Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

dos

by Pibeex - Jam Entry

Remember this game you used to play as a kid?
http://goo.gl/ISb0Rg
It's been taken to the next level.

dos is an endless musical runner about changing shapes: change your polygon to match the shape of the obstacles.

Coming to mobile phones soon!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#4Fun(Jam)4.32
#12Audio(Jam)4.28
#12Overall(Jam)4.29
#56Theme(Jam)4.10
#84Mood(Jam)3.90
#203Graphics(Jam)3.98
#247Innovation(Jam)3.46

Comments

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:19pm

really nice game , i liked the idea http://goo.gl/wNQnYK
play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

pixzleone says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:45pm

My favorite one so far! Awesome job, would love to see a full game out of this!

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:51pm

good and original theme take on an already existing game.

Falak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:51pm

realy cool game ^^

Chikoness says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:52pm

This... This is brilliant! I love it! Very polished, I hope you make it far and good luck on getting the scholarship!

Pibeex says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:56pm

Thanks everyone for the great feedback!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:58pm

I tend to love games that are simple but challenging and this is no exception. Really neat visuals and music, congrats!

JHemmings says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:00pm

This is probably my favourite game so for of Ludum Dare 35, so easy to play and addictive :) I did sometimes find it hard to differentiate between the pentagon and the hexagon, these are probably the two shapes that I failed the most on!

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:00pm

Got nothing else to say but a-mazing!

You're gonna climb really high in the ranks!

Togimaro says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:05pm

Really good gamefeel!
I love the music :D very well done!

(PS I voted for your project. Also, your other games looks very nice!)

dos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:09pm

I like the name!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:15pm

:D hahah very addicting very fast i loved the simplicity of it and the minimalistic graphics, i did something very similar in my entry :P but very different

Pibeex says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Wow, amazing feedback! Thanks again for your comments!
@JHemmings you're right, I'm fixing this up for the next release :)

bvisness says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:21pm

I like this a lot! One thing, though - I think the blur effect looks awesome, but in practice makes it hard to distinguish what shapes are coming at you and what shape you currently are.

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:24pm

I love it! It's like the super hexagon with shape shifting.

Kirzo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Good job, I think this game is my LD game favourite :D

cabezotta says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:32pm

Great game in every aspect! Very polished! Awesome use of the theme! :D

gnerkus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:44pm

The music was hypnotic. I had so much fun playing this.

BoltKey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:57pm

The inspiration by Super Hexagon is clear here. I have seen so many entries with very similar concept, so I hope I can rate this objectively.

It was very enjoyable and replayable, I just HAD to keep replaying to get to that 60 second mark. The music was nice.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Fantastic entry, I enjoyed it a lot and the music added perfectly to the adrenaline kick that I got out of playing it!

Great job and good luck with the scholarship!

Sean says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:12pm

I had low expectations because I thought it would be too similar to Super Hexagon, but it was actually pretty good! The music was great and even if it's conceptually similar it does play quite differently.

A bit of constructive criticism: sometimes when the colours transition, both the background and the outline colours are the same for a split second. It'd be good to avoid that if you could, since it can make it hard to see the next shape before it's too late.

dustyroom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Very good controls and polish. Congrats!

Pibeex says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:27pm

Thanks a lot, everybody!
@Sean you're totally right, added to my to-do list!

lycoris102 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:59pm

I like this :)
It's so cool!

Obvious_San says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Really great rhythm game! I like, that it gets harder and harder over time.
Add more songs or even the option to use your own songs and it's perfect!

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Love the minimalist design and the audio fits perfectly too :D Fantastic job!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Hypnotical with a cool pure aesthetic. Right - it could be very fun on mobile device. Music is frenetic. Well done ++

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:53am

Forgot to rate ^^' Fixed now :)

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:07pm

Really love that game! It is a shapeshifter super hexagon game!Very elegant art and very funny to play. Congratulations!

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:37pm

What a great game! Theme fits perfect!
Sound speed effect make the mood.
Congrats for this very cool game!

QuexD says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Post jam windows download was removed

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:32pm

I had no idea how to play this game for the first few minutes which was really annoying. Once I figured it out though I liked it

kariamoss says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:32pm

A brilliant game, I still play it 2 weeks ago!
It will be a must-have on android

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:02am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]