Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Patrick Donegan

by pdonegan - Compo Entry

First Attempt at making my own game, so it is very rough around the edges.

It can only be played on OS X, sorry I hope to port it to other systems in the future.

Controls are A S D

A is a long rectangle
S is a cube
D is a tall rectangle

By the way I ran out of time before I could put in a title screen so if you lose the program just closes. Sorry about that.

Other than that enjoy the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness17%

Comments

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:29pm

mate this game is actually quite fun and considering its your first attempt at making a game its pretty damn impressive keep it up! the game is quite similar to mine, are you changing the player's meshfilter and collider on key presses? overall, its a gr8 game 10/10

play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

lanestp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:57am

Nice game! I kind of dug the dump to desktop fail. It's like the game is telling me I suck! It made me laugh!

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:49am

We came up with the same idea :)
Good game I like it.
Have a look at our entry ;)

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:52pm

It's sad that there is no windows port.

StaNov says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:53pm

No web or windows? I can't play it then :(

siryakko says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:35pm

The idea on the theme is quite similar as mine, and really like was my first proto. Great game, really fun. But really make a windows and webgl version if you want other people to play your game :)

Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:39pm

Windows version maybe?

Fabraz says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:21am

Hot tip: Definitely always make a windows build. It's 95% of the gaming crowd after all. Luckily, I have a mac. :) Fun take as a runner. Sonic dash with a shape morph.

btrotter101 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Fun little game. I'd kind of like a score at the end.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]