Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Can't Drive This - #cantdrivethis

by pixel_maniacs - Jam Entry

Gameplay:
Player 1 => Keyboard (wasd) - Drives the truck
Player 2 => Mouse - Builds the track
(You can play both positions, too)

Check out the game & the highscore here:
http://CantDriveThis.com

We've submitted the game to Greenlight btw and would appreciate your vote!
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=668455587

News here:
https://twitter.com/pixel_maniacs
#cantdrivethis

LiveStream:
https://www.twitch.tv/andifrompixelmaniacs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#40Innovation(Jam)4.08
#115Overall(Jam)3.79
#151Fun(Jam)3.63
#170Audio(Jam)3.61
#171Humor(Jam)3.35
#206Graphics(Jam)3.97
#325Mood(Jam)3.38
#558Theme(Jam)3.33

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:33pm

I played alone, it was a little difficult, but very different use of the theme.

Robber says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:35pm

awesome entry, high quality work, it's a bit hard to play solo..gonna play it later with friends!

hellojed says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:07am

I saw gifs of this on twitter, very happy to play it at last. Incredibly frantic playing as one person, but this would probably be very fun with 2 players.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:10am

That was really fun, can't wait to try again later with my wife. Great work guys!

I'd love for you to check out my game, Tito's Revenge!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

Hyden says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:10am

Kind of hard but also pretty fun. The sounds were fantastic. I find that the truck took a little long to get it going but all in all well done.

justacookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:39am

i also played alone, but i definately want to come back and try to play it with someone. its a super interesting concept to play this game in local multiplayer and this is the first entry with coop i've seen so far. i also like the artstyle, its very refreshing and fitting. you can definately see how much work was put into this project and since it has a ranking list, i will probably go back and play it again tomorrow (its so laaate here :c) thank you for the great entry!

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:49am

Pretty cool concept. Could be a lot of fun with two players.

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:31am

Very nice game! was a little bit laggy on my browser, but loved the idea and I feel if it was sharp it would be an amazing coop =)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:44am

This is great! hope I can get my fiance to play it with me...

bushmango says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:01am

My son and I loved this and played for a really long time!

Phaix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:47am

Really cool game! A little difficult but challenging!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:12am

Seriously innovative game! I actually thought it was like pipedream where you couldn't rotate the blocks but I eventually figured out the right click works.

ottohak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:42am

Its very diffucult, but the best jam entry so far.

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:33am

Awesome game! Two player really fun game to play with friend.

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Tried alone as well, REALLY rough.

Not sure how it fits on the theme overall but damn, that's 48h? lotta work in there it seems.

As a note, I'd allow road selection via mouse on the mousewheel in both direction. With that, it could be simpler to select road and therefore make it possible for single player :)

David Cookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:45pm

It's just fantastic! I've got no player 2 but it's already really fun just by myself (and quite hard ^^). The graphics are and audio are great too!

uvwar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:30pm

Need to try this with a second player but still, its really fun! Nice and polished as well.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:48am

hahahahah this was very fun. I enjoyed crashing my truck very much. Nice job!

blackoptics8 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:48pm

great job on this! The music and sounds match perfectly with the gameplay, the visuals are fantastic but it looks like the theme only fits with the random track pieces.

Gametery says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Even solo it's manageable and fun to play, graphics and audio are outstanding. Nice job!

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:27am

Wow, this was really creative and enjoyable. Great game! Look forward to trying with 2 players

neondx says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:42am

nice damn work!

marmpa says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:12pm

Really nice game. I loved the graphics and the music and the truck was really well made. The timer was a bit long (10sec) but it was not a deal breaker.Good job and i wish you the best of luck :)

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:31pm

Cool idea!!
I really like this game :D

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:47pm

Very interesting game!

