Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Run Rainbow Run

by djosef - Jam Entry

This game was developed by Dat Op Games!
have fun! v(^.^)

Run Rainbow Run is a tap game where you choose your favorite Rainbow and explores the path of the rainbow and collect coins that it is, try to score more than your friends and have fun a lot!

* Addicted gameplay;
* Amazing graphics;
* Cute characters;
* Alternative scenario;
* Cute sound effects;
* Cool soundtrack;
* Personal ranking;
* Pixel Art;
* Share on Twitter!

How To Play?:
> Tap to jump, or any keyboard button.
> It has double jump.

Download Links:
Mac:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/7u4qxbz980xry3o/osx64.rar?dl=0

Windows 64:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/mumhw4640akz9pl/win64.rar?dl=0

Windows 32:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/yik5eppnd3jltny/win32.rar?dl=0

WEB Online:
www.googledrive.com/host/0B5ADVbS94TsnTXVkYjBLdVdCWTA

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#420Audio(Jam)3.10
#480Humor(Jam)2.56
#601Graphics(Jam)3.21
#667Fun(Jam)2.97
#743Mood(Jam)2.83
#898Overall(Jam)2.86
#1107Theme(Jam)2.01

Comments

Sachi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:50pm

oh, this is amazing! congrats! <3 (*3*)v

Switch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:48am

It's a too generic game even for the theme and could use some features, like a functional highscore storing or new challenges. But not bad.

Felladrin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:08am

Neat grame! Awesome soundtracks!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:26pm

Fun game, not sure what it was to do with shapeshifting. Doesn't seem like it gets harder so gets dry quick. Coins dont seem worth getting because you points go up so fast. Points should update each frame instead of like each .5s. Fun game, good sprites and sound. I too made a rainbow themed runner but its a little different- check it out ; )

Tharky says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:50am

It was quite fun :3

Chikoness says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:08am

Cute and quirky art, music seems to fit well, but not very sure if it fits the theme or not ^^" Lacking of goal too, it just keeps going on and on without any difficulty. Great job, though.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:26am

I think it is too conventional. But well, graphics and audio are good, and overall it is funny to play.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:37am

Neat. Cute. weird. I like it. Well done ++

Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:55am

Very colorful and cute characters! Good work

corupta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:11am

It reaaly is addictive. Haha, love it. I don't see how it is related to the theme tho.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:14am

Much too forgiving (ran into the side of a cube and it put me on top of it), and I didn't notice any increase in difficulty over time. Soundtrack is very nice though.

Remdiky says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:17am

In general, the game is not bad, but the gameplay is standard. Like art, but music is very boring and annoying.

Per says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:41am

Fun and well-sounding. My only complaint is about the placement of the coins that are often unreachable.

qikcik says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:47am

Nice Game :D

teamross says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:51am

I like the colorful art and gameplay.
Music and sound effects are cool too!
And addictive for sure.
Nice entry!

unit684 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:58am

Nice graphics and music! It's a fun game but I'd like some more relevance to shapeshifting and maybe some obstacles or something

Ithildin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:01pm

Nice, colourful entry! Controls are responsive and music fits perfectly. As an extra, the web version plays perfectly on my mobile :D

Mak says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:04pm

Great game, you took an endless runner and made it really fancy with the thing of choosing your color and that nice music! Also great music and animation in the menu, one of the best menus I have seen. Also really liked your double jump mechanic.

djosef says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:07pm

thanks to all!! :)

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Nice and fun game. Good job! :)

dunin says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:57pm

runners are always fun
but difficulty doesn't change...

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:59pm

Very cute graphics, but the game needs to get progressively harder, either more obstacles or increase the speed.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:37pm

Aaaa I'm losing it over how cute this is! It's a pretty generic runner, but visually and sound-wise I'm addicted. Especially with the character design.

