Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Karma Guardian

by Dege - Jam Entry

In this game you're an ancient guardian of a village forced to reincarnate and to protect poor villagers from evil slimes
Accumulate Karma points to reincarnate in better guardians.

Full XBox 360 controller support!

Keyboard:
attack on left: left ctrl / Z
attack on right: left alt / X
movement: arrows / wasd
jump: W / up / space
pause: esc

Controller:
attack on left: left trigger / X
attack on right: right trigger / B
movement: left stick
jump: A
pause: start

Made in 48 hours by Davide De Gennaro
using Unity3D and awesome free sprites from Kenney

Socials:
twitter: @Dege
website: http://dege.cloud/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#551Humor(Jam)2.42
#683Innovation(Jam)2.89
#875Mood(Jam)2.61
#887Theme(Jam)2.80
#971Overall(Jam)2.75
#987Fun(Jam)2.50
#1579Coolness39%

Comments

bazkur98 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:53pm

I never could get enough points to reincarnate but it wasn't bad. Would have been worlds better with some sound. Graphics look good, Kenney is great. Maybe some more time in development and it'd be more playable but right now I don't think it spawns enemies often enough to experience whole game and based on what I saw I think I'd have to kill myself in order to reincarnate. Nice idea though

Paskal007r says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Very relaxing, I like the overall style and the pastel colors.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:28am

I love the graphics and gentle colour pallet

runvs says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:30am

Nice entry. I like the core mechanics. Some tutorial or info screen on the beginning would have been great, so the player knows exactly what he is doing. Overall: well executed! :)

rhastapunk says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:24am

Good idea but for me it was so difficult to survive so far. Anyway had a nice time trying this :D

Ristoretto says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:50am

I like how you get minus karma by attacking the circles that are just hanging around! and how the the enemies bully them around...

I think the core game play: ex combat and how the enemies spawn needs to be tighter, Im not really sure how.

I appreciate the xbox controller support, some things I noticed,

I would hit right all the time, I think its because of the dead zone on the controller. and hit left with pointing right with the right analog stick.

And I have pause on the right trigger. I think that's because of how the 360 controller is mapped differently on platforms, I'm on windows. you can fix it by checking what platform the players on and then change the buttons.

Cool idea about changing form by reincarnating :)

kopo says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:55am

Nice graphics but the game is frustrating, a longer range would have been nice :)
Nice polish though

Jungle says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:20pm

Nice entry. Game is too difficult at start. Graphs are very nice! Congrats

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]