Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

A Slimy Fellow

by Ourson - Compo Entry

The poor guy fell into a pit.
But fortunately, he is not alone down there. He is about to make an unexpected friend and together, they can get out of this place.

It is a 2D platformer/puzzle game (featuring 7 unique transformations for your little buddy).

PS: Sorry, i don't know how to music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#13Overall4.17
#15Theme4.35
#39Fun3.97
#45Innovation4.00
#80Mood3.71
#126Graphics3.85
#184Humor3.02
#438Audio2.76

Comments

Alphius says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 5:59pm

That game was absolutely awesome! Best one so far! I took me a while to understand that you can pick up the umbrella with 'E', but other than that, that's a perfect! Great work!

Evgiz says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Nice game! The feeding mechanic felt original, I like your take on the theme. The graphics and sounds are quite cute too.

bwalter says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:03pm

"did it hurt when you fell from heaven" was the first thing that popped into my head. great game :D smooth gameplay, and creative puzzle

CTastic says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:03pm

Great work! I love your graphics style and the concept is a nice throwback to a boy and his blob! My main issue was how finicky it is to control the slimy fellow himself.

Ovidios says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Very nice! Reminded me a lot of "A Boy and His Blob". The art was generally nice, the full-black outlines were a little to "strong" sometimes, the animation on the slime was mostly very nice and cute and the rocket-ending was very cute too (I really liked the rocket-trail-particles). Good job!

stefvanschie says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Nice game. I really like the puzzle aspect of the game.

jollyserpent says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:47pm

Very cool! I loved th creative use of the theme, especially the key and umbrella fruits.

kyuni says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Amazing for a compo entry, very nice!

norseware says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 7:43pm

This was quite enjoyable! The little slime was just too cute :) Good job on making this in 48 hours!

qikcik says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Nice :D

Apr 17, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Love it!

For future games you can use music generators (but think you will opt out those voting categories)

http://ludumdare.com/compo/2012/04/16/some-useful-music-generators/
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2013/02/19/procedural-music-generator/

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 9:00pm

That's a super good game! Congrats!

Pecolyte says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 9:22pm

How cute! I like it!

kik0729 says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 9:25pm

This is really cool!
The visuals are really cute and the mechanics are solid.
The lack of music and the loud annoying sounds hurt the game, but other than that, good job!
With a bit of polishing and you're on to a great mobile game!

HealogiK says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 9:41pm

This game have great ideas, and the blob is so cuuuuuuuute !!! Would have been better with a background music but it's very nice !

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:00pm

Wow this is a great game. The controls feel tight and responsive. Very good :)

legavroche says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:10pm

This game was amazing, one suggestion I thought of is maybe changing the colors of the shapeshift to match the fruit's color as well.

HawkSandwich says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Very cool, I love it. And I'm not even a huge fan of these kinds of games

Souperstrawer says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:22pm

I really like the idea. Graphics are simple and cute. The mechanics allow for some interesting puzzles to be made. I had some trouble getting the blob to follow me at times, which was a bit annoying and also there seemed to be some weird collision bugs at times. Despite that the game was quite enjoyable.

Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Great idea, solid made. It's a really cool plattformer puzzle. the jump and land sound is a bit to loud and to much. But the rest great job.

RockNRedPanda says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Cute characters, very interesting interpretation of the theme. Love playing it!

eye776 says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:10pm

A really nice take on "a boy and his blob".
Jumping & Landing sounds are a bit harsh though.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:35pm

This game is amazing. Thankyou so much for this.

tauntButtered says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:49pm

I'm impressed, very well done!

seitnerk says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 11:49pm

Nice Game! i like the characters a lot.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:48am

Cute and cuddly blob, great puzzles and mechanics. I mean... what more could you want? Really nice work :)

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:26am

Absolutely awesome, certainly the best game I've played so far. Loved it!

studdert249 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:36am

Really enjoyed the feeding to shapeshift mechanic!

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:54am

Really enjoyed this! Love the graphics, the gameplay is fun and original, very well made for a LD.
Some ambient music would be great for the setting and didn't quite get the AI, so those are the things I'd work on!

Andy_Voz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:56am

Wow! awesome game!)

celmore1001 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:56am

A solid game!

