Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SUBJECT 26

by MSiddeek - Jam Entry

You're trapped in an abandoned underground mental asylum. Will you be able to escape?

CHANGES AFTER DEADLINE
- Removed bad ending bug.
- Fixed colors for HTML5.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Mood(Jam)4.32
#18Overall(Jam)4.20
#50Theme(Jam)4.14
#100Fun(Jam)3.76
#124Graphics(Jam)4.16
#2028Coolness22%

Comments

Jordan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:03am

Enjoyed the dialogs! Fun game.

danbolt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:38am

The story unfolded really well! The initial dialogue explaining the facility felt a bit silly-dystopian, but as you progress and hear more messages by the others, things become much more tense. I enjoyed the experience a lot!

Brice says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:43am

Very good, very moody. I'd like to solve the mysetery of this asylum and AMAZIN, but I got stuck after solving the pink butterfly, couldn't figure out where to go. :-(

But I definitely played this longer than any other LD game!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:08am

Brilliant tutorialization. I thoroughly enjoyed this one.

Somnium says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:12am

A very enjoyable game!

The various texts and clues during the game, combined with the excellent graphics, created a great mood, and the puzzles were interesting, without being frustrating.

This is definitely one of my favorite games so far!

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:57am

This game reminds me flashback and home horror. Great game, with cool graphics. This will be my favourite!

PulsorHD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:02pm

Fun game, good graphics, interesting idea.

redwizard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:03pm

I just love the mistery there. Good job.

guslarsen says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:04pm

Very nice game. I loved art and and sound effects!
The gameplay is very good!
Congrats!

Bobsleigh says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Very good game! The graphics and animations are very well done. The ambiance is very fitting too. Makes you want to know more story wise!

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Really good, I Enjoyed a lot.
Nice graphics and effects.
Good job!

Larzan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:38pm

Wow, mesmerizing, couldn't stop till i finished, very captivating, nice dialogues, good writing, nice art style, good animations, a top game!
A very polished game!

ladybenko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:47pm

Wonderful atmosphere and art *_*

dunin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:11pm

Clever, fun and attractive game.
Simple and good idea, I like the "another world" feeling.
unfortunately, at the orange room, controls became crazy, I don't know if it's voluntary, but it became really unplayable. It's a pity!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Very nice, a good mood to it. The audio was very quiet, even though it added to the atmosphere.
Good job :)

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:40pm

Great game!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:23pm

I made it out! Loved it. Longer than I expected, which was quite nice.

axoona says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Great game, loved the story and the mood. Great job!

PaulHubert says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:06am

Best game yet to test !

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:06am

Sublime

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:17am

Had a lot of fun playing the game! Basically ended up getting all endings, all butterflies, and all bugs!

Would have liked the character to move a little more quickly. Additionally, a few "collect butterflies" mini-puzzles were a bit easy. Later levels in particular felt much easier than earlier ones. Could have built up more complexity as one gets farther into the game.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:40am

I'm impressed with the story. I confess that I'm felt a bit claustrophibic as I was progressing to find the liberty (The sound helped with the immersion)

I didn't find the special butterfly, but I'll play again hehe

Great game MSiddeek!

joemid says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:24am

Really enjoyed everything about this - The perfect pace- I couldn't put it down, and then it was over- all I could think was all of the mystery left behind. I'll be back!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:10am

The animation and visual style reminded me of Another World, which is a good thing. I wish there was some sound, the game would have gained so much more mood, which it is already oozing!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:19am

Love it, I had a great time. I want to know more about AMAZIN.

Pibeex says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:29am

That was amazing! You've done a great job there, MSiddeek.

Naca says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Wooow huge game! I will definitely replay it in order to find and save all the butterflies.

I think you've made a really interesting interpretation of the theme. A man in a mental asylum saying that he can become a butterfly, but only when nobody is watching... and he can indeed. I don't know, the game has kind of a magical feeling that I loved. Congratulations!

P.D. The ending could be a little more expresive :D

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:02pm

This is great! Unfortunately I got stuck and wasn't able to finish it. I love the visual style, and the atmosphere is fantastic. The writing was nice, and I liked the mystery element.

WitchBoys says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:13pm

Very nice graphics and story =)

arhpositive says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:15pm

This was beautiful. Graphics are made with love and it has a really good story that gets you in the mood pretty quick. Congrats on such a nice game!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:33pm

Excellent story and idea!

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Really tightly-designed and intuitive to play. I am not fully sold on some of the plot reveals (Particularly the 'Z' in AMAZIN - that felt really out of left field), but I'm gonna love any game that lets me play as a butterfly. =)

Asturk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Thats really a great game, on of the best i played until now! I really enjoyed the story and the mood this game brings, and its level design. Great job!

