Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Those Aren't Stars

by Gtron - Compo Entry

"Those Aren't Stars is an action platformer featuring a tiny witch... person... who can turn into a stone statue.

When she's a statue, she's unaffected by strong wind and can't be hurt by any form of attack, but the only thing she can do without turning back into a person is... well just kind of sit there. Despite that she can't do anything in her rocky form, clever use of this transformation ability is the key to victory!

This game is best played using an Xbox 360 Controller, but there are keyboard controls as well. No other gamepad will work, as this game was made partly to test Unity's new input system, which only supports that gamepad. (Mac users can find a driver to let the controller talk to their system here: https://github.com/360Controller/360Controller/rel...)

Finally, there is a known bug where holding left or right during a scene transition can screw up Unity's input system, soft locking the game. So don't do that... I guess...

[EDIT] The help screen claims you can jump with the up arrow on your keyboard. We apologize for the fault in the instructions. Those responsible have been sacked.
(Seriously though the up arrow doesn't do anything)

[EDIT 2] I'm honestly surprised by all the positive feedback you guys have given and all the interest I've seen in a post-jam version. In order to protect the integrity of the voting, I've elected to keep the publicly available build of the game static until judging ends. However, I'm working on improvements and bugfixes (and trying to figure out what I want to do with this thing), and if anybody is interested I'm going to try to post about it on my blog (http://gregorarmstrong.com/blog/) that I totally didn't set up right before editing this description. So once judging ends, if you're interested, come check things out!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#210Graphics3.60
#263Audio3.14
#273Overall3.43
#339Theme3.55
#366Fun3.28
#520Innovation3.03

Comments

rantt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:00am

I like the art style, good puzzles and even a boss battle at the end. Very impressive. She seamed to stick (like not jump to full height) if you jumped to close to the lip of an edge, like on stairs. Fun game, great job!

fafastudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:16am

Cool gameplay and princess!! Moving plaform are a little bit boring ! Good job ! :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:51am

Really cute graphics and animations plus impressive visual effects! Fairly solid game play too. Decent length and level variety, and a surprisingly varied boss battle. You used your 48 hours well :D

I did find one glitch: Bree's health bar didn't seem to visually update during the Radiance fight. So I did not know how close to dying I was. Still managed to win though :)

Ryusui says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:33am

Cute concept, but buggy collisions and pointless "waiting game" sections detract from the experience.

tasteless says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:28pm

I'm on a mac and was unable to play it. i could jump, but thats about it. moving forward was painful. but it looked good, and reading the other comments it sounds cool! I'll try again in a bit.

Gtron says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:18am

tasteless, if you don't mind sharing, what control scheme were you using? The keyboard controls were implemented nearly at the last minute. For me at least, the left and right keys work, as do the z,x,c and q,w,e keys for actions (I think I forgot to map the up arrow to jump...). I actually developed this on a mac, so I'm a little concerned that a fellow mac user is having problems.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:02am

loved the music. I couldn't get passed that spike pit but everything else felt great

fullmontis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:20am

Ok, I really like the mechanics and concepts of the game, but I think there are too many glaring bugs and design problems to make it actually enjoyable. You have way too much life and I've never died once in the whole game because I ran out of it. The platforms took way too long to appear and I thought I had to jump over the spikes. On one occasion you had to fall off from one cliff and on the next fall off there were spikes, which is just tricking the player into dying. You get stuck in walls after jumping and you slide on the moving platforms. Also, turning into stone is not really responsive and requires a few seconds.

I think the stone turning mechanic and graphics are great and so is the music. I am just pointing out these things because these are rather simple to adjust in a post compo version and I think you should do so because the base game is really fun!

Pixelaborate says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:21am

Definitely cute with charm to spare, but moving platforms take ages. Also some sounds are obnoxiously loud such as the death blip. Other than that I found the game to be quite enjoyable.

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:26am

I enjoyed switching between forms to avoid damage/drop through air currents or ride them up. Some of the platforms were awkwardly placed though, made jumping up between them in a few spots sort of difficult, and I don't know if it was intentional but the way the character sticks to the wall when you jump into it made going up the stair structures a little frustrating. Overall pretty fun!

dvdagames says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:34am

That was pretty fun and everything seemed to work together pretty well.

One gripe, though, the jump arc of Bree and her wall-stickiness could be really annoying during the platforming parts. I got caught on so many corners it was pretty frustrating.

The boss fight with Radiance was nice, but the health bars kept resetting so I wouldn't know how much damage either of us had taken until we got hit, but then mine stopped updating altogether, so I'm not sure if I almost died or if she stopped doing damage at some point.

Also, when you first introduce an element like a floating platform, it might be a good idea to either a) have it start near the player and move away when they get there or b) have some sort of visual indicator that something is there and it might be coming towards you. I didn't even know the platform was there until I tried several jump to statue sequences and it happened to fly over my head while I was pondering what to do.

The graphics were nice and the gameplay was pretty fun despite the glitchy collision with corners and the platforms. I could see some really interesting wind column + statue obstacles in a future version.

DcrDro says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:22pm

very cool game man ! )

abcdef65g says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:32am

Like others have already said, there are some issues with sticking to walls/platforms, really loud sfx, moving platforms that you don't know even exist, and resetting HP bars in the boss fight. These are definitely things you should look into fixing, so you can release a post-compo version that's pretty fun.

All that said though, there are several stages in the game and even a boss fight mixed in, which is quite impressive for a compo submission! Graphics and audio are nice too. I became curious about the possible story though, like who Bree is, why a statue transformation, why the firework-shooting enemies are trying to kill you, and who is the boss. Consider an expanded version in the future with story, more polish and more levels, and you've got a great thing here.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:12pm

This is really cool. Combining character switching with shooting is really inventive and fun. And I like how characters react to nearby bullets. Really impressive work. Nice job!

Jimbly says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Pretty good! I was unable to get past the second moving platform over spikes level though, kept on trying and kept on getting stuck on one wall or another and never making it onto the landing :(. Quite liked visuals.

kostik1337 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:46pm

I really liked it. Very well done, graphics and music are great, but controls are quiet irresponsible

Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:48pm

The characters are just adorable, and the style is simple but classy! All the problems I encountered have been detailed above, so there's no need for me to repeat them. For a 48 hour game, this is quite impressive!

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:00pm

All 5!

Though i'd work on a collision issue where the player gets sticky when jumping towards a wall

All and all i really like this entry! keep up the good work :)

sftrabbit says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:50am

Nice work! Lots of levels and great that you even managed to get a boss fight in there. Also, nice art for the characters. I didn't actually realise I could shoot until I got to the boss... that's probably my own fault for not reading the help page. However, it does show that you can basically just ignore the enemies because they do so little damage. Sticking to the edges of the platforms made jumping around quite difficult and is actually what made me get hit more by enemies. Also, agreed with the others about the moving platforms being too slow - I had to read the comments before I even realised there was a moving platform there - I kept trying to figure out how I would get across the spikes some other way. In general, really good work though.

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Can't go threw the second level . I stay stuck on the blue smoke.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:04am

Great artwork and sound (except for some sfx, they were a bit obnoxious)! Cool mechanic too! I really liked the character and the boss too!
Well, it does has its flaws, like already pointed out, sticky walls, slow platforms (and no indication of them), a bit unresponsive to turn into stone, too much life, stone transformation is much more useful in late game. But those things you can fix, and you will have a very nice game! I'll look for your post-compo later!

Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]