Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shifters

by Reis Mahnic - Compo Entry

A paranoid scientist with a flair for the dramatic teaches a seminar on the existence of Shape Shifters who live among us.

A story driven visual novel. There are 5 endings.

An entirely solo project by Reis Mahnic, made in under 48 hours and entered into the Ludum Dare Compo.

If you are having problems running the game, try fiddling with the settings by running 'winsetup.exe'.


For more of my free games, feel free to visit www.reismahnic.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#91Mood3.67
#118Theme3.91
#122Humor3.23
#158Graphics3.73
#204Overall3.53
#514Fun3.05
#575Innovation2.93

Comments

mutonizer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:35am

More story than adventure, more telling than game but short, to the point, very nice presentation and branching choices & consequences.
Dialogs were between clever, funny and weird at times but other than that, I'm saving this one to try out more options later, which I guess is a good thing :)

Nice one.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:39am

I liked the overall idea but felt I needed a few more narrative choices, i would of preferred actually being randomly assigned species and not knowing my choice

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:03am

It was nice. But seemed more like an interactive story than a game.

Souperstrawer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:04am

Really cool. I liked how the choice at the beginning affected the final outcome. Game looks very nice as well. It was a bit boring to replay the game after the first playthrough, since most of the dialogue was the same. Overall the game was enjoyable though

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:21am

Nice story-driven game! I like your art style :) Going to replay this a few times.

amras0000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:29am

This is one of the rare cases where I don't abandon a literary game after the first paragraph, and your writing pulled me through to the end of a couple arcs. Minor complaint is that the shapeshifters almost could've been replaced with any other monster/alien/android with a skinsuit. I feel like there's more potential in the theme. Good job, though.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:01am

A Storytell why not. Nice Story and Artwork.

shohs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:18am

Pretty good story, and the artwork was very well done! It would be cool if the choices had more impact, but still, good game.

plaguespark says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:47am

I liked the story. For fully imersion the player's home/appartament scene would be totaly great addition.

Exit dialog text was damaged and did not fit buttons
//I remembered that still not finished "Shifters" on PS2 <_<

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:20am

Interesting story, and nice use of branching choices for storytelling (I really like the first choice). The art style is great as well.

Saiodin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:36pm

This reminded me of old Amiga games and the like. I actually quite enjoyed the story (I did one playthrough) and didnt know what to expect. Very good!

Gord10 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:51pm

I loved its story and how it has got different endings!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:28am

Interesting story,thank you!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:31am

Great idea and great game. Well done.

SeaDads says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:36pm

GilgaYES!

Green Soda says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:54am

GREAT TAKE ON NONLINEAR STORYLINE!
it makes me wanna play it again out of curiosity of what will happen if i did differently :)) NICE GRAPHICS.. and NICE GAME
great job!

Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:35am

I AM IN LOVE WITH YOUR GRAPHICS KEEP IT UP! REMINDS ME OF OLD SCHOOL ADVENTURE GAMES: MY LOVES FOREVER

El Cabaro says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 11:12pm

Cool story game with a surprising amount of variations. It was a bit anticlimactic in some of the endings but oh well. Otherwise solid.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]