Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Parts Needed

by SpringCabal - Jam Entry

You are regaining your senses, discovering your environment, and switching between the physical and spiritual world to uncover how you wound up in this forgotten, terrible place. And who are the others?

Can you find all four endings?

= controls =
+ Space to change form.
+ Click to interact.
+ WASD movement.

==== Hardware ====
This game requires a good GFX card, and tends to work best with Nvidia.
If it's rendered incorrectly (e.g. there's no wisp or the screen isn't blue initially), and you want to play it, please paste your infolog.txt, located in your game folder, and we'll try to provide fixes in the following days.
==================


To play the game, extract the archive and start the Parts Needed executable.

Made by the SpringCabal team:
Anarchid
gajop
greze
smoth

Gameplay videos:
Forboding Angel: https://youtu.be/S2tf4NqhsDg
Tech Valley Game Space: https://www.twitch.tv/techvalleygamespace/v/61687671 (first 45ish mins of it)
Shadowfury333: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wzp7YoE4SV8

Also check http://ludumdare.com/compo/2016/04/19/detailed-reviews-tit-for-tat/ !

We have applied a number of fixes to issues with non-Nvidia GFX cards, as well as some cases of lost graphical details upon game restart. The old version that might be broken on some machines is also available (https://github.com/SpringCabal/LD35/releases/tag/1.0).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#101Mood(Jam)3.85
#209Audio(Jam)3.52
#243Graphics(Jam)3.89
#423Innovation(Jam)3.20
#507Overall(Jam)3.27
#514Theme(Jam)3.38
#754Fun(Jam)2.85

Comments

pokipsy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:43am

Very atmospheric, I would have like more info on the backstory, to know why I'm here and why I must free souls. Good idea to have multiple endings, I first got the ending #4, then retried and got ending #2.
Congrats for this entry !

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:27am

The audio design was really good, and the graphics remind me of the older horror games that left the player with a lot of creepy imaginations. I also really liked the part where you were reconstructing a humanoid body.

I did, however, think the game did not have a good mechanic-to-story integration. Mechanically, it feels like a collect-em-all with some occasional switches. This doesn't quite fit with the dark, oppressive universe you've created, and a single-text ending really pulls you out of the game. Feel like that can be worked on a little more.

Brice says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:34am

I wasn't able to play on PC, Windows 7. :-( "Unhandled exception. Spring has crashed. Access violation."

Farelle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:54am

I didn't understand how to progress...first i only switched levers i found with x marked...I couldn't figure out how to use the pressure plates....then after i got all forms I just switched all the levers....which opened the cages but nothing happened...i literally got stuck, not knowing what i could do.Atmospheric the game seems to be very nice though.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:16pm

@Farelle pressure plates can't be used until you get legs.
To progress further you should solve the puzzle with the 4 levers.
Hint: It's a bitmap

@Brice: This is going to be difficult to solve without more info (outside of suggesting that you try updating your opengl drivers, which sometimes helps). Can you find and upload an infolog.txt file located in game directory? Appreciated!

@Everyone: Thanks for playing (or trying to play the game). Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Please feel free to offer any kind of feedback, whether positive or negative, about the aspects of the game!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:37pm

Great job guys!!! This was an excellent game, I had a lot of fun with it :-D

Ok, first of all, I made a first impressions and gameplay video here: https://youtu.be/S2tf4NqhsDg

My thoughts...
Pros:
• It was short, but considering what it is, I expected it to be.
• I loved the fact that the map gave you instructions.
• I Love the simple to play design. There are puzzles, but they aren't so complex as to put off people who are bad at puzzle games.
• I LOVE the film grain effect over the visuals in spirit mode, it really helps set the mood, in ways similar to Left 4 Dead.
• I love the music. It's ambient, creepy and kinda awesome.
• The gameplay is fun and I loved the fact that there were very clear reasons to use spirit mode vs physical mode.

Cons:
• Probably should have a little menu for graphics options... maybe?
• Movement was a little screwy sometimes, a little wiggle here and there, but it did not interfere with gameplay at all.
• It's possible (albeit difficult unless you're a moron like myself) to get yourself stuck in a wall if you try hard enough.

Excellent work guys! I really enjoyed it!

tl;dr: 10/10 would buy again.

djfariel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:17am

The audio, lighting, and grain filter did an excellent job setting the mood. Before I even moved I knew you at least knew a little about what you were doing.
Kind of a weird game, still not really sure what exactly was going on. Regardless, I'd say this make the top 5 out of about 50 I've rated. Great job!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:51am

Very nice atmosphere. Don't know what's going on. but the puzzle is interesting.

smbe19 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:11pm

The most obvious strengths of this entry are the amazing graphics and the atmospheric audio. I think this has been done very well and definitely improved the overall look and feel of this game.

The gameplay itself was a little confusing. At first I was really not sure what to do or where to go. But I guess that's part of the atmosphere: You find yourself in an unknown realm and need to discover a way out.
Still, the gameplay didn't have a lot of depth, but at least the game has replayability thanks to the different endings. The shapeshifting was ok, although it could have maybe been explored further. It's clear that most work went into the graphics and audio, but that's fine. It's refreshing compared to most other LD games.

A few things were a little annoying (and also seemed unnecessary), for instance the levels are too big. You have to walk around for ages before you really get anywhere. Granted, a sense of being lost needs to be there for the atmosphere, but the corridors didn't need to be so long and maybe the rooms could have been a little smaller as well. If the game didn't take so long, the motivation to discover all the endings would also be bigger.

All in all, I have to say that this is an impressive entry. It definitely has one of the best graphics and atmospheres I've ever seen in an LD game.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:21pm

Nice atmosphere, nice concept! Good job :)
I didn't however get how to change the ending.

Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:21am

Thought it was interesting how you built up your body. Cool atmosphere. The world was quite large and empty to move around in though, so although I spent a fair bit of time exploring, I don't know how much I missed (ending #4, sadly). Also could use a few more hints / direct feedback (I'm guessing the circles were good and the x's bad but couldn't really prove it). Nice start overall.

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:38am

Cool environment created. Its like pro work. Nice game

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:04am

Very cool atmosphere! Audio and graphics are nice too! Though it took very long to understand what was going on, I guess it's because I couldn't see very well that there were souls in the cages, also I took some time to understand what the parts do (though I still don't know what nose and ear are for)
So I got ending 2, 3 and 4, don't know about the 1 still ^^;
Oh the movement and collision were a bit odd, it jagged a little when turning and I could walk though the wall and it seemed to climb it a little...

Anyway great entry!

Shadowfury333 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:28am

Played through it on stream, with archive video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wzp7YoE4SV8

Pretty good, but I know I was expecting something more mechanical, so taken on its own terms it succeeds.

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:45pm

@SpringCabal hehe can you please press space twice for first time as game start and switch to a bird :)

tower07 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Pretty good! Collisions were wonky though, very easy to get stuck in things and have to reset.

May 4, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Nice graphics

Przekop says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:39pm

Suprisingly for me it was nearly unplayable because of frame rate which was oscilating arround 10 fps. Sound worked fine and was creating nice moody atmosphere.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]