Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Shifter

by Reisen - Compo Entry

In this game, you play as a lone survivor of a tragic, catastrophic incident. As numerous hostile creatures appears from the underground, it looks like all hope is lost. But never fear! Using the twin blades that you've been carrying since you were born, you can shift the flow of energy inside you to vanquish these vile beasts!

Controls: X, C, V

Code: Monogame + Visual Studio
Graphics: Paint.NET
Audio: BFXR, Autotracker, Wilhelm scream
Font: Vanilla (

Downloads and Links




vini60 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:18am

Dropped a round shit in a triangle-shaped... thingy. I died.
Best game.

schizoid2k says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:22am

Well, I have to admit, this cracked me up! Good job... very original.

XAND says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:23am

I did not wake up today and say to myself "I will play a game about shitting shapes". But here I am.

Hyden says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:46am

Hahaha, this amused me.

HawkSandwich says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:49am

Funny af. Nice work

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:51am

Ok this was a interesting game, and it made me lol.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:00am

Very funny. Started it and could never have predicted what I was going to see.
On top of the visual gag, of course, was a fun and functional matching game! Had a great time with it.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:18am

Very funny Idea, Scored 1110.

Spud says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:36am

Did not see that coming, I'm afraid to go to the toilet now.

Tutti Ankka says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:08pm

Amazing. Almost died of laughter because of this game.. 6/5

adrian09_01 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:55pm

Cool! Funny, cool graphics, the song isn't bad. Lots of toilet humor.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:22pm

You really missed the opportunity of naming it 'Shape Shitter'. But that would maybe turn down your chance to lure people in. As by seeing your description. Heh.

A little bit to much toilet humor for my taste. But nice soundtrack though!

Reisen says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:46pm

I... did not. Well, maybe not here, but take a closer look at the in-game title screen! :D

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:18am

I am thoroughly confused right now.

icefallgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:37am

Haha, OMG. Love the sound effects.

megalukes says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:09am

That was weird. I never thought someone would have this idea.

Croze says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:25am

I laughed my ass off when I first played aha, I got to 1000 then stopped. Showed my roommate as well! 5 stars all around

blackoptics8 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:30pm

lol had no idea what i was getting myself into

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:05am

The game doesn't start on Windows 7 32-bit.

hregrin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:51pm

What has been seen cannot be unseen... XD

Venneque says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:03am

The crash is real ... I'm sad I can't test :(

Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:07am

Cool funny game Man. So original and interesting. Keep it up!!

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:50am

Very amusing game ;)

djfariel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:34am

Changed my life.
These are the games we need for 2016.

For real though, nice use of theme haha. This is my 81st entry I'm rating, and I'd put this among the top 5, bravo lol

Toccio says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:22pm

I feel so stupid for giving you 5 stars in humor XDD I have to!XD

jhell says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:42pm

Not really my cup of tea, but well-made.

qikcik says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:47pm

hahaha :D nice :D

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:58pm

Cool game.

ragnta says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Nice game :) score: 150 :(

Aaranos says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:39am

Gameplay is okay, but I definitely feel it could of done without the sub theme.

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]