Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Planet-0

by Dreschler - Jam Entry

You play with a baby alien that is trapped into a human spaceship! But the humans have no idea what you're capable of... NOT YET!

Unfortunatly, our game is not finished, but we'll keep working on it, and we'll post it on twitter once it's done.

-----------------
(For a better experience, use a gamepad :D)

KEYBOARD CONTROLS:
D - Go fowards;
A - Go backwards;
W - Jump;
Space + WASD - Teleport (press space button and then chose where to go)
E - Interact
F - Combeck to normal, when you're transformed
TAB - Pause game (or get help);

Thanks for playing our game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#344Humor(Jam)2.82
#393Overall(Jam)3.39
#411Audio(Jam)3.12
#421Graphics(Jam)3.55
#425Theme(Jam)3.49
#443Mood(Jam)3.23
#557Fun(Jam)3.11
#658Innovation(Jam)2.92

Comments

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:16pm

good game!!

ponywolf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:04pm

Couldn't get it to launch in chrome... if you get it fixed ping us on twitter @ponywolf and we'll try it again. Good luck!

Dreschler says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:07pm

ponywolf, try download link, thank you

Dreschler says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:07pm

ponywolf, okay! I'll try it out! I had some problems during the process of posting the game (too nervous I think haha), but I'll try to fix it. Thanks!

Rey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:20pm

the walking speed could be increased a bit to progress faster and it is a bit confusing which control is used for which action. the graphics and story are really nice, great game! :)

Dreschler says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Rey, thank you! Yeah, we had problems with the keyboard controls, that's why you would get a better experience using a gamepad :D but, we'll fix these problems soon. (And about his walking speed, I totally agree with you haha, I'll tell the programmers)

unit684 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:31pm

Nice game, really good art and some brutal animations! The music also fits nicely. The disguising mechanic is fun too. A bit short but took me a few attempts to avoid getting caught.

Dreschler says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:34pm

unit684 Thank you! Yeah, we "decided" to make just a sample of the game we wanna produce in the future haha Thanks for rating!

ketura says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:52pm

Instantly needing to restart just because you've been caught is a pet peeve mechanic of mine, and it's no better in this one. The movement is really clunky; why would I ever walk when I could sprint? Why did I need to get the eyeballs?

Oh, and I wouldn't waste any time on the writing. The mechanics needed polishing, and quite frankly the "story" was distracting and very, very poorly written. Would have been preferable to have nothing at all in that respect.

Graphics and audio are alright, but gameplay trumps all. Make that your focus.

SeaMonsterGD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:55pm

Good game with a well made theme. The kill animations are a really cool addition and the stealth / disguise idea is an interesting take on the theme.

The enemies kill us really fast, if we could have a quick sing and a bit of time before they shoot us maybe we could have the time to react, by using the teleport for example.

Good stuff !

glitchu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Good work, great visuals and interesting take on the theme :)

kostasvs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Pretty good, restarting the whole thing every time I messed up was sort of annoying but the game is quite nice overall!

freeloader says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:06pm

The controls were very confusing at the start, but in the end it was a good game, GJ.

rjhelms says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Cool! The art style here is really nice, and it's a nice take on the theme.

testzero says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Cute game, good graphics and animation, fuck the controls. They're not intuitive at all. Felt like I needed to have the cheat sheet on screen the whole time. Also, you should put a way to skip the shitty slow text crawl at the start of the game. If there is a way to skip, YOU SHOULD PUT IT ON SCREEN.

Dreschler says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:30pm

testzero I totally agree with you haha! Thanks for the feedback!

Titangea says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:13am

I like it, at a first time was a little difficult to understand the controller, but after a while it was easy to learn. Interesting references.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:22am

Cute, funny...I love the general premise, though it felt at times like the teleport ability was a little glitchy. I think maybe it would be wise to change it so you use the left stick to choose your direction, treating LT as a toggle for walk/teleport mode?

