Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

buki buki!

by cowboycolor - Jam Entry

*EDIT: Gamebreaking input on some computers fixed*


Shapeshift from cute girl into a Shield or a Arrow.

Best played with a gamepad


CONTROLS:

Gamepad
Hold (X): Draw bow
Hold (Y): Turn into shield
Joystick to move

Keyboard
Hold X to draw bow
Holy Z to block
Arrows to move

Gamepad support Windows only


@ZBWmusic did the music
@Britt_t_brady did the art / sound
@Cullenddwyer did the programming stuff

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Graphics(Jam)4.60
#21Theme(Jam)4.30
#57Audio(Jam)3.96
#60Mood(Jam)4.02
#83Overall(Jam)3.89
#97Innovation(Jam)3.80
#104Fun(Jam)3.75
#183Humor(Jam)3.31
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

Acorn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:31am

Fucking amazing. Surprise surprise. You ever wanna spice it up and make a bad game JEEZ? (seriously though fucking adorable and feels amazing <3)

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:00am

I loved the graphics and sound, but I found the controls to be complicated on the keyboard

dvdfu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:03am

I really like the song and 3D animations! Bow mechanic is cool to use.

Squid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:04am

I had a lot of trouble getting shooting to work. It feels like you have to wait a lot longer then the bar on the left.

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:10am

Hi everyone, turns out there is some Input lag issues across various computers. Will be looking into a fix shortly

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:12am

I had a lot of difficulty getting the controls to actually trigger, but I loved the idea!

MandolinQuinn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:24am

Fantastic everything, another hit by the boys

Capt Nemo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:57pm

Was a bit difficult with keyboard controls, only being able to aim in 8 directions. otherwise great!

Eshford says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:27pm

Looks super cute! Good entry!

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:12pm

So cute! So adorable! But the controls don't work sometimes D:

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:46pm

Inputs should work on all computers nows

Tacohej says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:31pm

Very polished. Great work.

Mouse controls would have been great. Other than that, superb

PanicTheFirst says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:52pm

Looks awesome! I love those skeletons and the shooting felt very good.

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:25am

Super cute!

Ted Brown says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:50am

It's like a candy bar where the nougat is the creme of crushed NES cartridges. Delicious.

orkybitz says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:39am

Love it! I love how it both feels both new and innovative but also retro and classic! Simple but so entertaining!

derr says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:22am

Wow the transformation works really well, I had a lot of fun playing the game. And imho this gameplay has a lot more potential if you add another 1-2 helpful forms and enemies that force you to use them.

ohmaigawd says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:02pm

Love it! Such a cute game with amazing mechanics. Most fun game I played on this jam so far :)

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:28pm

Can't describe how much I liked it!
Loved the mechanics of the arrow, one time I killed 3 enemies with just one shot!
And what about aboriginal skeletons with rifles? The best idea! Haha
The graphics are all cute and beautiful too! Great work!

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:46pm

titan souls with zelda. It is a pretty good idea with neat graphics.

Gord10 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Nice work, I especially loved the toonish graphics.

cabezotta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Very good in every aspect! you really should continue working in this one! Awesome job!

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:01pm

Awesome game! The shapeshifting mechanic is really fun! Great job guys =)

Ellian says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:17pm

This is adorable, and really well made! The whole atmosphere is super cute, and the idea is great! Good work!

solkar says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:27am

All the artwork (graphics and music) is top quality. I don't get how to use the shield but the arrow is ace!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:13am

Outstanding work. Well done.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:26pm

I like the mechanics, and the mood is so cute :) The controls on the keyboard weren't exactly enjoyable, but I believe it was not designed for it.

Yword says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:33pm

Really great graphics and music, and the bow attack is very cool too! Well done!

James Coote says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:02pm

Nice! Great simple cartoony visual style. I liked the way the blobs moved around! The music/sfx were good also.

I really liked the way the bow and arrow could be used both for fast travel and for killing enemies. However, was really awkward to aim with keyboard controls. Aiming with mouse I think would really help. Also, it was really hard to hit enemies at anything other than point blank range. Even when I thought I had them lined up, I'd often miss. I wonder whether it'd be an idea to make the arrow hitbox larger? I ended up often running away from an enemy for a bit, then turning 180 and firing. However, even then, the multi-step turning around (whilst it looks cool), made that more frustrating than it ought to to pull off.

Also as the arrow, I often got pinged off into the trees, which then made navigating and movement difficult, especially as I couldn't see the enemies under the trees. I guess that could be like an extra skill to the game to aim both at an enemy and towards somewhere you won't get stuck, but I felt like having that almost everywhere right from the start was too harsh. (Maybe if you continue developing the game, you could expand that idea, so that in some environments, there's walls you bounce off or walls you stick to or some walls that if you hit as the arrow, you die?)

Overall though, was fun!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:14am

This is such a cute game, I really like the character design and her transformations!

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:12am

Thank you everyone for the kind words!

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:25am

Brilliant - the most fun game I've played so far for sure! Love the sensation of 'shooting' yourself at the monsters, very kinetic, very cool. I did find I would often fire in a direction I didn't intend though (was using XBox controller) - probably my own lack of coordination showing though :) Great job team.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:14pm

Absolutely loved this entry. It works so well and is so highly polished, great graphics and the whole changing mechanic is really clever. Only complaint I have is that I wish it was longer. Favourite entry I've played so far and will be coming back to play it again.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:34pm

Very nice job. Gorgeous graphics and great sound. Very on theme. I didn't find a good use for the shield as opposed to just running away though.

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:50pm

What a cute game!

At first I was very confused as to what I was supposed to do... Until I read the description. I'd say to put a tutorial in the game, but this is Ludum Dare after all, so no problem really.

The models/textures are really cute and the animations are very fluid and squishy. Very cuddly. The music is appropriately upbeat, and the sound effects are alright.
The controls were a bit clunky on the keyboard, and I'm pretty sure the experience would've been a lot better with a gamepad.
The transforming mechanic was really fun. Shooting with yourself as the projectile is just somehow really fun.

Still, the game is quite good overall!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Nice entry, it is really really funny, I love the idea of being the bow. And graphics are extra cute!

Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:41am

80 is maximum points to get
Innovation: 7/10
Fun: 4/10
Theme: 8/10
Graphics: 6/10
Audio: 7/10
Humor: 1/10
Mood: 5/10
Coolness: 4/10
Overall: 42/80
Good Game

Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Pssst - you are featured in todays LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTA4kJjCC3k

Headmade says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:14am

Very nice concept and the art and audio is well done.

However killing enemies is unrewarding and just evading them is easier.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:41am

excelent concept and really nice graphisms

SUNFURY says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Really fun and cool game I loved the idea of the transforming and the graphics really cute.

Docjekyll says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:26am

Love the feel of this game.

yuigoto says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Great teamwork there! :) The concept is pretty great, the shapeshifting is cool and pretty charming too!

The graphics are cute and pretty well done (love the "dying skeletons") and the way the map is made pretty much sets the whole mood of the game nicely, with the music adding up some pretty neat juice into it! :)

The controls on keyboard, though, I didn't like much. Gamepad is great!

Good work! :)

LeReveur says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 2:43pm

It's cute, and fun to play, well done !

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:11am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]