Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Reconfigure

by wg_phancock - Jam Entry


** Leave a comment and we'll be sure to play and rate your game as well! **

OBJECTIVE
----------------
You are stuck in a region of space overrun by enemies. Luckily, your trusty ship can gather parts and energy from your opponents to reconfigure itself in different ways and recover its armor. Try to survive and reach a tier 5 ship!

Every 10 seconds, if you have enough parts, your ship will reconfigure into a new design, refilling your health and giving you new weapons. Blast enemies to earn parts and stay alive.

CONTROLS
----------------
Keyboard and Mouse:
- W/A/S/D or Arrow Keys: Move your ship around
- Mouse: Aim
- Mouse Button 1: Shoot
- ESC: Exit game

ABOUT DEVELOPMENT
----------------
Our goal for this LD was to do an action game involving some sort of shooting with varied weapons. Our last entry in LD33 (Massacre Monday) was a melee action game, so we wanted to try something a bit different in the same genre. We struggled a bit with coming up with an idea that fit the theme, so we weren't quite sure where to go with the game for a little while. That left us with a bit less time than we would have liked, but we did manage to finish the core of the game's design and do some polish, which is always a win.

There are still a couple of minor bugs or crashes that pop up every now and then that we're trying to track down, so any bug reports in the comments are awesome.

All the art, design, sound effects,and code for this game were created during the 72 hour jam period. The engine is written in Haxe, using OpenFL/HaxeFlixel. All the art was made using mosly Pixen and Photoshop, or procedurally generated in-game. Sound effects were made with bfxr.

WHO ARE WE?
----------------
We are a two man team from Warrior General Games, creators of Goal Line Blitz 1 and 2 and Mighty Brawlers. You can find us at http://warriorgeneral.com. This is our third Ludum Dare entry.

You can follow our lead developer on Twitter at @wg_phancock if you want to keep tabs on what we're up to.


MUSIC CREDITS
----------------
Music used in this game is available on the Free Music Archive by the following artist. Thanks!

http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Goto80/Open_Funk_Sores/00_goto80_-_ren_onsdags-skit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#24Fun(Jam)4.06
#42Overall(Jam)4.01
#128Audio(Jam)3.73
#168Graphics(Jam)4.04
#239Mood(Jam)3.53
#243Theme(Jam)3.72
#356Innovation(Jam)3.27
#579Humor(Jam)2.37

Comments

CalmKai says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:18am

Good game!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:23am

Fantastic Game! Very well polished from what I could tell. Had a blast!

hadesfury says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:35am

Great game
Really hard and unexpected

Peter1992t says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:25am

I really liked the sound and music design. Really cool!

Insality says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:56am

Great gameplay and sounds! Very interesting to play
One of the best entry on ld ;)

Saladon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:42am

Very fun to play. Very addictive. Great job.

reckhou says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:15am

Great idea, weapon & ship variations were properly implemented. I like the random configure part each 10 seconds. My first 5 star rating overall.

Ratmena says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:03am

100/10 super hardcore

Rico says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:20am

Great Gameplay

Strike says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:22am

Really good attention to details ;) I especially like how space ships break apart piece by piece and how all of these parts float around the level

staircase27 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:38am

Very nice game :)

MAN JO TEAM says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:44am

A very polished game and if you want to improve it there are some waves when the enemy trows directly to you blocking you're way out.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:56am

Awesome game, everything is awesome. Well done!

yoel1234 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:25am

hot patootie bless my soul we have a winner.
the most fun game i played this compo.
the control and movement was smooth the fire power satisfying.
and you fit the theme perfectly with the ship changing when you get new parts.
tons of weapons and damage effects.
and the ship parts after they explode awsome!
reminded me of tyrian and escape velocity.
you shod refine and put it on steam(and send me a "take my money" link so i can buy it).
http://s2.quickmeme.com/img/26/26dc56853c6e1b1c3df7912f5f1eecbc250c36a9fa3bd8441a9140fd8adbd654.jpg

David Cookie says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:54pm

I made it to wave 10 \o/ (yeah, kinda lame ^^). As a fan of Geometry Wars, this entry was a real blast for me! Pretty impressive for a 3 days dev I should say. Congrats :D

Souperstrawer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:19pm

Nice unique weapons that feel great when you use them. Graphics look really nice as well.

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Awesome ! sometimes controls go crazily slow but lots of fun

Asturk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:57pm

Yeah, this is the best space shooter i played until now (including mine, that is a space shooter as well). The game is really fun and catchy, with very cool visual, cogratulations!

DiFFtY says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:01pm

BADASS. I died at wave 14 :(

Really fun, great kill feedback, lots of diverse and enjoyable weapons. I loved it !

The graphics are clean and the sfx/music is simple but good.