Also, I don't know if this is deliberate, but you do know that 4,700BC is in the ancient past, not the distant future, right? XD

andyman404 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:24pm

I kept forgetting the controls, but I enjoyed the teleportation and mechanics! I like the part there you knock that object onto the scientist. Sneaking up on a guard and biting him is fun too! Well done!

Dreschler says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:34pm

Ryusui Woops! Can you believe everyone who tested the game let it pass? Thank you for that! haha You know, 3 days without sleeping, result in things like that hahaha. I'll fix that.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:48pm

Nice game, interesting take on theme, and graphics are really cool !
Well done !

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:20am

Excellent Idea, Only issue is that I warped into a wall and was stuck.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:40am

Cool game. Seems like a pretty complete experience too. I found a bug where if I leave the first room as the alien instead of the guard it will move to the next screen but my character won't be there so it soft locks the game.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:42am

I enjoyed crushing that scientist too much.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:36am

Really liked the way you eat someone and assume their form. Good take on the theme. Excellent and clear graphics. Really nice job.

Spiria says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:56am

Nice artwork. The UI is polished. The "dancing" guards are fun to watch and so is the eating animation. The music goes well with the cartoonish game style.

djfariel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:27am

One of the better entries I've played. Good job.

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:27am

Good job on the game! The concept was fun, the music was great, and it fit the theme perfectly! The visuals really fit the game, although at some points, the animation felt quite a bit choppy! Overall, incredible job!

mar3k says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:47pm

Maybe bit too short, but other than that it was a nice game! Good job

marmpa says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:56pm

Really nice game. Though i was stuck on the second room cause i accidentaly ate that guard. Also dont know if you intent this but you can jump and then teleport up which made me stuck on the second room on that bar. That said it was a really good game and i really liked the way you trasformed.The music in my opinion was not to relevean to the game but was really nice cause it was immersive. The tab to help was really cool cause in my own i would never had figured the controls out.Opinion aside it was a realy good entry.

zoeinfp says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:10pm

Very nice! There is some bugs but well done it's the best game I have played yet!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:33pm

This is awesome. You did an amazing job of building the sense of a big world and an adventure that's varied and interesting. Really impressive for such a short development time.

I had a lot of fun beating this, though it was frustrating to get reset all the way to the beginning when you die. Checkpoints would help a lot.

Great work!

Krammetje says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:37pm

I enjoyed the game. The controls feel a bit akward sometimes, but might be because I used keyboard. I also liked the graphics and audio, it really sets the mood.

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:08pm

The graphics are really awesome. Great game

Fabraz says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:42am

Short but sweet!

drazil100 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:47am

nice looking space.. good idea. reminds me of the old Critters movies

ChronoCrab says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:50am

Wow, this was good. Reminds me of the excellent Spider-Man on the SNES. Great action, great controls, music, graphics...really good. Congrats to you all!

gelisam says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:41pm

Weird bug: in the first room in which we jump over blocks, if I teleport up, eat the guy, go through the right door, then back left, the game locks with a black screen.

tentacode says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Cool graphics, could not understand that you have to press space + ad to teleport at the exact same time. Also not azerty friendly :)

Dreschler says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Heil, guys! I know that the controls are a bit messy and all, we struggled a lot with this, wouldn't be a nice idea to help us giving tips about wich buttons would be nicer to play with? Thank you all!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Was a bit too easy and the enemy AI could be a lot better but I like the concept and the teleporting/blinking ability was pretty cool to use.

phoenix1987 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:55pm

That is really well done and polished. Fantastic job! I enjoyed the eating animation :)

Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:41pm

Good game!

Aaranos says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 9:34pm

I picked up my controller to play since I saw controller buttons on the menu. But then once you get in it tells you to press space to skip, it needs control consistency.

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Nice little game :)

Allorius says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Strange and buggy game, but i like the idea of eating people, so why not give a it a vote.^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]