Millefey says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:26am

This was brilliant! Sadly there were some things I've missed along the way (I wanted to go back to read those tid-bits and such) but it was a great and engrossing experience. Very atmospheric.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:43pm

Nice calm game, wasn't too good with the puzzles but the butterfly mechanic was really good.

Chikoness says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:20pm

Wow, this is really emotional. Extremely well done with the mood setting, Gameplay was clear and graphic + music/sfx fits the mood very very well. Well done, great job!

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:03pm

I got out, but didn't save any of my pink butterfly friends :) Excellent entry, really impressed with the setting and what was achieved in such a short frame of time!

matt beckett says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:59pm

The smooth animations/gameplay really makes it work - great job!

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:39pm

Enjoyed the graphics and the feel of this game! Well done!

sergicollado says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:05pm

Awesome, I love your game and I really hope you continue this one

gillenew says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:15pm

Nice game enjoyed the ending!

randomhuman says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Really great gameplay and progression, and the art style and music work really well together to create a haunting atmosphere. Well done!

GFM says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:45pm

Amazing game!

I still need to find the secret on the last chapter... and replay it yet again to try and understand the story.

However, even without properly understanding the story, the atmosphere felt amazing!

Gtron says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:03am

I hosed myself early in chapter 5. I got spotted trying to go into the vent to the room with the dragonfly and bucket of red paint, but I didn't change back until I'd already warped into the room. Really really cool though! Nice art, cool story.

norseware says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:01am

Wow. Simply, wow. Great job. The art, concepts, story, everything. I love it all! Nice work :)

tweedle says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:01am

I AM A BEAUTIFUL BUTTERFLY

Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:31am

Fantastic game! Completed, but then comments hint at multiple endings. Will have to play again without trying to kill all the butterflies. Great graphics, mood and story. Very well realized.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:44am

I love this game!!! This will be one of the handful of games that I come back to in order to try and beat! Excellent job!

flummox3d says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:52am

Really interesting game. Atmospheric music and the color scheme brings out that uneasy feeling, that something is goind on behind these walls. This may be my favourite entry so far. Awesome work! :)

Quique says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:47am

Good job!

neontropics says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:50am

Good game, very well done atmosphere and nice progression

I did get stuck before the end - might be my patience's fault more than the game for giving up eventually

managore says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:20am

This was great! I love being able to choose how much or how little to read, and the scraps of paper and signs did a wonderful job of building up the world and the lore. The other butterflies and the flowers were great ways to add more content to the endgame, too! And then of course the graphics were gorgeous, and held everything together really well. Thanks for the game!

luquio says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:43am

wooooww this is an amazing adventure, very well designed, enjoyed it a lot! 5 stars 55555

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:43am

Excellent game overall. Pixelated art was nice, puzzles were interesting and fun to do. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience here. Great work!

Manou says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:46am

Effective gameplay, lot of content, good job!

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:51pm

Superb game! I enjoyed it a lot. The atmosphere was set really well by the subtle music and the bleak gray graphics. The gameplay was quite minimalistic but I enjoyed it a lot and the puzzles always felt fair and balanced. I really liked the small touches as well, such as then going under a shower as a butterfly that is colored by paint, the paint washed off. It may not be much, but little things like that really add to a game, in my opinion. My criticism lies in the story mostly, or more accurately the way it was told. Not to say it's bad, but there are a few things I would have liked better in its presentation. For example, if you made it so the boxes for when you read stuff(notes, scribbles etc.) stayed up until you pressed E again and maybe paused the game while you were reading them I would have gotten a lot more out of them. As a slow-ish reader and not a native English speaker, I guess my opinion is biased, but having as much time as I'd like to read through and take in the notes and such would have helped me get the story a lot more. Other than that, I had a lot of fun and I congratulate you on a great entry to this LD!

urfbound says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Polished and moody entry! Great design and introduction to all of the concepts, which are really clever and innovative while making excellent use of the theme. Had a blast playing your entry, hope you had fun putting it together!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:52pm

Very nice, atmospheric experience. Congrats!

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:18pm

What a unique game! The mood and backstory was very well done. I only suggest that sounds should go with actions.

LeReveur says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:36pm

I really liked this game. Good job !

Oh, and why did you disabled humour quote ? I would give you a good note for this one ! :D

Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:06am

Nice game and also nice usage of the theme. Thanks for the entry

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:49am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

marmpa says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:11pm

Good game.REally interesting concept puzzle time game.

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:06pm

very good, nice mood. well put together game/great pacing.

CtrlAltTea says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Very atmospheric game! Also, impressive how ambitious and polished it is.

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Nice little game. Lots of swapping!