Only 2 little things : I lost the sound a few times, sometimes the effects from my ship, sometime those from the enemies, and sometimes both. (playing from OSX)
And is it normal if it's this hard to get inside of the combat zone when you fall behind the red line ? It's not a bad thing thus said, it makes a really dangerous feeling for the player.

Good job to both of you ;)

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:54pm

Wow! So polished. I love this even though I am terrible at it!

Secret Arts says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:11pm

Wow, this is incredibly well done! I love the art style!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:15am

@DiFFtY: Yeah, the sound cutting out is one of the bugs we're aware of, but didn't really have time to track down. It might just be that there ends up being too many voices after a while and OpenFL just gives up and stops playing them.

And yeah, it can be hard to maneuver when you're a tier 4 or 5 ship - they have a lot of mass. Especially if you're shooting a lot, since the recoil pushes you back and can make it harder to steer. You get 5 seconds before starting to lose life, though, so it's definitely not too hard to get back unless you go way out of bounds.

starpixie says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:39am

Great entry! Enjoyed the hyper-kinetic twin shooter feeling.

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:24pm

Classic shmup but freaking effective

Sean says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:36pm

Made it to wave 11!

It would've been nice if there was a bit more interactivity with the actual shifting mechanic, but overall it was a pretty fun game.

oxysoft says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:51pm

Simple game that packs a lot of fun. It's important for these types of game to separate really well enemy shots from your, the different layers and everything, so that's the only thing I think could have been done a bit better

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Good game! I wasn't very good at it though, only got to wave 4

BoltKey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Wow, this was great. I felt more and more powerful with time and it felt awesome. Really good feel of progress. The effects were cool. Best bullet hell I played so far. Great job!

Hyden says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Normally I don't like these kinds of games, but it was a blast.

neontropics says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Coool game! Awesome music, good shmuppy gameplay.

Honestly kinda hard to play on a touchpad, I should have brought a mouse with this laptop.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:15am

@neontropics: yeah, I would say mouse is required. Touchpads usually don't work to well for fast-paced games in my experience. ;)

mrStrings says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:30am

I enjoyed it a lot! Thanks for the high-speed battles and cool weapons you provided me now haha

If I have one complaint, that would be that I found the music a little repetitive.
But overall, solid entry! Contratz for the team.


If you are interested, our entry is in my teammate's account: you can play WolfBit here:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=87729

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:20pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Ibzy says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:54pm

Really nice fast-paced and fun game. cool pixelly graphics and fitting sound effects and music. Overall, very nice :)

rayman1900 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Very good game,polished and well done ! I was murdered at wave 8, btw!

UgiWithAKnife says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:02am

The linear graphics are great, and music very retro. It works very well and quite addicting. Great job!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:12am

Nice work, polished and funny. You have a good base to work over it!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:21am

This game ran nicely with wine! Very fun, although I couldn't figure out what the pickups were. Nice game!

Feng says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:18am

This game is awesome, very well polished. I like it!

MementoGames says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:10pm

Pretty fun to play, awesome music and I loved how the parts of your ship keeps on screen after you change shape.
Solid entry!

blob says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Hehe wave 9 became ridiculous. Very cool game, love the explosion effect though every time i reconfigured i thought i had died.
Art, gameplay and sounds reminded of two awesome games: Cosmic Pirate and Continuum.

huminaboz says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Love the level of variety that you had time to put into this game. Tons of satisfying booms!

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:54pm

Very good game, Art style is very unique. Enemy are very aggressive :-)
Keep up the good work!

Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Pssst - you are featured in todays LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RTA4kJjCC3k

gnerkus says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:05pm

This was such a blast to play! Once I'm done rating, I'll be playing this for a long, long time.

Thank you very much!

TheCain says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:35am

This was a really fun, and really polished game. Well done.
It was a nice touch to add weapon knockback.
Another thing I noticed was that unlike other games of this sort, you move relative to the screen, not the ship.
Anyways, really good job.

Gamepopper says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 12:49pm

Very solid twin-stick shooter, I like the inertia and smooth feel of flying and shooting with the ship.

Really nice graphics to boot as well! Brilliant job!

lightsoda says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 10:46am

Wonderful coherent style. Music, sound and the visuals work well together.

It feels polished, nice use of all the feedback mechanisms, things blowing up, making noise etc.

There are things that could be improved for the gameplay, "harder" probably shouldn't mean a barrage of bullets, in your case. What makes a good shmup IMO, is either predictable or dodgable bullet patterns, so if there's a barrage, there should be a way out. At first I didn't get the reconfigure thing, but it seems to be based on a timer, maybe that could've been a more interactive element.

May 8, 2016 @ 3:30pm

Nice, well made game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/IgqbHpL7wxo

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]