Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Rambling Pillars

by Zeriver - Compo Entry

Game made under 6 hours. To be honest i was pretty occupied this weekend plus theme is not really to my liking. I just wanted to participate and who knows, maybe someone will enjoy playing my game : )

Song name: Duelyst OST - Battlemap (Vanar)

Controls:
WSAD - movement
Spacebar - reset level
Escape - quit game

Update
I apologize for problems with my game, it appears some people couldn't play my game because of instant crash. Hopefully now everything will work fine for everybody.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#422Audio2.79
#448Mood2.96
#537Fun3.00
#596Innovation2.90
#609Graphics2.74
#664Overall2.97
#677Theme3.03

Comments

Casey Jordan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:32am

Can't open this. Gives me an error. >>

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:08am

It give me an error too :(

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:15pm

cool game, good idea and nice use of theme
play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

Supr says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:19pm

"the game crashed". Can't play this :(

May 8, 2016 @ 12:11am

Sorry tried to play but got the following error.

Unity Player [version: Unity 5.3.1f1_cc9cbbcc37b4]

mono.dll caused an Access Violation (0xc0000005)
in module mono.dll at 0023:100f060f.

Error occurred at 2016-05-08_015712.
C:\Users\Ludum Dare\Rambling Pillars\Rambling Pillars\gp\gp.exe, run by \User.
76% memory in use.
0 MB physical memory [983 MB free].
0 MB paging file [3510 MB free].
0 MB user address space [3817 MB free].
Read from location 00000000 caused an access violation.

Context:
EDI: 0x00000000 ESI: 0x00010000 EAX: 0x045f4e70
EBX: 0x04016480 ECX: 0x0021f000 EDX: 0x00000000
EIP: 0x100f060f EBP: 0x0018f114 SegCs: 0x00000023
EFlags: 0x00010246 ESP: 0x0018f104 SegSs: 0x0000002b

Bytes at CS:EIP:
f6 07 10 75 1e f6 47 14 fc 75 18 68 64 98 1b 10

Zeriver says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:45am

Thank you all for notifying me about crashes. I apologize for fixing this bug so late. Hopefully now everything will work just fine for everybody. Because of this bug (and my lack of time lately) i have only 8 votes so now i really have to rate some more games... but first some sleep ;: )

MestreRothWP says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:32am

102! Cool challenge. The controls were a bit heavy, hard to make turns, break. Nice game though. Congrats.

Green Soda says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:02am

nice entry man :)

h2n0 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:45am

Nice game, I didn't realize that when the floor dropped/raised you could still play, I probably would have been my best score if I knew it sooner.

danielilett says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:53am

I like the idea, and it fits the theme pretty well. It's a little difficult to control, but that keeps it from being too easy. Now the music is stuck in my head too...

squirrelbot says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:08pm

Really enjoyed this, the music made it feel very intense.

Zeriver says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:16pm

Thank you all very much for feedback!

Song name is in the description, it's one track from Duelyst Soundtrack. Really awesome game with great soundtrack, check it out. Another dope song from this OST https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zr3P12P1_34

M2tias says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:33pm

Nice idea and it looks pretty great. I would have liked it if the movement control wasn't sooo slippery...

MayankUnreal says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:50pm

The music and concept is really cool.Good luck !

Conk says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:59pm

Very good idea, managed to get 142, some obvious bugs but still really fun! I'd probably opt out of audio if you didn't create it yourself.

JefePapaya says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:37pm

Quite confused about what I should do. But I like the mechanics.

Kudos.

StrayCat says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:50pm

You are an epic rolling ball!

The controls are a bit hard, I feel that after the initial challenge is over (stand on a color successfully), there should be some rest or reset state thing. Most of my deaths were by marbles which kept pushing me in the middle of floor renewing.

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]