Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

A magical shapeshift

by Berserker_Chris - Compo Entry

A magical shapeshift is a funny sidescroller maze game.
The dark Wizzard converted you in a little block and try to burn you down, find a way trough the maze of tunnels and jumping parts, and go to the good Wizzard to get reconverted.

Controlls in Menu:
Left Mouse Button
or
W/S: up/down
Space: To push a button

Controlls in Game:

A/D: Left/Right
W : Jump
Shift: to Shift the Shape

Only for Windows .exe

Have fun and don't forget the feedback.

_____EDIT_____

Used Tools:

Game Maker Studio Pro

Paint
Photoshop

Audacity
LMMS

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#164Humor3.08
#401Mood3.00
#416Theme3.44
#475Fun3.12
#500Audio2.59
#575Innovation2.93
#584Overall3.07
#714Graphics2.54

Comments

Autovelop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:36am

Haha, had fun playing. Got to the wizard then couldn't help died due to laughter. Well done.

wheerd says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:53am

Nice game, but really annoying you couldn't skip the cutscene at the beginning, if you die a lot like me :D

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:58am

Very fun game. Well done

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:59am

Yay! A game with an intro! Can I just say how much I appreciate that? Thank you for giving me a reason to care! Honestly!
I think the mechanic is really fun and lead to some fun situations. Great job!

celmore1001 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:03am

Nice one! :)

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:23am

@wheerd After playing the Tutorial once you can restart the room you died with the continue button.

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:49am

Great idea maybe work on the graphics a little more but I like it

Tygrak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:27am

Awesome game. Got to the second checkpoint after the fiery wall of death and then it was too diffucult for me :D. It is very fun.

Przekop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:47am

Bzzzzt. I was constantly diyng until i realised that in istructions is shift not up arrow :D. I wish that you could change back, not have to cycle through every form.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:48am

Great humor!!!

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:31am

Nicely done. I really like the main mechanic. It would be nice to have a faster restart turnaround time to help you learn the ropes though.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:59am

First of all, nice music! The backgrounds are also well made too, though it's a shame you didn't have the time to apply the same care to the characters.

As for the gameplay, I have one suggestion and one question. Personally, I would have liked the checkpoints to be about twice as common. There was a lot of backloading of difficulty in the levels, which meant I found myself playing through the easy earlier sections for extended periods before I could reach the part that was challenging me. Also, I found the doublejump became less and less useful the longer you waited to use it, to the point where it was almost always better to mash the jump button do do a super jump rather than wait until you're partway through the jump. Was this intentional, or a mistake?

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:16am

@RockhopperGames It is intentional, sometimes its better to wait for the doublejump and than the gravity stronger as the power of the player.

Tharky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:46pm

Cool game, had fun playing :)

GameQuester says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:05pm

Nice little game. Sometimes I couldn't change the shape. Good Work though.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:06pm

@GamesQuester with the orange direct on wall you cant shift because the green will stuck in wall

freeloader says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:47pm

Nice and challenging, Zzxsh out!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:12am

i did not realize the first time thru that i had to run back, but once i did it was quite frantic - i loved it - great job

Paskal007r says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:46pm

I have only one complaint about this: the shift icon looked a lot like a up arrow, which I mistook for.
Besides that, fun concept, nicely realized!

Gametery says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:17am

Controls feels a bit awkward, especially while double jumping but other than that it's quite nice . Well done!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:07am

I died so many times that I got tired of the cutscene! lol.. All in all, super fun game! Excellent concept!

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:59am

miss so more explanations but not bad

Patomkin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:42am

I have multiple gripes with this game:
- The blue square is... useless? He can't jump and he's bigger than the orange rectangle. Maybe implement a weight-switch mechanics so he could have a purpose?
- The game tells me to run fast and then creates a veeeery slow wall of death, which I have to wait for to progress
- I can jump up the hill, but then I inexplicably die? Why?
- And most of all - the orange-to-green shifting restriction near the wall...
But the intro is a very good and pleasant touch and levels are quite good :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:01pm

@Patomkin thanks for your comment, i forget to make the wall faster in lvl 4 and 5, and the blue square is faster than the.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:03pm

@fin_nolimit, how did you restart the game because the cutscene should only come if you die in the tutorial.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:40am

I liked the concept of the game. I did have trouble with shifting from the red block to the green block when the wall of death was chasing me. Other than that it was a cool game.

scorched says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Why do I need to login to google to download?

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:57pm

cool game, enjoying it, could be more polished on the graph side but its good

puppetmaster says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Cool game with some very funny twists. The theme implementation is great. Keep up the good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]