Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Materialistic Shift

by MicroMacro - Compo Entry

Note: some levels are meant to trap you. Press R if you get stuck.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rZEESw5K_cQ

The Materialistic Shift is a game made for Ludum Dare 35, based on the theme "ShapeShift". It was based on an idea my friend threw at me. The point of the game is to complete a maze by going through different coloured and shaped gates. The colour and shape of your character dictate which parts of the map are open to you, and pads are scattered around the map to change your shape and/or colour.

If you do not like the screen shaking when you change your shape, go into the settings and disable screen shake.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#34Theme4.22
#47Overall3.94
#104Fun3.73
#110Innovation3.80
#172Graphics3.70
#265Mood3.23
#297Audio3.07

Comments

TechXSoftware says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:23am

quite fun

aegypticus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:29am

This was awesome! I "love" seeing love2d pushed to the max to create such an awesome and professional looking game. This is one of the few games here that has me engrossed! Great Job! Also, the puzzler mechanic is sweet!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:33am

Fun, I kept overlooking the simplest things, but that was just my fault. Love the graphical style of it.

Yrasin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:14am

Fun and challenging already from the start. Very nice graphics and fitting audio.

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:21am

It's good. Although I'm not really a fan of the genre I can see that some thought has gone into planning this. Maybe the levels may be a bit smaller in the beginning to allow for a bit more motivation. Sadly, background music is missing and I found that the object sometimes hangs at corners. Other than that, a good game.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:35am

Could you please provide a Linux build?

Reisen says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:49am

Good work on the puzzle design, really enjoyed it.

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:01am

Nice art and a very polished game. The movement is a little glitchy though!

ohi12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Great game. One of the few puzzles I liked so far. Really cool, and clever too.

ignacioq says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:56pm

Really Smart! You combine very well the colors and the shapeshifting! congrats!

https://kev9318.itch.io/gatling-defender

Ithildin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Brilliant entry! The take on the theme is clever, gameplay is clear and challenging, and it feels very polished, I can very easily become a full game :)

Congrats!

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:46pm

Great game :)

Hempuli says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Very nice! The puzzles were fairly straightforward but the relaxing pace and sleek look held the game together really nicely. I could see a more complicated version being made out of this.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:49am

This was frustrating at first, but give it a go, this is an amazing game to play.

dvdfu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:55am

Love the simplistic art style. Puzzles had me stumped!

huminaboz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:58am

This is a fun, innovative game and matches the theme well, great job!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Great game, it is unbelievably polished for a Compo game; more so than a lot of Jam games even. Very cool concept and well designed and levels.

The menu is also the nicest one I have come across so far.

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:12pm

Most amazing game i've played !!!! For god sake there's amap editor !!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Nice amount of things to shift your shape, really well made puzzler! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/jRtyhvCwxto

Patomkin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:22pm

Very good and polished game! Really like your take on the theme, the idea and the art style :)

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Had some fun solving these gated puzzles. Would have liked an option to see the entire map. Also, some levels seemed to have dead-ends that, at least from my perspective, served no purpose. Would have liked to see those things removed.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Overall a decent puzzle game. Would have loved some background music though.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:03am

Very cool game. Interesting take on a theme. Level progression quite steep, but still awesome.

BoltKey says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:56pm

I really like the concept, but I don't feel there is too much analysis and planning needed. You know, there were like two points where I had to stop and think for a while, otherwise my moves were pretty much given.

I would like to see perhaps smaller levels which you can see all at once, but with much more possibilities, where you have like 5 different shapes that all look correct at the first sight, but only one of them can get to the finish eventually. Then you would have to actually think about what are you doing, and perhaps even backtrack from the finish to find out the whole solution.

I like the sounds.

Oh shit, there is a map editor. I already managed to discover basic controls (wasd to move, tab to change layer, and mouse wheel to change block type (a bit counter intuitive)). I however have no idea if or how can I play the level. I would love to create some custom levels.

Green Soda says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:51am

nice game :) minimalist artstyle is really good and appealing :D
simple but great! i love the map editor

jk5000 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:23am

Very well done.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Managed to finish all the levels but this was a fun and interesting entry and the puzzles were well thought out.

crazyrems says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Great entry.
Movements are a bit too rigid and little jumps when you switch shape/color are the only little annoying things.
I envy to have my game being only 2MB ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]