Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

By The Light Of The Spire

by Blobo - Compo Entry

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

You are Lequestrius, the wizard. At the highest point of the spire, lay the purest beams of light. On a quest to obtain the essense from the light, you shall guide him on his journey to the top in this procedurally generated side scroller.

Lequestrius is a wizard of many talents, for he can tranform into 4 forms.
This can be done by pressing the arrow keys.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

CONTROLS: (Kinda important, there isn't a tutorial)

A/D - Left/Right
Spacebar - Jump
Escape - Pause

LEFT - Default Lequestrius, Shoot's magic bolts.
RIGHT - Fire Lequestrius, Smash through wooden pillars, safely stand on flaming bricks.
UP - Air Lequestrius, Double Jump
DOWN - Stone Lequestrius, Invulnerable to arrows and enemy attacks.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

You should leave a comment, it makes me feel good about myself. Criticism is appreciated.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#66Theme4.05
#142Humor3.14
#165Graphics3.71
#180Audio3.33
#183Mood3.38
#213Overall3.52
#226Innovation3.52
#288Fun3.38

Comments

Phantom Lab says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:08am

Very lovely game - keep up the good work.

candlesan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:04am

Really cool concept.

spiffl says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:40pm

Cute! I really like the graphics and music and little details, like when the stone wizard fell over! The controls and general feel need a lot of work, but this is a great start! If I have one big criticism to make, it would be that not *every* jump needs to be just-barely-possible-with-good-timing, y'know? There should be some jumps that require great timing, but others (not just at the beginning) that aren't such a big deal. Regardless, well done :)

tomdeal says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:42pm

Nice game! I like the random(?) generated leveltiles and the different wizards. The camera could be zoomed out a bit more, I'm getting hit an awful lot from arrows from the edge of the screen. But that's only a very minor issue.

Ovidios says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:54pm

The game was, gameplay-wise, pretty good, the particles looked nice and the art was usually fine too. The jumps, however, felt kinda off and I was sometimes not able to double-jump.

BoltKey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Holy shit, this is hard. I finished the first floor and was like "Huh, that game was hard". Then I realized it was just first level of I-don't-want-to-know how many. I gave up after 20 minutes on the second floor. I got other things to do today and I don't want to loose any (more) hair.

In all other aspects from difficulty, it was really good. Audio was perfect. The graphics. Oh my god the graphics were great. So cute little alternations of the beard movement for different forms, things like that. Gameplay was smooth.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Really nice! +1 for not too easy!

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:55pm

This is a pretty fun game, would like to see more.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:23pm

Most magical beard in all of LD35. Really loved the art, definitely a gem. Great work!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:54pm

I loved this game. It was fun and and pretty! 5/5

bigpan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Man, this game is awesome, i loved that you used procedurally generated levels. Graphic and soundtracks were also amazing, i give you a solid 5/5 overall!

Jungle says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:17pm

I like that! The "Devil" shape ir very cool, ahaha. Maybe the other shapes could change a little bit more. Good design also. Congrats!

Sean says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:18pm

The levels being procedural was impressive! I did find it annoying how you could kind of stick to a wall mid-jump though.

AceyT says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:24pm

I liked it, but every new mechanic got me killed and being force to restart after a long run is quite frustrating.

But the shape shifting giving different kind of property and way to interact with the dungeon were great, good job sir !

Ryusui says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Clever, but punishing beyond belief. I think a more intuitive control scheme would have helped greatly. Also, air form's double jumps don't seem to work properly.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Not a bad little idea at all.

Air form's double jump was kind of inconsistent. Sometimes I wouldn't get the second jump for some reason, and at others I could use it to basically climb up walls. That's just a bug though.

Two real complaints about the gameplay:
1. How big Lequestrius is. If he were a lot smaller then the game would be a lot more manageable and fun. As it stands, jumping around with such a big guy just feels kind of awkward. Plus he would look better as a smaller character, in that style.
2. The fire form shoots flames everywhere and makes it hard to see stuff around you. Plus, the flames gave me the false impression that the flames counted as what would burn the pillars. I'll admit I stood around for a little while, wondering how long the pillars take to burn. Since they're just a visual effect, they probably shouldn't cover so much of the screen.

srakowski says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:04pm

Fun little game, really enjoyed Lequestrius' many states. Well done! :-)

Aaranos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:12pm

Nice game, the wizard looks like it might be three kids stacked under a robe.

Wevel says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Nice mechanics, quite difficult

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:03am

It was great but missing explanations at the beginning

Saiodin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Cool idea having those abilities in different directions. I thought there was too few of the level to see at once which made me die pretty often. The random level generation is great. When dying I once actually was able to walk around with the character in the death screen.

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:44pm

Kudos on the procedural generation in a 48 hour window! Game was pretty cool, very nice concept and use of the theme!

El Cabaro says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Charming game! Unfortunately dodgy collision and controls made it a little weaker but the neat music and generation aspects make up for it.

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:01pm

I really like the random generation. The graphics were cool too. What program did you use for the art? Nice job!

Pixelaborate says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Everything was nice and polished, but things like double jumping were a little hard. Well done!

Garris says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:04pm

I really like the concept, and Lequestrius' graphics are very nice. I did find the controls a little bit clunky in spots and it seemed like there were some wall sticking collision troubles in one jumping section, but the music kept me jamming, and the shapeshifting was fun!

kaovhmf says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:10am

Great game! Besides the jump bugs and the hard movementation, the concept behind the shapeshift mechanic and the puzzles to solve whith it are pretty clear! Nice random maps as well!

Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:36am

Interesting concept, but just way too hard and confusing to me..

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]