Mr MadCat says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Wow well done. I really like how the game mechanic was introduced step by step without having any "real" explanation. Also really good atmosphere with all the notes sticking around, giving some inside what could have happened, the sound of each transformation, which supported the anxiety. Good job also on choosing the art style which really fits into the whole setting. I really liked this game.

Sloof says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:51am

Very atmospheric. Engaging gameplay and dialog. Well done.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:43am

Such a great entry, loved the atmosphere setup with all the notes and the way you have paced everything with the story unfolding and the player progressing. The change was nice surprise and then addition of paint for colour was also really interesting. A favourite entry so far, nice job.

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Great game! A perfect mood. You got me engaged till the end.

smbe19 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:31pm

That was amazing. I am very happy to see story games like this created in such a short time. The atmosphere was absolutely phenomenal, the music and sounds in the background contributing greatly to it due to their unchanging nature (very efficient). The graphics totally worked for this theme.

I loved reading the notes, it was really a nice touch to build the world.

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Your game is absolutely fantastic. And you look like an user who can provide me with very helpful feedback! could i ask you to play mine? :)

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=12398

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:48pm

Very polished and well-made game. Music and sound effects would add so much more to it. Please consider extending the game with new mechanics and a deeper plot. There is a lot potential here. You hit the mood just right and the butterfly imagery is very beautiful.

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:53pm

I'm not very good at these sorts of games and ultimately couldn't figure out what I was doing beyond reading notes and turning into a moth. But aside from that the mechanics worked really well. Controls were nice, animations were fluid, and graphics were done well, nice job!

studdert249 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:17am

A well-crafted experience, one of my favourite, if not the favourite game I have played from this Ludum Dare

markusfisch says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:19pm

5/5!

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:01am

Great mood, helped by both graphics and music. Gameplay is simple, following the theme, and the puzzles are very interesting. Great job!

docteurSid says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:57am

A really good game !

denycetm says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:18pm

This is the best entry I have played so far. I was very engaged.

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Allot of thought and work went into this, great job.

blinry says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:41am

I'M A BUTTERFLY, HEHEHE! This is a really well-done and fun game, thank you for making it! Good athmosphere! Enjoyable puzzles! Movement felt a bit slow. I missed sound effects.

thebrainfuse says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:16pm

Awesome... this is the kinda game i wanna make some day... would be even better with music... i'm curious as to the tech used... did you roll your own engine or was it off the shelf? thanks!

CliffracerX says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:22pm

The dialogs were interesting and hinted at something bigger than what is seen in the game, and the mood was certainly gloomy. Interesting take on the theme.

I sense there's multiple endings, and I missed however you get the good ending.

ermrk says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 9:04pm

I didn't get to the end, but the puzzles are fun to solve. The messages are interesting. This game has mood!

TheCain says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:52am

I really liked this game. I made all the butterflies happy.

Uson Chen says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:13pm

Good mood and good puzzle design~! Even hidden stuff ! Well done!

syst3m_ERROR says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Awesome.

Ninjanick107 says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:05am

I love the dialogs found throughout the game. I also really love the mood, and how well it fits the theme. Good job!

Weeping Rupee says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:26pm

Awesome. Alot like what I originally envisioned ours to be like..

3rdChance says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 2:57pm

I loved the atmosphere.. it was a lot of fun to solve everything! The letters on the wall make the game even more interesting to explore... The graphics are nice with colors who make the game even more mysterious! Great game =)

SUNFURY says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:05pm

Very interesting game I liked the idea a lot. 5/10

May 6, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Bravo!

rodobodolfo says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:17am

I really really like this game!~One of my favorites!

dcolgan says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:53am

This is it right here. This is the new age of gaming. I am not being ironic in the least. I would rather play something like this than any of hundreds super high resolution first person shooter clones. For everything I have played during the competition, this is the brightest star yet. It is really very impressive the way the atmosphere is so well defined and put together. Simple interactive storytelling is a fantastic means to put together a deep gaming experience. I would love to play a polished version and see what you can come up with.

Knowledge says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Quite good game, sounds are nice (I don't get why you didn't set Audio category).
Only bad thing is that everything is so slow.
This game has one of the best stories I've heard!

seitnerk says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Great Game with cool graphics! I really like the atmosphere.

Ludipe says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:30pm

Really liked the mood and graphics. I would have liked to play deeper puzzles but the one in here do the job pretty well.

Congrats! :-)

kawzar says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:53am

I got stuck and couldn't finish the game (I'm not good at playing games and I was short of time) but I really enjoyed this! Catching theme, original gameplay and nice graphics!

MSiddeek says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 2:42am

Note to future self: this game got 175 votes.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]