Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SHAPE.SHIFT

by BulletsArePeopleToo - Jam Entry

Rhythm-based side-scrolling obstacle-dodger.

Music by Kevin MacLeod

Post-jam version contains:
*Bugfixes
*Tightened controls
*Tweaked level layouts
*Tuned difficulty (it's not as impossible now)
*Changed color of some objects for clarity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#139Fun(Jam)3.66
#181Mood(Jam)3.63
#199Overall(Jam)3.64
#228Innovation(Jam)3.50
#431Humor(Jam)2.65
#445Graphics(Jam)3.50
#728Theme(Jam)3.08

Comments

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:19pm

good game, liked audio and art

play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

Rakowu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:27pm

Ok i enjoy that one. I relly like how the game start. And it's a great idea the way how the player destroy stuff. Really good work. great.

okoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:27pm

I think it was the best game i've played so far this ludumdare , the idea of the sound of knocking on the gameplay was well executed and the glitch effect in the background was very cool.
Take a look at my game: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=92096

AdamsMcCall says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:39pm

I love the idea, but where is the shapeshift ?

Skruffye says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:48pm

Really fun game, the idea was great and the gameplay was smooth.
My main complaint was that when you changed dimensions, you almost invariably hit something in the other dimension as soon as you appeared. Maybe have a faint overlay of the other dimension or something?
Overall, great job! :D

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:39pm

@AdamsMcCall Thanks!

We were a little concerned that the game's connection to the theme was weak... It's kind of hard to see, but when you shift dimensions, you shift shape (between a long rectangle and a tall rectangle). Also, you shift shape when you attack.

glitchu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Very challenging and difficult boss. I felt that in order to enjoy the music you had to be good at it, but I liked the psychadelic look that you were going for.

schizoid2k says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:14am

Nice job. Man, the second level gets hard quick!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:17am

Great game, solid visuals and music. Didnt relate to theme too much but perspective change is unique mechanic, albiet frustrating sometimes. Control could be a little tighter felt kinda floaty. Boss was too hard imo. Tried at least 20 times and gave up. Overall cool rhythm game, pretty similar to mine actually haha check it out.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:58pm

Looks and sounds really nice. The shapeshifting mechanism has a great feeling to it, when you nail one of those destructible objects, sweet!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Really love this idea, but it was too difficult for me (maybe I just suck haha). Art style is really interesting.

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Good game, i like the techno music. keep up ;)
try out our game:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

applejam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:02pm

Its always nice to see someone make a good rythmgame. Good job on this one. Its pretty hard, because checkpoints aren't frequent but other than that its great.
Didn't get the shapeshifting theme from this though.

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:22pm

Awesome.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:01pm

This is very hard, very fun and very awesome! You die (well, I die... ;) ) all the time and you want to keep going just one more time. Again and again. I love how the visuals and the mechanics match the music, and how it throws new stuff at you all the time. Congrats!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Really cool game! Loved how you actually need to follow the beat to beat the game :D

Hempuli says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:25am

The shifting mechanic was cool on paper but felt pretty frustrating due to the way it always centered me when changing planes; this caused a lot of frustration. The graphics and audio are extremely sweet. I got to the first boss.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:08pm

Difficulty was a bit high for me (but precision is not something I'm super good at). Love the look and feel.

Wefiends says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:48pm

A really difficult game, but incredibly satisfying. Could use a little streamlining with the level design (which you did in the post jam version).

iossif says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:21pm

the colors and everything looked cool but made it sometimes very hard to see level parts and/or enemies. maybe a tweaked contrast can make this entry even better with little work.

Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Good and fun game !
Go vote mine ! :)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90478

Jacob Peltola says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Gorgeous visualfx, solid gameplay, and a simple yet versatile mechanic. I like :)

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:13pm

Nice one! I'll play through it one day.

davor10105 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:15pm

love the game, its very addictive!

El Cabaro says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 12:12am

Wow, very neat and beat-centric game. That boss is incredibly difficult- we tried for a good 25 minutes and although we memorized the attack patterns up until the double-layered shot of grey with one red, we just couldn't BEAT it. We really enjoyed the "shooting on beat" mechanic. Well done.

kestrelgames says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Whoa, awesomely trippy! The mechanic of attacking automatically on the beat is great. The visual style is nice but the glitching is a bit strong/large maybe? the cow game is hilarious btw! Can't believe that was all made in the jam.

Alphish says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Yay, I *beat* the supermassive discoball!

One of the more enjoyable entries this dare, despite being quite difficult and unforgiving at times. Dunno if I wouldn't prefer this game being made for some other soundtrack, but complaining about it would be just picky. Very well done! ^^

Spotline says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 9:22am

Neat game, well done ! Very 140 ;)

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Nice little game :)

jirrev says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Nice background recolloring, liked how it was so simpe but also so hard

hazzahazzam says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:34am

Where does the theme come into play? Plus gotta love the Kevin MacLeod music! :P

Green Soda says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 6:03am

the colors wow ! that shapeshift mechanic took me a while to notice

yuigoto says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:52am

Loved the concept, the level design is really challeging! Having events happen synchronized with the rhythm is always nice and cool! :)

The graphics are simple, but trippy and really effective! :) Controls work perfectly, but changing dimensions, sometimes means certain death, this could be changed, somehow! ;)

Great entry!

qubodup says ...
May 13, 2016 @ 7:38am

Very cool! Quite 140, agreed!
https://youtu.be/W1KilM-kNGo

Yahweasel says ...
Feb 11, 2018 @ 10:04pm

FYI, I played this on my weekly random-free-Itch-game show: https://youtu.be/VBItS1tFFpA . Really, really great game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]