Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Trionic

by djfariel - Jam Entry

Trionic - The shapeshifting robot fighter. Play as the Trionic while on a mission to protect your homeworld from an incoming hostile facility. Find the power source and destroy it to succeed, but be weary - the facility is well protected.

Our downloads are all on our itch.io page for this game. You can access the Windows, OSX, and Linux builds there.


Please let us know what you think either here or on our itch.io page.

The game is built in Unity 5.3.4f1. Additional software includes Audacity, FLStudio, Gimp, and PyxelEdit.

Libraries used:
Rewired
SpriteTile
Sprites and Bones

Disclaimer: As per our usual submissions, we do not have a way to test Linux and OSX builds. With feedback we might be able to get things going for you, but no promises!

THERE IS A POST-LUDUM DARE BUILD AVAILABLE on itch.io for windows x64. This version fixes a known but rare crash, and does a number of other things. Please do not use this version for rating our game for Ludum Dare.
Changelog for that version is here:
Tail no longer collides with terrain.
View area is larger (so the player is smaller and can see more).
Fixed a crash where missiles colliding with eachother would cause an infinite loop.
Missiles no longer collider with enemies or missiles.
Disruptor waves now populate themselves slower.
Disruptor waves no longer move through the air.
Flying mode sparks now spawn on constant collision rather than only on the point of collision.
Player getting stuck in/on terrain happens much less or never.
Added skippable game start animation.
Fix Rewired bug with opening animation. (Couldn't reproduce so cannot confirm it's fixed.)
Fixed bug where end game timer didn't show correct time if failed.
Boss laser now works. :(
Boss laser damage toned to a reasonable amount.
Door open/close sounds added when they are visible.
Added glowmaps to the player's gun in all forms.
Controller now works on main menu (press A (action 1) to start).
Health now drops from enemies on occasion.
Added health pickup sound.
Shield no longer collides with terrain.
Increased player speeds overall by about 1.5.
Energy use / gain values tweaked to be more fast paced.
Changed keyboard cycling from I/O to Q/E.
Walker can now aim and shoot for primary fire.
Fixed bug where muzzle flash wouldn't show when facing left.
Added pause menu in game.
Added toggle for mouse-look or joystick-look in game.
Added volume sliders to pause menu in game.
Added tutorial button at the start of the level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#126Graphics(Jam)4.15
#139Audio(Jam)3.70
#186Theme(Jam)3.80
#265Overall(Jam)3.55
#339Mood(Jam)3.36
#370Innovation(Jam)3.26
#423Fun(Jam)3.27
#606Humor(Jam)2.32

Comments

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:34am

The graphics are beautiful. Great work!

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:42am

I like it!

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:46am

Graphics, songs, sound everything is awesomely well put togather.

All my 5s :D

d3garcia says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:03am

Wanted to try on OS X but couldn't download, got stuck between 20 and 32 kb of download :S

EighthNote says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:06am

Wow! Really excellent.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:07am

The music in this game was awesome. i couldnt for some reason figure out how to jump across that one big spiked area.

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:13am

Tried on linux but game won't download

djfariel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:14am

@jcmonkey You can use your shield to make yourself wider to cross it. Or you can just fly!

djfariel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:16am

@d3garcia && @zaywolfe
I just tested both non-windows downloads and they're working here. Best I can suggest is to try again. It might be a problem on Itch.io's end, but unfortunately I can't open the files to see if they're working.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:56am

Very nice work here! Visuals are great as well as sound and music. I really enjoyed playing this...needs a pause menu, though.

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:28am

Really addictive and ridiculously hard!

David Cookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Impressive graphics and game overall! Love to charge the big cannon, it's like a kamehameha :p

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:19am

I love the art for the main robot, and the music is great as well. The controls feel a bit awkward on the keyboard though.

GrimGary says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:11am

Hahaha! I suck at your game. BUT! That doesn't mean it isn't any good. Just that I'm not. Overall, even though frustrating for a keyboarder like myself I had fun trying to figure it out!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:00am

Love that tail. Good game. I couldnt get through that door though :( I thought i found the switch but it just wouldn't open. Maybe i missed another one

Fierceshadow says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:12am

Manage to get my tail stuck in the door at the start ;(

Avon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:51am

There are several things I love about this game, the art is great, a lot of good sound effects, the game idea is great, and I love details like the tail, and the metallic sound and spark when you knock against a wall. The shapeshifting mechanics with the different abilities are also great.

