Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

OBfu

by zowesiouff - Compo Entry

OBfu is a puzzle-game around spiderweb diagrams. Go through the 11 levels (the 5th will AMAZE you ... oh wait ... who am I kidding? all of them will amaze you).

Use your mouse to manipulate each "branch" of the spiderweb by clicking on it (and keeping pressed).

glhf

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#12Innovation4.31
#25Theme4.26
#64Graphics4.09
#273Overall3.43
#302Mood3.16
#406Humor2.36
#769Fun2.66

Comments

KodingNights says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:50pm

Did not understand how to get past the 5th one...

MintArcade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:06am

I'm stuck at 5 too, but concept is still very original.

DieWithDustin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:31am

I enjoyed how hard it was

Willsr71 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:42am

This should be easy... nope. Stuck on 5.

Halleflux says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:44am

An interesting concept, but it's been made far too frustrating to play well. I got up to level 8 before giving up. A big part of this is that you have to replay the previous level before you get another shot at the new one, which is completely unnecessary, and only serves to alienate the player in the end.
Apart from that, though, it really is a neat idea. I see plenty of potential in it, all you need to do is some refinement.
I really like the graphical style, too.
Overall, well done!

M2tias says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:48am

I like the game, but I can't see how you can get past the 6th level...
Great graphics!

Wan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:00am

Haha that's the first game I've ever seen where I get punished by having to replay the previous level! I reached level 6 twice but went back to 4 each time.

Honestly this "go back and train on easier levels" thing could have been interesting if used carefully, but here it's game breaking: usually in puzzle games the idea is that you take your time to figure out what's going on, but here every time we reach a new puzzle, we only have 2 seconds to analyze it.

2 seconds is very small for a puzzle where literally anything could happen, and especially for level 5 when even losing 1 second before acting will make you lose. Not mentioning that without some training, 2 seconds is not even enough to play, say level 5 right after you lost level 6.

Too bad because the art style is awesome and the game started pretty well! I would love to play a post-compo version where this issue is fixed.

For your next game I suggest having a friend play through it to see this can of issues in advance!

Congrats to Halleflux who reached level 8 btw, that must have required quite some nerve and patience ;)

hijomo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:05am

this is a unique idea. I really like the interpretation of the theme.

zowesiouff says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:25am

I did a (one character ;) ) update to not go back to the previous level, I hope you will accept it. If not, well ... check out lvl 11, it will amaze you!

zowesiouff says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:27am

Oh and I will add a playthrough on youtube at the end of the LD for the curious ;)

mikedirl says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:30am

Enjoyable, I found it quiet difficult.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:35am

Really interesting game. Marking seems to be a bit off. Feel like I'm fighting the game a bit. Great look and concept.

sirtetris says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:39am

Nice puzzle game!
Level 6 took me a while to get, which is why I had to do level 5 over and over and over again (getting thrown back a level in case of failiure was mean! -.-). Got though in the end but I respectfully decline the reward. ;P

celmore1001 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:39am

Nice, innovative.

oal says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:50am

Quite different, but still interesting. Innovation points to you.

_beta says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:02am

Great concept, but quite hard

Populous90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:22pm

Looks great! Excellent art.

josemorval says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:54pm

very original! love the math env :)

sndr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:37am

Nice little game!!!
I have to admit it took me a while to figure out the goal of each level. I initially thought that I had to exactly match the green shape and I spent like 10 minutes quite frustrated because I though I was matching it exactly but I was not getting to level 2, lol.
Then I just tried clicking forever on the branches, and voilà! Next level. From then on, I simply enjoyed!

The art and background maths animation suits the theme perfectly and the mechanics are pretty smooth :)

pyokoanarogue says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:24pm

This game man ... this game ... i saw myself reflected in it ... it taught me some deep stuff about myself ... deep stuff man.(I loved it !)

luquio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:28pm

I was scared at first when I saw all that math flying out of my screen! But then i started playing and really enjoy such a ingenious and creative game design! cheers

Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:05pm

stuck on level 6 too... this game is sick ;) but very pretty.

blinry says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:17pm

I'm afraid I didn't really enjoy this. "Expanding" the spider web was veeeery slow in some of the first levels. Didn't see how I could progress further. I probably missed some core mechanic. I love the graphic style, though!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:01am

I like redirection to "Unresolved problems" after all! Great game though conceps of different rules on different levels seems a bit.. Misleading? Overall good entry and nice take on theme.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Interesting games! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/Rc53wZClozM

Gollunk says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 4:23pm

Great game !

Gollunk says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 4:24pm

Stuck on 13

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]