Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

A Dim Light To A Cursed Night

by DouglasOliveira - Jam Entry

Unfortunatly you have a curse.
The night is going to make you go insane unless you manage to keep the fire burning.
Good luck and good night.

Game Design: Ed - @returnOne
Programming: Douglas - @doliveira87
Art: Mari - @supermariworld_
Music & SFX: Everton - Soundcloud: everton-willians-dos-santos
#LDJAM

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#29Mood(Jam)4.16
#57Graphics(Jam)4.39
#90Audio(Jam)3.83
#199Theme(Jam)3.78
#222Overall(Jam)3.61
#629Fun(Jam)3.00
#839Innovation(Jam)2.68
#2115Coolness17%

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:50am

haha nice use of the theme, but it's very difficult to stay sane, but that maybe is something good, because turning into the monster was nice :D

Brice says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:44am

Good atmosphere. Pretty hard to win...if you can win?

ignacioq says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:47am

I loved the music and FX, good job! I feel is very hard to reach the 6 hours. . . but is a very artistic game.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:49am

Great concept, love the art style!

mrStrings says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:53am

Hey! Interesting idea. However, is there a way to keep the lights on for more time? They seem to vanish spontaneously after some time, even without monsters touching them?

Also, our game entries have some cool similarities: if you are interested, you can check WolfBit at
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=87729
Our team would love to hear your thoughts on it.

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:06am

Awesome game! It's pretty reminiscent of don't starve (in the concept and the art style), but it's still very cool and unique.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:26am

Nice take on the theme! It was cool how shapeshifting made the player more powerful.

Felladrin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:50am

Nice ambience! Good concept!

pavel_insight says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:51am

I like music and atmosphere.
The fire goes out too fast. )

JOK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Really nice atmosphere. Feels a bit like you've been influenced by Don't Starve. Loved the mood!

Anikki says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Nice music and mood. The keybindings make it frustrating to play on non-QWERTY keyboard layouts though.

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:53pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description
p.p.s. i love this kind of shadow's game :D

Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Thank you guys! =D
It was really hard in the first version, but we made it a little easier now. @Reallysketchy: yes, it was really influenced by Don't Starve =p.
@Freank, we'll be happy to see our ldjam entry on your video! (and thanks, added #ldjam on the description as you suggested!)

paquinn says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Nice art style, lends well to the mood.

foodzilla says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Pretty cool atmosphere :)

Molpe says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Great game, nice music, it reminded me of Don't Starve soo much x)

I've made a short let's play, if you want to check it out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eZXoHhADxEI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]