Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Crush Your Friends

by nextreality - Jam Entry

Crush your friends is a single-screen local multiplayer game, best enjoyed with a friend. Left Player press Z, Right player press M. Use your reflexes to hit the yellow blocks from their perches, and watch as it satisfyingly crushes your friend! Do you enjoy crushing your friends with a half-ton brick? Then this is the game for you! We hope you enjoy Crush Your Friends! Made in Unity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#132Humor(Jam)3.46
#294Fun(Jam)3.40
#378Audio(Jam)3.18
#549Innovation(Jam)3.05
#600Mood(Jam)3.03
#744Overall(Jam)3.02
#754Graphics(Jam)2.98

Comments

ChatPion says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:52am

I can't vote now, as controls aren't working for me. But music sounds nice and graphics are cool too.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:16pm

pretty good game i liked it haha, this was a satisfying game lol
play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Neat little game, simple but works

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:18pm

This game is lacking gameplay depth, as besides spamming the key you're assigned to in hopes of not being crashed is the only mechanic of playing. I feel like you could do more in three days, and that with a bunch of additions to gameplay, this could become a pretty interesting game. However, this doesn't have anything to do with the theme of the game jam for all I've noticed, which is "Shapeshift".
The graphics and sound are pretty nice though- even though the music is bit boring after a while.

Allthebees says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:55pm

This was way too much fun! For such a simple concept it's great, and the graphics and music are quite good. Excellent work!

adsilcott says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:01am

Cool idea! I'd like to play this with a friend!

retrograze says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:06am

I like the game, just wish there was some way I could play it without a buddy. Great sound, great gameplay, cool idea. Still wish it had tied into the theme, but since you don't even have that as a rated category I guess you didn't even plan on that hahaha! Still, a cool little game.

kallotec says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:17am

Great little competitive game! Good work :)

ChummyWinds says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:31am

Fun to play with a friend. Got heated. lol Nice work. I like that you took the theme shapeshift literally as shifting a shape. ^_^

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:38am

haha thanks! Glad you liked it :D

andyman404 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:41am

Wow this game really tests the players' reflexes. Well done!

state550 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:06am

It may be simple but it kept me entertained.

Croze says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:06am

Pretty fun lol, played with my roommate. I like the graphics, this would be a cool mini game in collaboration with other mini games as a post-mortem project

maartene says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:52am

Cool concept! I like how sometimes the paddles really speed up.

Unfortunately requires a second player to get the most out of. Playing solo is a bit strange.

Note some people remark that this game has no tie to the theme. I tend to disagree: you are indeed *shifting shapes* around.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:00am

I don't understand how does the game relates with the Theme, but i did have lots of fun playing it. Competitive, simple and quick, perfect to play and enjoy with friends. Music is also cool, graphics nice but could've been more worked out. Nice Job!

Fumiko says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:15am

love the sprites and had a lot of fun playing the game with a friend

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:45am

HA HA HA!!! I love this kind of games!! A simple mechanic enought to get fun with friends :)

davidkanc says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:03pm

Hi! I think your game has the perfect fit for a jam: simple controls, easy to understand and funny. Music and art are very good too. The only lack is the jam theme, not so much shapeshifting here hehehe. Congrats!

Cowa says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Very funny. Simple but efficient!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Never wanted to kill my friend so bad

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Great game mate I'm gonna play this with my friends for hours nice work :D

BarkingCat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Jenga Rumble! Simple and nervewrecking with a silly friend trying to also pull your hands off the keyboard :D

Marc F. says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Cool idea, fun, neat graphics and sound. Theme came a bit short though

Gametery says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:55pm

Simple but fun, music is great. Maybe different arena designs would have giving it a bit more depth.
Nevertheless great work!

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:14am

Simple but effective! Good job, please add a CPU as well.

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Fun, funny and cute! Nice work!

ragnta says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:39pm

Nice game, but I missed the single player mode :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]