Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Fluffy the Porcupine Saves the World

by iapc - Jam Entry

INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS:
The Windows (32-bit) and Windows (64-bit) are standalone versions of the game. To run the Windows / Linux / OS/X version, the latest version of LÖVE is required (download site can be found in our links).
You need love 0.10.1. Your package manager may not have this version yet.

Story:
Mr. T, the Famous 'Muricalligator, has won the presidential election, and is now building a wall to block off your access to the swamp. To maintain your freedom, you have to go and defeat him to prevent the wall from being completed.

Controls (mostly rebind-able):
Movement: w, a, s, d
Action 1: left mouse button
Action 2: right mouse button
Pause: p
Shape shifting: t, g, r, f

Characters:
-Fluffy the Porcupine
-? the Armadillo
-Schnappie the Snapping Turtle
-Schrödinger the Cat
They may or may not be the same person.
And "Mr. T, the Famous 'Muricalligator"

BUGFIX (19-4-2016 13:42): Game no longer fully crashes during bossfight.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#235Humor(Jam)3.13
#379Theme(Jam)3.55
#498Audio(Jam)2.93
#667Fun(Jam)2.97
#674Mood(Jam)2.93
#697Overall(Jam)3.06
#827Graphics(Jam)2.84
#898Innovation(Jam)2.59

Comments

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:26pm

Mister T is a PIMP.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:26pm

AWESOME game, dude! i liked it!!
play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

Osaft says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Nice Game. Does there happens something after the end boss ?

iapc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:43pm

There should be a victory screen. Did it crash for you?

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:48pm

Nice game and story

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:34pm

The mechanics all sort of work, but I never figured out what was useful about the turtle and the armadillo aside from digging. For the final boss I dodged attacks with the cat and then switched to the porcupine to drop some attacks. It was a bit tricky with the lazer, but it is still completely possible to avoid that by running while still stopping to get attacks off. On that note, the porcupine's ranged attack is 10 times more useful than any other attack since most of the enemies are entirely melee based and can't move in to attack you quickly.

The music was good if a bit repetetive and the writing touches added a nice sprinkinling of personality to the game. Muricalligator looks great as do his attacks.

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:58pm

A bit random but amusing nonetheless.

Goutye says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:40pm

I definitely prefer the 2nd form. Everything is faster. Otherwise, maybe a bit too much of enemy sometimes! But that sure that the cat is pretty cheaty!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:51pm

long live the fluffy procupine! really nice game, crude graphics but kept me playing

Alex (Omlette du Fromage team)

Brice says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:03pm

Ok, this was way more fun than I thought it would be. I finally beat the game. The story was so odd, yet the challenge was achievable, I had to see it through. The collision/controls have a real old NES feel to it (good and bad :-)

Great job!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:33pm

Really interesting using the different abilities for each character. Nice job!

Yword says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Really cool characters and mechanics! Well done!

g12345 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:30pm

This game is fine. Interesting ideas, Zelda like graphics and even a menu and music.

There were a lot of keys to remember, and in the end I was like moving all over the keyboard.

Also, this game has less bugs than your earlier LD games, so that's a real good improvement.

I'm satisfied with this game. Yay!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:52am

This was nice! The levels, as cudely introduced as they were, performed the function of introducing the mechanics!

I very much liked the dialog!

janiq says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:14am

Hi I had problem with controls. The enemies were always stuck somewhere, which was good for killing them but i guess they should be more fluent in the movement. Otherwise nicely done. Music complemented the game very well . I had to fight multigator dozen of times since it always killed me with nuclear strike :-D Need some more work on the fluent of movement and hitting for enemies, otherwise feels and plays nicely. Good work.

jonask says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:03pm

Suprisingly fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]