Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

We Made Rock Paper Scissors

by GenericTeamName - Jam Entry

Rock Paper Scissors has never been so wild!

The traditional argument-resolution method is now a 2D fighter! Try to knock your opponent off the platform! Transform to get the upper hand - remember, rock beats scissors, scissors beats paper, and paper beats rock!
First to three KO's wins. Take on an AI, or play against a friend on the same keyboard.

Web version coming soon!

Controls

Player 1:
A/D to move left/right
S/W to shift shape
Left Shift to jump/double jump
1/2/3 to directly transform to rock/paper/scissors

Player 2:
Arrow Keys Left/Right to move left/right
Arrow Keys Up/Down to shift shape
Right Shift to jump/double jump
,/./? to directly transform to rock/paper/scissors


We recommend shifting up and down over the direct transformation buttons, and using a separate hand for the jump key.

Music: Folding Paper by Tim Six
www.soundcloud.com/tim_six

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#26Humor(Jam)4.09
#32Fun(Jam)4.00
#48Theme(Jam)4.15
#83Overall(Jam)3.89
#100Audio(Jam)3.79
#123Mood(Jam)3.76
#183Innovation(Jam)3.59
#268Graphics(Jam)3.82

Comments

bagface says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:09am

So goofy! I can't wait to play again later with a friend!

guin36 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:23am

I love this game so much! Everything from the ridiculous title to the adorable sound effects are my type of humor!

In terms of gameplay, the rounds are short and sweet, yet rewarding. There's something great feeling about knocking an enemy far away with a squeaky toy sound! It's also well balanced, as you might expect, being based on the most balanced game in creation.

My only complaint is that the controls, while responsive, intuitive, and clean, are mapped to rather finger cramping locations.

Everything taken into account, this game is still fantastic in almost every way!

Ethan Allwood says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:33am

Hard to stop playing! This game is so addicting but also really difficult. The AI is soooo hard to beat! The default controls were a little weird but I changed my settings so it was okay. Overall, I love this game! What a great idea. I found the key to at least having a chance was to jump a lot so you have time to react and switch forms then keep pushing it once it gets off the edge because it keeps miraculously jumping back on if you don't. My recommended controls: AD to move left/right, W to jump, and n/m/, for rock/paper/scissors.

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:10pm

good game, ive played it alone but will try it again with same friends. Woudl be cool if u could make it available to play online like itch.io. Cheers

QuexD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Nice had a friend next to me when I played this, very fun!

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:11pm

This is awesome! I have a mame cabinet in my basement and I'm definitely going to be playing this with some friends on there.

tower07 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Really love the voice-over and the sound design!

nextreality says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:15pm

I love the announcer! It was confusing at first because I wasn't sure who I was for about 10 seconds and I got clobbered by the AI, but it was surprisingly fun after I got a hand of it. It's like minimalist smash bros!

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Man that AI is a god tier RPS player.
The time to change between forms is a little too long, and the ai knows before you change what you're going to change into

Cool concept, well done!

fafastudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Awesome game !
Pretty neat atmosphere and the players are just adorable xD
Well done !

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:48pm

yay! It's quite funny! I've playing with my boyfriend like 10 mins and we need to keep playing :D
Thank you for this game! :D

erdiizgi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Some things never gets old :D It's an amazing childhood game with lots of humor.

dmarlan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:02pm

w o w!!!!

best game ever. i give it 11/10

i don't think ill ever play normal rock paper scissors eveR AGAIN!!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:15am

Fun game. I'll need to find a friend to play it with now.

mahalis says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:15am

This is great! Love the graphics (especially the faces on the players) and the music. Simple mechanic, works really well. Nice job!

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:19am

Such a satisfying game. Playing two player is so intense. Also the voices are hilarious. SCISSORSSSSSSSSS

retrograze says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:36am

5 stars in every category. This game is freaking amazing. Now, put it up in a web browser somewhere!

Allthebees says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:37pm

Played with a friend and it is awesome! They won so the game is balanced obviously ( I kid!) Top scores from us!

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:26am

Well rounded entry. Nice work.

TheBreakfast says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:36am

I love the sound design, it's amazing! Everything, from the squeak sound the scissors make when hitting the ground, to the voice acting, and the way the title voice over fades out when loading the level.

The graphics are incredibly charming too. This game has a lot of polish for a game jam game. Well done!

The AI is a little hard to beat, but it's rare for a multiplayer-focused jam game to also have a single player version, so you deserve huge bonus points for that!

mgooch0190 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:04am

Adorable! I love the sound effects (the scissors in particular). I would have been nice for the controls to be listed in the game itself, but other than that it was a cute game.

Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:01am

Fantastic game! Besides the controls on this version, everything was awesome! Looking forward to the full version.

medidog says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 3:01am

Such a fun game and great combination of the theme and game mechanics! This will be my new stress-relief game :) My only suggestion would be to make the characters distinguishable, maybe even different tongue colors? As it is not easy to tell them apart when the fight gets really heated :)

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:13pm

fun

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:11am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]