- Alice (the artist)

giordanno92 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:52am

Nice idea you got there. I know it's very simple and straightforward, although it has some bugs (like coins appearing at the bottom, impossible to catch) it doesn't affect how the game plays and it is indeed fun to play for quite some time ^>^ There's little about the theme, I saw my character turn into a small helicopter and expected to actually fly or glide, but I just jumped ლ,ᔑ•ﺪ͟͠•ᔐ.ლ but that's ok too. The graphics are nice and fun, the font for the score number could match the game style. The music and SFX are reeeally sweet, I liked them a lot. Nice entry you got there! I hope the criticism helps and keep making more games! ◕‿↼

mamoniem says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:57pm

while the game is a runner game, but there is something made it feel different...I guess it might be how well tied the visuals with the music was that thing!

I liked the animated effects, and the background transitions , it is really inspiring. but I didn't like the coins floating inside tiles, and I'm sure this is came from the fact of the limited time of the jam.

-m

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:22am

What the heck, a car that turns into a helicopter. I was a lot more fun than I thought thanks for the submission.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:24am

Wow the graphics are so pretty. It makes me smile.

Dreschler says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:26am

Very addicting game!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:35am

Very nice art!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:35am

I love it!!! My highscore was in the 27K range!!! I love the endless runner type of games!

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:21am

So much rainbows! Great concept but i don't get the goal or the global challenge

PaulJs says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:34am

I

PaulJs says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:35am

I don't understand where the theme is !

neondx says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:29am

I did not see the shapechanging theme, but i still liked it!

bytegrove says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:19pm

Aww yeah, super sweet game! It has an awesome flow to it! The music fits really well also, and the characters are just too cute! ^^ Nice work!

m3games says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:00am

I liked being able to choose my runner character and I got pretty into the running... I was on a pretty awesome streak :D

hunttis says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:56am

The game itself is alright. The controls are responsive and don't feel floaty. I didn't really get how the theme is there :D

pythong says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:33pm

the controls get laggy after a while, especially when the background changes (at the end i was around 57k). did you reuse your sprites? Flappy bird for exaple 'only' uses 3x2 pipes, which are 6 overall
other than than, i really liked the sprite graphics, and the music is fitting. the lose-track doesn't loop correctly though ;)

tentacode says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:31pm

I loved that you can use any keyboard button :D great graphics too, very cute

joemid says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:50pm

I would love to see more shifting- and triple jumps- or forever jumps! Rainbow jumps! Power ups? Maybe I just died too soon? LO SCORE- 15637 HI SCORE - 56717

Fabraz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Cute but could have been pushed further. Mechanically it's not too exciting, even if it works and can be fun. Visually it's pretty crazy and the character sprites look eerily similar to Kirby. Also, could you expand on the theme in this?

ryjcio says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:22pm

Very nice game! :) But I don't see a connection with the theme.

plko says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Love this character, it looks like Kirby. Wish can see this character do more.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:47pm

80 is maximum points to get Innovation: 5/10 Fun: 6/10
Theme: 4/10
Graphics: 7/10
Audio: 5/10
Humor: 0/10
Mood: 0/10
Coolness: 5/10
Overall: 32/80
Good Game

Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Not bad one!

May 1, 2016 @ 2:34pm

really quite a generic genre, seems like they just used a demo game and re-skined it with different assets. Doesn't really fit the theme

domrein says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Pretty polished package for the timeframe. I really like the audio. The gameplay doesn't really have anything to do with the theme and it feels like a super standard runner clone though.

Aaranos says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Solid endless runner in terms of core mechanics. I think it needed some of it's own flair to stand out from a standard endless runner though and it didn't really follow the theme.

May 7, 2016 @ 6:33pm

I had a lot of fun playing this tap game! I did wonder whether choosing your character ("rainbow") has anything to do with level of difficulty, but I don't think so, possibly a multi-player thing? The only shape shifting connection I could see was that the character turns into a helicopter when airborne. If I missed something please put me straight :) Thanks for the nice game!

Jaenis says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:47pm

Nice little game

May 8, 2016 @ 8:12pm

Fun little game though there isn't much challenge... After a while I wondered how if I should keep play or just let myself die ^^' I reached 78991 when I had enough of it. Still well made and the music sure is cool ;)

MayankUnreal says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:46pm

Its a wonderful running game. I Like the concept, great gameplay

Ludipe says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:28pm

Got to 100k points and then decided to stop. Game works and is quite polished, so congrats on that! :-)
However it needs a better difficulty curve as the challenge is quite easy.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]