Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Geomatrix

by remiv - Compo Entry

A ball cannot go everywhere. But when your form change, the way you move change with it...

Use the arrows to move, enter to restart a level.

Tanks to Shiro Game and Motion twin for hosting me for the the compo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#389Innovation3.22
#416Theme3.44
#459Fun3.14
#522Audio2.49
#532Overall3.14
#581Humor1.86
#618Mood2.69
#753Graphics2.47

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:07pm

your game wont load, its jusr a black colored page

Marsouin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:07pm

Good concept, gg !

hugheth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:23pm

You have a syntax error in the shapeShift function due to a missing curly brace after the function() on line 37 of play.js. Fix it soon please, I really want to try this game :D

Saymon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:26pm

game isn't loading for me

remiv says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:35pm

hugheth: thanks. It seem it depend of browsers...

It should work now.

Red15 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:40pm

Was able to play by fixing manually in play.js:37 to
game.time.events.add(Phaser.Timer.SECOND * .25, function() {this.blocked = false}, this);

Red15 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:43pm

Good fix

knason says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Cool idea, i really like puzzle games and this had a new interesting touch to it. Thx! great job!

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Really nice game! :) The controls are neat and the puzzles well done!

Keep up the good work!

TP2k says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Nice puzzles and good mechanics for the different shapes.

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:24pm

Worked fine for me on firefox. *shrug*.

spiffl says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:29pm

WOW THIS IS GOOD!!! great concept and very well executed. if i had a criticism, it might be that in my opinion the most interesting form (the square) is introduced in the first level! on one hand that makes the game immediately interesting, but on the other hand it means all the future transformations are underwhelming. regardless, great job!

kostasvs says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:35am

Well designed and interesting game! Music got tiring after a while for me, but had fun playing overall

Fakirgnome says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:54pm

Pretty fun mechanic, which would make for some great puzzles! I feel like the levels itself could be compacter, so the player has to think more and wait less. I enjoyed it!

JOK says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Cool concept and well executed. Nice feeling in the gameplay and smart level design! Keep up the good work!

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:47am

It#s quite challanging, I really like the gameplay! Nice

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:56pm

It's realy difficult!

Feng says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Good concept, the real challenge is my browser scrolls if I press up/down keys :D

grayhaze says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Interesting spin on the "shapes with powers" theme. I had a lot of fun, but found myself struggling to progress on the third level. Really good for a competition entry though, and definitely something I'd play if it were expanded into a full game. Well done! :)

pjimmy says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:36pm

It's challenging, took a while to master the controls, but cool

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:44pm

Nice concept. Sometimes really hard, need both skill and strategy.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:41am

Wow, this is really clever. The music and sound effects are a bit annoying, but the concept and the puzzles are great. Minor gripe: it's hard to tell from the coloured rectangles what effect they will have; perhaps some kind of icon would have been better.

davor10105 says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:44pm

good stuff, really enjoyed that!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]