Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ShapeCraft

by PabloLeChuck - Compo Entry

In this game, you have to shape shift your aircraft to survive.

Every time you kill an enemy, it drops one of his parts. When you take it, it goes to your inventory. Using R key you can use that part and replace the one you already have (replenishing the life).

When you get hit, you'll notice that a random part will get damaged. If that damage goes below zero, the game tries to replace that part with another of the same TYPE, but only if you have that part in the top of the inventory. So, you must use the parts to get the part you want before it's too late.

Every part gives you bonification/penalization on armor, speed and weapon speed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#346Mood3.08
#452Fun3.15
#636Overall3.00
#732Innovation2.65
#821Theme2.67

Comments

ccglp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:25am

Nice 1948 clone, keep going the work

AngerFork says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:00pm

Fun game, love the part replacement aspect!

Munchy2007 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:05pm

Nice game, takes me back a few years.

Line says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:07pm

I played the web version. Starts off sort of easy. Then it becomes hard almost instantly. I didn't quite grasp what the parts were for or how to build with them. The web version seemed very tight to play, with tiny graphics it's hard to avoid getting shot.

rynti says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:07pm

Cool idea! In my opinion it gets a little bit too difficult too fast though, I would've liked a slower increase in difficulty over time so I have more time to familiarize myself with the controls (The replacement control is a little bit fiddly to me).

PabloLeChuck says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:09pm

Thanks for playing guys! it's very difficult because after the 10th wave or so there's nothing more to see :(.

EstrelSteel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:23pm

The game isn't working for me on the ludum dare page because the white space was off the screen. But I was able to play on the linked web version.

FerraWare says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Fun game, pretty hard though :P

Moving the plane with the mouse would be a great feature!

cabezotta says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:40am

Nice! Great work!

kev9318 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:39am

now i feel nostalgic, great replacement system!

ignacioq says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:39am

I like the Art! well done!

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Don't usually play airplane games but i enjoyed it and loved the collecting parts!

CliffracerX says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:57pm

I'm god-awful at bullet hells, but this seems fun enough anyway. The auto-equipping aspect didn't seem to be working.

kleinzach says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:05pm

Enjoyed it, but when making repeated sounds like this I always like to vary its pitch, volume, or something so that it won't be so grating.

SuperIzzo says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Nice and challenging gameplay. There are many things I like about this entry, but personally I find "nice game", "thumbs up" and positive comments in general to be not as useful, so I'll point out a few problems.
* the game over screen: there is no restart button, and on gamejolt I have to resit an ad every time I want to replay the game
* On the other hand the ludum dare frame is cropped at the white bar and it wasn't entirely obvious where I was supposed to press to start. Also it doesn't "eat" the keyboard input, and "space" just scrolls me down.
* there is no metric for progress or achievement. As a player I do not feel rewarded for playing and I do not know whether I am improving at the game or not.
* blue and light pink bullets on a light blue background. Individually bullets stand out on their own, but when you try to focus on the big picture (as you do in top-down shooters) they blend. There are few ways to improve the visual contrast - different colors, sharp outlines and/or making them blink.
* discrete collision detection. When the frame rate drops bullets start moving through their target, I know this is not a trivial issue to solve during the compo, but it's worth a mention.
* another one of those is - if you tab out the game runs in the background, but not entirely, some parts of the logic (like shooting, or maybe the collision) are not resolved and it makes it possible to skip section of the game, which is also how I know that it has no end :)
* finally, splitting the attention of the player on 4 health bars instead of one makes it difficult to track how alive you are. I suggest also adding a more pronounced health bar widget which displays the lowest percentage (plus/minus maybe a small fraction of the others).

Anyways, nice game, good luck :)

PabloLeChuck says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:52pm

Thanks guys! SuperIzzo: a lot of great feedback! thanks for playing!

Septi says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:20am

Hella difficult, hella fun :)

marvalgames says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:38am

Very cool with sharp simple graphics and gameplay.

yuigoto says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:38am

Nice retro-styled shooter! The part-replacement mechanic is a really nice mechanic too, auto-replacing completely damaged is also a +1! :)

The graphics are just right, but if you happen to add more "juice" into them it's would be awesome (parts changing according to enemy colors, shapes, etc.).

I swear I though the item "get" sound was a "meow"! :P

Nice entry! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]