Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Pinata Mania

by funisfun8 - Jam Entry

EDIT: Resubmitted with the data folder. I hope that's OK...

Run around a (badly built in the last minute of the jam) city collecting candy to fuel your transformation into... you guessed it! A GIANT PINATA! DESTROY THE CITY! AVENGE YOUR PINATA BRETHREN!

Controls are listed in-game except Esc to toggle mouse lock.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#117Humor(Jam)3.53
#435Innovation(Jam)3.19
#514Theme(Jam)3.38
#546Overall(Jam)3.24
#564Fun(Jam)3.10
#615Graphics(Jam)3.19
#1536Coolness40%

Comments

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:14pm

this game is pretty damn good, i liked the art quite a lot! awesum game!
play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

MrBoxBox says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:28pm

I think you forgot to include the data folder

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Apologies! I didn't realize a data folder was created!

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:35am

I thought this was an interesting concept, and I loved the idea of collecting candy to turn into a pinata. However, I thought that movement was too slow, and often times I was walking for about 20 to 30 seconds to reach where I wanted to go.

blackoptics8 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:10am

Great concept ;D but like the others were saying feels like movement is a bit sluggish and I'd suggest adding a way to restart without having to end the game by closing the window. Great work ^^

OrangePop says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:25am

Good bones, but need to work on the pacing! It's excruciating having to slowly walk until you find candy. It'd be fun if you were a little pinata terrorizing a candy store until you got big enough to rampage. Or something.

meownsk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:30am

Good job! The idea is good, but it would be awesome if the game will have a larger movement speed

amras0000 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:36am

The game feels awfully slow. The graphical effects of the buildings exploding are quite fun, but it just takes so much waiting around holding down a single button to get there. I'd have liked to spend the entire game as the pinata, collecting candy to keep my timer going or something of that nature.
Also, with very rare exceptions, score doesn't make people want to keep playing your game. Set concrete goals, like knocking down an entire city block.

testzero says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:48am

Yeah, you move really slow at the start and it's pretty much impossible to even see where you're supposed to go. You should've put some candy right near the player so they'd have an immediate objective, as opposed to off in the distance. But breaking stuff was fun enough I suppose. Would certainly be cool to see this made into a bigger game, kinda like Katamari Damacy with objectives and a combo system and stuff.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Move speed seems slow. It would be nice to see more complicated level design and some improvemens of game mechanics, e.g. more candy you collect => more destructive you will be after transformation.

qikcik says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:45pm

nICE :d

davor10105 says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:29pm

fun game to mess around with, but i agree, needs faster movement speed

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]