Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapeful World

by Jigosystems - Compo Entry

It is a basic game where you can flatten the terrain with the big button in the world. That is pretty much it. :P This is my 2nd ludum dare and I didn't have much of an idea for shapeshifting, but it's better to try than not try at all. :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#77Graphics4.00
#605Audio2.00
#667Mood2.59
#884Theme2.39
#905Overall2.45
#1579Coolness39%

Comments

terop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:38am

Nice graphics. Camera movement with mouse responded very accurately, but was still difficult for me. But good job anyway.

Hyden says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:44am

As a lover of low poly I had to try this. Looks gorgeous :D
- Hyden

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:44am

The low poly models were really well done.

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:53am

I like the art style for the game. Everything seems to fit in to the surrounding area and nothing feels out of place. The massive sign above the red button was a nice touch!

adamprack says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:29am

This was really nice low-poly art and the moving clouds were a nice touch. Obviously there wasn't a whole lot else to it all, but you made a nice environment so thanks for that!

WojtaW says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Lovely graphics.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:31pm

Like the graphics but i dont see any gameplay.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:27am

Pretty nice poly look ;) wish there was more to this game, though! And did I see a Lion King easteregg? :D haha good stuff

plaguespark says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:01am

I walked around shitting bricks! Slenderman must be proud of you

psychomonster says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:53am

You should put more content and gameplay elements to this wonderful looking game. I like foxes (and owls by the way) ... very nice !

SengiG says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:11am

Hi, it's a nice thing you uploaded it in anyway. I believe next time you'll get better gameplay, this time - you did well with low poly models. Keep it up man!

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:07pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

ployer says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:43pm

like the simplistic sart. well done

grayhaze says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Felt more like a tech demo for a game engine than a game itself, but the graphics were very pretty. Not sure if there was anything else to do other than flatten and unflatten the terrain. I'd like to see a game made with this engine! :)

Rulrite says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:10pm

I'm really glad you decided to submit this, even if you didn't have much of an idea - like you said, it's better to try than not at all! That, and the world you've made is gorgeous - I adore the graphic style, especially with the foxes (aww). And is that a Lion King reference I spot, or is it a sheer coincidence...?

Thanks a lot for sharing this with us! You've got a solid basis for a game; hopefully you'll be able to make great use of it.

ChronoCrab says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:30am

Nice graphics and it was neat. Definitely could have used sound and a couple of mechanics though. It was extremely laggy on my machine.

Strike says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:33am

Now I'm just crying hoping that there was a complete game with this art. This look too gorgeous to be left like this. Anyway, I really salute your effort. Also, the music is off by default and if I never went to the options out of curiosity I would have missed on the nice music. You should have competed in the humour category just for the absurdity of the big red buttons. You could have got some stars there ;) I just found the sensitivity of the camera a bit too high. But that one is probably hell to adjust as everybody have a different mouse and settings.

euske says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:03am

This is a beautiful scenery.

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:43am

It looks great :D

Jigosystems says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:30pm

For anyone wondering, this will be a real game and will have a story to it. It just will not be like this, however the assets and art style will be the same. *hint* *hint* :)

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Low poly foxes. :3

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]