Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Go Spell It On A Mountain

by cgriff - Compo Entry

You are an elderly and forgetful spell-casting mage who lives on a mountain. And you're the only one who can stop the rampage of a vile shapeshifting beast.

Cast spells by typing in the magic spellwords. Wound the beast by using the correct spell for whatever form it has taken. Forgotten the spellword? Not to worry - they are all written behind you. But if you're going to turn and check, be quick! There are innocent lives at stake.

SHARPEN YOUR MEMORY.

USE YOUR SPELLS.

SAVE THE PEOPLE.



Controls:

Arrow keys to turn

Space to quick turn back to beast

Type spellwords with the keyboard and hit Return to cast



Other Notes:

I recommend full-screening the game. And having a good short-term memory!

Also - the standalone Unity build is a bit nicer than the HTML 5 one (the lighting and fonts are better for some reason). So if you have the time, you may want to download that build. But if not, the HTML 5 one on itch.io is fine.

Best settings for standalone:

Screen size = 1360 x 768

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#38Humor3.75
#124Innovation3.76
#141Theme3.86
#350Audio2.95
#400Fun3.24
#458Mood2.95
#510Overall3.17
#523Graphics2.90
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

TLansdale says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:56pm

Great stuff. Really captures the feeling of being brought low by your own past incompetence and failings as a human being.

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:25pm

I did not know what the hell was going on, and the resolution was messed up (GUI was off the screen), but I liked the concept. I couldn't really tell if my spells were doing anything, though.

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:29pm

Frustratingly fun, I did really liked it.

cornand34 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Kind of liked the game, didn't see a gameover screen though which suprised me.

mhlbrothers says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Cool game.

egos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:46pm

really a nice idea and i love the sound
The menu left and right is good too

But i didnt have the feeling of changing something by typing word

Wevel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Having to type out commands made the game quite difficult

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:59pm

This is an nice game full of awesome humour! I am glad I found the washboard comment :D
- Barold Snapper

tayl1r says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:48pm

All hail the monster!

Nice, a little on the easy side.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Never had so much fun failing at a game. "WHY ISN'T IT WORKING? *Turns around* Oh, I forgot the exclamation point.. of course".

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:39pm

I beat the beast and many died, but I don't care, I'm on a mountain top!

I downloaded the Windows version, but the UI problem is a little more difficult to workaround if your monitor doesn't support 1360x768. Unity (NGUI) allows positioning and resizing GUI elements relative to the screen size.

Also I see this a lot in Unity games, you don't need to include the "player_win_x86.pdb" and "player_win_x86_s.pdb" files in the zip, they take a lot of space and are only useful for debugging.

Blobo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Interesting concept. It was pretty difficult remembering all the spells. i never died though, so i guess i did pretty good.

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:44pm

You hit where it hurts! Congratulations, super work and very fun :D

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:12am

Great entry. A game with a funny gameplay and well done.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:05pm

Words cannot express how much I love this game... although I guess they do. The humour, the challenge, and the satisfaction gained from it are what I play games for. I wish the beast would take more a beating from me so it could last longer!! :)

SnedHlepPls says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:43pm

Interesting concept here. I like the idea of memorizing the spells.

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:03pm

i don't really get fun to play it .

adsilcott says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Clever and fun game, trying to decipher those notes. I like that it gave me time to figure it out and it slowly became more natural.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]