The game is very difficult though. Partly its because your character is so big relative to the screen, and most of the enemies shoot at you from outside the screen, its hard to see whats going on. It's also annoying not to be able to shoot at an angle, especially when so many enemies can, and often are at a different height than you. Using keyboard + mouse instead of keyboard alone could potentially be a lot easier.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:43am

Nicely detailed graphics! It feels a bit annoying to be shot at by enemies from off the screen, though.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:59am

Graphics nicely drawn, cool sound, interesting concept and mechanics. I loved the different abilities for each shape.

Great job! ;D

maleero says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:10am

I've played this longer than any other submission so far. Great game, nice work!

studdert249 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:51am

Loved the music and art. Solid game nice work!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:20am

Looks good but is hard to control on keyboard, I had to guess all of the controls because I could not remember them from the main menu. I recommend putting them on this page so people can have it up beside it.

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:02am

Graphics and sound totally set the mood and everything looks beautiful! Really cool game!

rjhelms says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:14am

This is really cool - great art and sound, and the level design does a good job of balancing the different shapes.

It's a little on the difficult side, but I think that works well for a game like this.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:48am

Good job, I really like it.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Well done, especially on the graphics, atmosphere and audio. However the game was immediately too difficult; the only tutorial for any kind of problem solving was die-and-learn like dark souls, which some people are a fan of I suppose (eg dark souls) but even if that's the path you want to take I would recommend being a little forgiving at least towards the beginning.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:25am

Nice concept! Graphics, mechanics and audio are great (especially the tail)! But it's too difficult! It's hard to aim at enemies and to dodge things, including the spikes xp

Anyways great entry!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:29am

Very nice game. Not easy to control though.

mightymarcus says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:20am

Reminds me a little bit on SNES Mech Warriors.
I like the alternative weapons/shield for each transformation.
It makes fun to explore the map trying the different shapes. I tryed to kill the boss left above and failed, but I'll try again.

The atmosphere is very nice. It fits all together well.

neondx says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:18am

awesome arts, controls and level design are not that clear

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:57pm

Gonna be honest, I couldn't find the door in the first level. I went back to find the door after finding the button and it wasn't open, so I think it must be a different door. I think this is probably me and not your design. Maybe a minimap would be nice for noobs like me though? Lol. I love this game. It is SO well polished. The idea is solid and so is it's execution! The graphics look great, the music is awesome, the mechanics are intuitive and fun. Well done! P.S. PLEASE make a post-LD version. With some more time I could really see this selling on Steam.

Dreschler says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:36pm

Wow, supernice! Which program you use for the animations?

djfariel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:46pm

@Dreschler We use Pyxel Edit for the base sprite work and animations, and we use Gimp for the effects.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:12am

A difficult and unforgiving game, but with reliable game mechanics, meaning that you can reasonably learn each obstacle. That doesn't mean I managed to unlock all 5 doors though, a crash ended my 20th+ death and I decided to call it.

I liked the three forms, and felt they were distinctive enough, although i didn't understand the use of the special ability on the vehicle (shield was pretty obvious though).
The models and sfx looked great but I wish the mech and helicopter was a bit better animated with respect to their movement.

Overall a very good entry.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:35am

Best graphics I've seen so far, awesome take on the theme too. Awesome job! :)

Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:58am

First off I'll start by saying this isn't my kind of game. I played a lot of games similar to this when I was a kid flicking through PS1 demo disks, and I was never a fan. But I could and can appreciate the game you've made, since it's definitely solid and I encountered no bugs.

The shifting gameplay is really quite fun, although the actual designs of the mech don't really symbolize what they were very well, I.E. I took ages to realize which was the flying one and what the wall-climber one did.

I played it briefly on stream @ 1:30:45 : http://www.hitbox.tv/video/991443

WizzardMaker says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:16pm

Nice game, had fun

Fabraz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:55am

Crazy animation art style! Oo

Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:34pm

Wow! Awesome graphics, I really like the shapeshift theme here. Well done!

Adipson says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:50am

nice ambiant !

Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:28pm

Good game with nice graphics, effects and interesting gameplay with robot morphing.

Kerdelos says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:32am

Wow. Beautiful graphics indeed. The music is also really catchy and creates a real mood. I have some critics though. The gameplay is sometimes a bit slow and the normal form isn't really useful. But once again, great game!

May 2, 2016 @ 4:15pm

I very much like the graphics! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/CILyMGd9ZnE

Tex Killer says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:43pm

Very solid entry! I would never guess this game was made in only 72 hours. Looks and plays very professional.

It took me some time to get used to the transformations and to explore the game, but I guess I just suck. I've found 3 arrows to open doors, but I could never return from them without dying. All of my comments on small things from the game seem to already be on the list of fixes, so I'll just omit them. Congratulations for the very high quality entry!

By the way, I'm sorry that my entry crashed for you. I am yet trying to figure out why that happened, but thank you for the feedback! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]