Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

REPTILIAN MAYHEM

by larkkkattack - Jam Entry

AHHHHHHH I didn't have enough time to polish as I wanted :V

Anyway, It´s my first jam alone and I finished something so well, not so bad :_)

---------------------------------------

CONTROLS:

X: Change aspect between Reptilian-Human.
Z: Melee (only allowed in reptilian shape).

X to restart level.

Human: They can´t detect you.
Reptilian: You can run faster and attack but they can easily kill you




Downloads and Links


Ratings

#175Theme(Jam)3.83
#313Humor(Jam)2.93
#670Graphics(Jam)3.11
#683Innovation(Jam)2.89
#819Mood(Jam)2.71
#827Overall(Jam)2.94
#891Fun(Jam)2.67
#2207Coolness10%

Comments

larkkkattack says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:32am

I'll update tomorrow with bug fixes, graphics and sfx :_D

Peringo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:22pm

I love the reptilian idea and the sprites are great, but the game seems frustratingly difficult. The biggest balance problem is, I think, that the birdpeople shoot where you are. I think the reptilians jump abilties would make more sense if the bullets went in a straight line. Also, the birds shouldn´t instantly notice you after changing forms, so stealth attacks become possible. Of course these are just my personal thoughts and if you think it´s better like that, that´s no problem at all!
Definetely good for your first solo jam!

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:22pm

The Robots are a bit too quick to react to my reptilian form but i really like the concept. Good job!

larkkkattack says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:18pm

@Le_Sarus

Thank you :D

I had to design a really big chance of being instakilled if they discover you, otherwise you could quickly transform into reptil and kill a guy in his face without risk. And the point is to kill them with backstabs.

Maybe I´ll add another further range of detection with less penalty.

@Peringo The idea is -> If you are detected, you die. No chances. And you still can survive if you are lucky and jump in the correct moment but I don´t want to maximize that scenario.

Of course the level design is non-existent so I´ll try to close the core and make interesting enemies around the main mechanic :>

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:17pm

La pena es que no lo te diera tiempo a hacer un nivel más largo.

seveca95 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Muy cortito, pero lo que hay me ha molado. La barra del HUD esta algo bug.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:34pm

Great game, love the shifting mechanic to become "invisible" to evil sucker robots, as well as the game look and feel (the claw attack, together with the FX, is gorgeous). Would love to play a longer version!

Enhorabuena Laro! Le hubiera metido un "tell" a los enemigos para tener algo más de idea de cuando van a darse la vuelta y poderme preparar, pero está genial!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Really nice use of the theme, i dig it a lot. Also pretty amazing for a 1 man team.

midgard says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:54pm

Good game feel, a bit too hardcore, would have liked a longer level and a victory screen of some sort :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:00am

Ueee me los he cargado a todos! Me mola el cabroncete del prota, tiene carisma. Qué lástima que no te haya dado tiempo a más, pero ya has roto mano que es lo importante. La siguiente más y mejor.

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:42pm

Nice concept, solid controlls (but please take care of other keyboard layouts :) X and Z are far away from each other on german layouts). Good Job! Have a look at my entry too please :)

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:00am

Like others have said: Really great graphics and animation, but a little too hard for my liking. Glad to see someone else making a game where you shapeshift into a reptile!

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:38pm

Short but fun! Excellent job!

Rock Eaters says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:27pm

nice backgound and good concept, but game play since bad for me, i cant pass the first 10 meter

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]