Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Taymishi the shapeshifter

by Genpaku - Compo Entry

This just an idea, cant make it more playable couse of time i dont have :/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#596Theme3.16
#692Graphics2.58

Comments

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:42pm

It's definitely okay, got the basic gist of it. The face on the lamb is a bit creepy though.

Also if you die, you end up stuck underneath the floor.

Genpaku says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:52pm

aww really, i died a lot of times and never stuck underneath the floor :/ i've made this game in few hours so i know it sucks :D

Populous90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Why did the sheep jump over the river?

Genpaku says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:41pm

to get to the other side ? :D

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:25pm

Best of luck in future entries! We're all been there.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:28pm

I find interesting the fact that you created .swf
It is the first build of this kind I see on LudumDare :)
I like that you participated anyway :)

Cheers
-Morco (Omlette du Fromage team)

glitchu says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:33pm

From an animation point of view, the sheep shouldnt be spawning from the top jumping down. He should be idle standing still like the main player. For a platforming engine; it's almost there. Just needs some tweaking with some of the collisions and the transitions betweens transformations

Genpaku says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:23pm

Thx, for info glichu, I know that but thx :) just lack of time to change it :D

freeloader says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:04am

Nice art, the character is kinda expressive.

Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:29pm

the shape shifting is glitchy. Might be easier with that stuff to do something much simpler, like just flip the sprite, or make a transition like a animated puff of smoke or something to cover it.

ThommazK says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:45pm

I'm running it on Chrome/Mac OSX and the camera seems to be misplaced: I can't see what's on the lower floors. As someone already said, good luck on future entries, we're all learning here! :)

SUNFURY says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:48pm

Lol it's cute.
It's funny when he becomes a sheep.
I like the style of the game, it's childish and I like it.

Too bad you didn't have time to continue it. It would be interesting to see what it could be.

Hope to see you next ld :)

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:21pm

cute entry, player animation is well done! Keep up the good work!

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:06pm

This could be expanded upon. You'be got the base ready. Add more levels and stuff and it could make for a decent game. Cheers.

mooncalf says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:08pm

Well done! You have a clear mechanic and show an example a puzzle type it creates. Easy to imagine other potential content.

From a core idea standpoint I think it is very similar to mine.

Javabot says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:15pm

I had fun just jumping around. I am a sheep, what else do I want?

srakowski says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:45am

Not much to rate here, but high marks on the sweet human/sheep animation. That was well done. Also, sometime it is just fun to jump around :-)

sftrabbit says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:34pm

I think I 100%ed it. Well it certainly has shapeshifting! Although I'm not sure what purpose the human serves...

cheshire says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:50pm

I like it.

candlesan says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Really cute lamb. I like the idea of changing from a child to a lamb and back - would like to see this game developed more!

marvalgames says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:35pm

no overall rating?
Nice work. simple but clean. needs tweaking

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]