ConorOD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:36pm

This is absolutely brilliant! I honestly can't fault it - great use of the theme, tight controls, excellent level design, fantastic graphics. One of the best entries I've played so far.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Clever puzzle system.

unnamed1334 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Cool game. I liked the sort of co-op game play but would have liked some way to call the blob instead of trying to stay between the too close and too far away distance.

Suddenlyzach says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:31am

Adorable! I thought the blob and the main character were too cute. Loved the take on the theme and the mechanics. Adding a way to call the blob would be nice and would add the additional development of a friendship between the two characters. I would love to see this developed further!

Bobsleigh says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:24am

Nice Game! I really like the graphics. Good little puzzles.

GaryS says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:42am

*EXCELLENT*
This game made me smile, made me laugh in places. Really good take on the theme and the gameplay is just superb.
The only thing I'd change is that it seems your little pal needs to be quite near to you before he'll move, and as you move quite quickly it'd be nice if you didn't have to go back to make him move again.

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:15pm

Sweet game. Good job. Very enjoyable and unique.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:21pm

Awesome game! Great game design and cute graphics. Congratz

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:56pm

cool :D

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:09pm

A well made polished game! Great fun :D

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:02am

Great game, well done. Really interesting concept and take on the theme, the only thing I dislike was the sound effect (a little biy annoying) and I missed some music. Other than that, good job!!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:31am

Good work! is OSOM

taviandir says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:54pm

I quite enjoyed this! Some kind of background music wouldve made it even better.
Only improveable thing I can think of is that I would've like some more solid control over when the slimy friend did its jumps, but still managed to get through the whole game.
The umbrella falling segment reminded me of VVVVVV.

mrnannings says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:06pm

This was awesome. I really like this kind of puzzle platformers. Cute characters also. The game is so good executed.

Jungle says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:29am

I like a lot of the game design! Very cool game!!! Congratulations! I really have fun!

ChronoCrab says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:57am

Very good. COntrols were pretty tight, fun graphics and sound, simple yet fun mechanics. Well done.

eduardogacn says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:35am

good game!

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:11am

Nice game, nice graphics, good work keep up ;)
try our game :)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

pirate_shell says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:27pm

This was a superb entry! I loved the puzzle/platformer mix of it and I thought all the slime forms were cute and interesting to interact with. The level design was challenging but fair and I had a lot of fun wtih it. The graphics and sound were simple, but they did the job. My one issue was that the slime moved just a bit too slow for my liking, but other than that fantastic job!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:45pm

This was by far one of the most fun games I have played so far. Graphics, mechanics, level layout all superb! Thank you for making this game!

JuDelCo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Very good mechanics ! The first time i saw the slime i though he will hurt me xD

jhell says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Very nice job, good concept and take on the theme, and neat execution. Just missing the music :)

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:05pm

This game is a gem!!! No doubt it will place VERY HIGH at the end!! Excellent job!

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:22am

Really fun game, the only thing it needed was to keep your forward momentum after jumping off the train. In real life you wouldn't jump straight up, you would still have forward movement.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:06pm

I love it! The graphics and controls are awesome. And the main mechanic is original. Congratulations!

Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Super cute game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/7kJFcods5hA

Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Pssst - you are featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f_9jcWfVDXg

zondarg says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:21am

A very good game with a very cute sidekick :D I like!!

Ellian says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:31am

Adorable and surprising idea.
Very good work here, it's simple but very very efficient!

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:50pm

Awesome! Some very nice 'a-ha' moments in there. I found the train run sequence a bit tricky but it was worth persevering to get through it. ;) Very interesting mechanic, well done!

Docjekyll says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:15am

Great tie-in with the theme. Fun 48h puzzle platformer :-D

dunin says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:16am

When I was young I wanted A boy and his blob and never got it.
This game remind me that and I enjoyed it... thanks!
Cool graphics, good mood and some level are smart!

gillenew says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 9:25am

awesome game!

FiSilva says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Very good mechanic, and quite original, great levels, I had lots of fun! Nice art and very polished for 48h

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:40am

sooo cute and smart!
button E with R to close! ToT
pixel art have good design and fit for the sound effect very much innovation~ and the slimy's follow method also amiable and easy. well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]