content in the limited time frame. Great job!

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:13am

Controls were a bit complex but i had fun anyway.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:07pm

Good game, I like the design of the ship and the doors your have to cross. It's a complex game, for the control and sometimes for the perspective. Anyway, great job.

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:24pm

Not to bad, a bit difficult to control but I kind of liked the game itself. Nice job especially on the sounds

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:17am

Cell shading on ships is cool

Strike says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:48am

Phis is quitfe a good fgame. :D
Controls are very hard to learn, that's true. But after I realised you project a white "shadow" of the space shift onto the walls it made everything better. Very well polished. Good job !

davisan says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Addicive game! :D
Great presentation, graphics and audio.
About the controls, playing with IJKL was easier.

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:04pm

Amazing soundtrack, it makes the mood! Great Game, love the shape-shifting implementation. Keep up the good work!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:18pm

You mentioned how our entries looked similar on my page and after playing yours I can see why although your game is probably better than mine as you've implemented a handy visual guide for lining up the ship and a more gradual difficulty curve (I really like how you slowly introduce each shape type one by one). However like mine your game is also quite hard to play because of how fast the ship is moving and the quick reactions needed to pass through some holes. But I'll say, it's really fun and addictive to play though.

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Wow it's really hard to figure out how have you done so much in so little time.
The keybord makes it really hard, but it's great with the joypad and I had a lot of fun playing it. Well done.

AinoraZ says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Quite the hard game you have there :D... The controls are a bit weird and hard to understand, which makes it kinda hard to react fast enough. I'd recommend working on the controls a little more. Other then that, the idea is great

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]