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:01pm

Wow, really fresh take on the theme. Incredible job with the graphics and audio, the games feels and is really funny. One of the best ideas I've seen so far! Congratulations!!

joaomosmann says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:31pm

Best entry so far. Congratulations! Had a lot of fun here with my friend.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:36pm

Really cool idea! Local coop is always fun.

endel says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:36pm

Absolutely entertaining. I just find the truck particularly frustrating to control. Some fine adjustments on control/movement might be needed to reduce the frustration. Having a networked multiplayer would be really cool. Congratulations.

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:46pm

Very difficult when playing alone. But works with a friend.
And if you made the music also, well done!

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:05pm

I just kept exploding when I stopped the car. Is there an explosive that goes off, when I am too slow? Otherwise very good use of the theme. I like that multiplayer is optional. I
We also have an optional multiplayer in our game.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:02pm

The idea is great, but it is difficult.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:03pm

Woo, great game!

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:04pm

Pretty neat game. It is really hard but i appreciate the idea of having two screens with diffrent gameplay. The graphics and the controls are well done as well.

juaxix says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:43pm

This game, this is what i was waiting for from this jam :)

avinashd says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:47pm

I was going to say this would make a fantastic post-jam game, but I see you already submitted it to Greenlight :P

Please make a two-player version!

avinashd says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:48pm

"I see it says "Local Co-op" do you plan on making it online too?"
Totally!

I should read the greenlight page...

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:37pm

fun concept, super well put together

RoboNebula says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:13pm

I played this with a friend and we had A GREAT time, love the idea!

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:47pm

I love how you instantly explode when not moving. That never gets old.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:35am

OSOM! Good luck in Greenlight!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:32pm

Great concept ans usage of the theme! A bit unforgiving though, it was very hard to play it alone xp Congrats on your entry!

JuDelCo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Playing alone it's difficult, but at least playable. Fun anyways !

macronoid says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:14am

Amazing idea. I would love to have a partner to play with, it seems to be so much fun.

Great job!

hunttis says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:14pm

Damn, was it ever hard to play this alone :D

I think it might be a nice game just as a "build a level for you to race"-type of game! Kinda brought back "stunts" from DOS-gaming days. The graphics were also a little heavy on my laptop :D

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:09pm

presentation looks fantastic, but again a little difficult to play solo.

Japes says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Wow great quality entry! Menus, music, graphics were all tight. Lots of laughs when playing two-player. Was just super difficult though! Even with a friend.

Odyssey says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:15am

Great concept. I loved the frantic feel!

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:33am

this game was very difficult, but it's a great multiplayer title with a fresh idea.

01101101 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:50am

I often exploded at the start even though I was pressing the movement keys... Maybe the explosion is a bit too sensitive ^^
Other than that, cool idea, well done and a lot of fun! Good luck for the future of this game! :)

Xakkar says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:55am

Difficult and cool game. Good job =)

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Rock'n'roll!! Great game!! Awesome music and so funny ;)

Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Really liked the combination of driving and building the track. Hard to play by yourself but still fun.

monika says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:38am

Observation - impossible to play with a touchpad since it doesn't work at the same time as the keyboard. Keyboard controls would be nice.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:00pm

Hilarious and evil when you play with a single person. I'll review my rating and recomment once I have found/caught another person to play with.

bellum128 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:14pm

Haha very fun, takes a lot of thought to do solo. I like the UI design.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:24am

Great idea! Super fun to build tracks. Sound design was top notch, rare in LD games.

Palys Plays says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Wow! That is such a great game. It was a little bit difficult at the beginning, but then we found out, that we can rotate tiles ;)

May 3, 2016 @ 5:13pm

wow, fantastic! (very hard for a single player). great game, 5/5

Kuupu says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Really good aesthetics, very polished :)

It was hard to play because of performance, really slow on chrome

It took some time fo figure if I need to compete or collaborate with the other player, maybe some work on this relation will be a great improvement

Nice entry! :D

ocarson says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Really tight idea, works well, good little two player game, would be nice to have some kind of single player too.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]